Tuesday, November 19, 2013

ALL SAINTS CHURCH

CHIESA EVANGELICA INGLESE DI OGNISSANTI
1882/87. It was a project of George Edmund Street (1824/81) executed after his death by Pio Barucci and Vincenzo Cannizzaro with a bell tower disrespectful of the original design
Good example of gothic revival
Mosaics in the apse Edward Coley Burne-Jones (1833/98)
Ceramic tiled plinth by William Morris (1834/96)
George Edmund Street was teacher of Morris and Burne-Jones, celebrated exponents of the English Pre-Raphaelite movement
Heads in bronze and marble of members of the Roman imperial family of the first century were found in its foundation. They are now in the Centrale Montemartini Museum in Rome and in Baltimore

CHURCH OF THE HOLY CROSS

CHIESA DI SANTA CROCE
1913 Aristide Leonori (1856/1928) for Pope St. Pius X Sarto (1903/14)
Also known as BASILICA DI SANTA CROCE A VIA FLAMINIA, Basilica of the Holy Cross on the Flaminian Way
Built to celebrate the sixteenth centenary of the Edict of Constantine in 313
The site was chosen because, according to tradition, it was here that Constantine sounded the trumpets to announce the end of persecution for Christians
In the cornice of the façade mosaic "Triumph of the Cross", "Edict of Milan" and "Victory of Constantine at the Milvian Bridge" by Biagio Biagetti (1877/1948)
Cross in gilded bronze with a relic of the Holy Cross of Jesus
Three windows by Giorgio Moroni
Pulpit in Cosmatesque style by Pio Leonori

Monday, November 18, 2013

CHURCH OF OUR LADY OF COROMOTO

CHIESA DI NOSTRA SIGNORA DI COROMOTO
1976/78 Massimo Battaglini
Built with the help of Italian-Venezuelans
Venezuelan National Church
"The light, which penetrates from the sides and from above, is drawn to the sacred space, giving it a mystical character, in which the faithful can find a quiet place of prayer, even among the buildings of the chaotic surroundings" (Web Site www.architettiroma.it)
Coromoto is the name of the Indian chief to whom Our Lady appeared in 1652 at Guanare town, 360 km (224 miles) from Caracas
It is the only case of an appearance of the Virgin Mary that doesn't take its name from the place of the appearance but from the name of the person to whom she appeared

CHURCH OF OUR LADY OF THE HOLY SACRAMENT AND OF THE HOLY CANADIAN MARTYRS

CHIESA DI NOSTRA SIGNORA DEL SS. SACRAMENTO E SS. MARTIRI CANADESI
1950/55 Bruno Apolloni Ghetti (1905/89) for the Congregation of Holy Sacrament
The name recalls the more than 300 Jesuit missionaries who, from 1611 to 1760, went to Canada: thirty-six were killed and among these, eight were beatified and canonized later in 1930
Canadian National Church 
MAIN ALTAR
"Monstrance" (now not here anymore) by Francesco Nagni (1897/1977)
Ambos and "Crucifixion" by Alfredo Biancini
SHRINE OF OUR LADY OF THE BLESSED SACRAMENT by Eugenio De Courten (1925/2009)
Windows by Marcello Avenali (1912/81) and by the Hungarian naturalized Italian János "Giovanni" Hajnal (1913/2010)

Sunday, November 17, 2013

CHURCH OF OUR LADY OF THE SACRED HEART

CHIESA DI NOSTRA SIGNORA DEL SACRO CUORE
1450 maybe Bernardo Rossellino (1409/64) for Bishop Alfonso Paradinas to replace the previous church, S. Giacomo degli Spagnoli
Restored by Antonio Cordini aka Antonio da Sangallo the Younger (1483/1546)
Restored again in 1879 by Luca Carimini (1830/90)
In the years 1936/40 with the opening of Corso Rinascimento, the transept was wiped out but the original orientation was restored
FAÇADE ON CORSO RINASCIMENTO
Arnaldo Foschini (1884/1968)
FAÇADE ON PIAZZA NAVONA
Lower part from the time of Alexander VI Borgia (1492/1503) with "Angels" by Mino del Reame (active about 1463/77) and Paolo Taccone aka Paolo Romano (about 1415/77)
Upper part by Luca Carimini
Spanish National Church
Interior inspired by the German churches of the Hallenkirche type
1st CHAPEL ON THE RIGHT
Frescoes in the vault by Baldassare Croce (about 1553/1628) and Cesare Nebbia (1536/1614)
Canvas by Ernesto Ballarini
2nd CHAPEL ON THE RIGHT
"St. Anne and the Infant Mary" 1931 G.B. Conti with frame by Pietro Torrigiano (1472/1528)
In the 3rd BAY ON THE RIGHT
"Renaissance Choir" multi-colored marble by Pietro Torrigiano
Behind the MAIN ALTAR
"Board" in marble early 1500s by Pietro Rosselli (about 1474/after 1531) and Domenico Rosselli
At the end of the left nave "Wooden statue of Jesus" dating to the eighteenth century made by an unknown artist with wood of olive trees of Gethsemane
2nd LEFT - CHAPEL OF St. JAMES
Antonio Cordini aka Antonio da Sangallo the Younger
"Statue of St. James" in plaster copy of the original by Jacopo Tatti aka Jacopo Sansovino (1486/1570) in S. Maria in Monserrato
Frescoes by Raphael's pupil Pellegrino da Modena (about 1464/1523)
To the right and to the left of the church STABILIMENTI SPAGNOLI (Spanish Institutions) created by Alexander VI (1492/1503) for assisting Spanish residents in Rome or Spanish in transit

CHURCH OF OUR LADY OF LA SALETTE

CHIESA DI NOSTRA SIGNORA DE LA SALETTE 
1956/62 Ennio Canino and Viviana Rizzi
Dedicated to the Virgin Mary who appeared in 1846 in the French Alps near the village of La Salette
It is considered a masterpiece of contemporary sacred architecture
The bell tower of 52 meters (170 feet) is one of the highest in Rome

Saturday, November 16, 2013

CHURCH OF JESUS OF NAZARETH

CHIESA DI GESÙ NAZARENO
Originally known as CHIESA DE' FILONARDI or CHIESA DEL CROCIFISSO
It was also dedicated to the HOLY TRINITY
The Board of Barbers, to whom the church was entrusted from 1560 until 1870, had it rebuilt in 1622 and it was consecrated to the Sts. COSMAS AND DAMIAN, whose names are still engraved on the facade
Curiously, in the Teatro Argentina, only a few steps away from the church, the opera The Barber of Seville by Gioacchino Rossini was performed for the first time ever
It was almost completely rebuilt in 1722/24
After 1870 it was desecrated
In 1896 was consacrated again and entrusted to the Confraternity of Jesus of Nazareth, from which it took its present name
INTERIOR 1722/24
Example of Roman Barocchetto by an unidentified and mysterious "Maestro Carnevale"
Roman Barocchetto is a derogatory term describing the evolution of Baroque style in Rome where it ended up become too ornate for some, but nevertheless interesting for others
Restored in 1854
VAULT
Frescoes "Glory of Sts. Cosmas and Damian" 1724 by Giovanni Antonio Grecolini (1675/1725)
RIGHT ALTAR
Oval "Madonna with Child" by an anonymous eighteenth-century artist, copy of the original by Pierre Mignard
PRESBYTERY
Very ruined frescoes on the right end side "Sts. Cosmas and Damian thrown overboard and saved by the angel" and on the right "Sts. Cosmas and Damian in the flames unharmed" 1722/24 by Antonio Bicchierai (1688/1766)
LEFT ALTAR
"St. Helena with the Cross" 1594 maybe by Cristoforo Roncalli aka Pomarancio (1552/1626)
SACRISTY
"St. Catherine of Alexandria" 1589 Giuseppe Cesari aka Cavalier d'Arpino (1568/1640)

Friday, November 15, 2013

CHURCH OF JESUS AND MARY

CHIESA DI GESÙ E MARIA
Begun in the years 1633/36 by the Milanese architect Carlo Buzio (1608/59)
Completed 1671/80 by Carlo Rainaldi (1611/91) for Monsignor Giorgio Bolognetti bishop of Rieti
It was open to the public only after the death of Monsignor Bolognetti in 1687
"Carlo Rainaldi unified the whole interior not only architecturally but also in terms of colors. His black, brown and reddish marbles, interrupted by the sparkle of white figures, are perhaps the last resoundingly loud symphony of colors of the Baroque style" (Rudolf Wittkower)
Seven canvases "Assumption of the Virgin" at the center and at the sides "Groups of Blessed" and "Evangelists" 1685 by Giacinto Brandi (1621/91)
On the right "Tomb of Monsignor Giulio Del Corno" with Time tearing up the plaque by Ercole Ferrata (1610/86)
Above "King David singing with the harp" Michel Maille aka Michele Maglia (active in Rome in the second half of the seventeenth century)
On the left "Tomb of Monsignor Camillo Del Corno" by Domenico Guidi (1625/1701) with a skeleton that looks at the hourglass. Camillo was Giulio's nephew and client of the two tombs
Above "Moses with the Tablets of the Law" by Girolamo Gramiglioli
FUNERARY MONUMENTS OF THE BOLOGNETTI FAMILY
1681/83 designed by Carlo Rainaldi
On the right "Pietro e Franceso Bolognetti" by Francesco Aprile (?/1685) and "Mario Bolognetti" by Francesco Cavallini (active 1672/1703)
On the left "Giorgio Bolognetti" (the client) by Francesco Cavallini and "Ercole and Luigi Bolognetti" believed to be sculpted by Michel Maille but eventually proved to be the work of Lorenzo Ottoni (1648/1736)
"As in Bernini's Cornaro Chapel, here there are no coffins, and there is nothing to remember the dead: the illusion had to be as complete as possible. The six dead are represented in subtly different stages of religioƒus enthusiasm. But if you compare these figures with Bernini's Fonseca, one can not see that they are far less convincing and that the more agitated, that of Mario, the closest in style to the late Bernini, appears almost melodramatic in its reverent exuberance. The spatial concepts of the Baroque style found in this church a triumphant achievement, but the religious sentiment that had supported them began to decline" (Rudolf Wittkower)
MAIN ALTAR
1678/80 "Coronation of the Virgin" and presbytery vault "Holy Spirit" by Giacinto Brandi (1621/91)
Statues on either side "St. John the Baptist" and "St. John the Evangelist" by Giuseppe Mazzuoli (1644/1725)
1824 Giuseppe Valadier (1762/1839)
SACRISTY
Paintings maybe by Giovanni Lanfranco (1582/1647)

Thursday, November 14, 2013

CHURCH OF THE GOOD SHEPHERD

CHIESA DEL BUON PASTORE
1619 with the adjoining monastery for Cardinal Antonio Barberini, brother of Pope Urban VIII (1623/44)
It was entrusted to the Sisters of the Good Shepherd of Angers. They used to help women of "ill repute" who wanted to redeem themselves: raped minors whose parental rights had been entrusted to the guardianship court, young orphans forced into prostitution or former prisoners from the nearby Mantellate Prison
The monastery was enlarged by Virginio Vespignani (1808/82)
The original name was S. CROCE DELLE SCALETTE (St. Cross of the Ladders) or S. CROCE ALLA LUNGARA (St. Cross in Lungara Street)
It stopped being used as a church in 1979 and it is now owned by the municipality that established here the International Women's House
Interior modified in the nineteenth century
Right altar "Annunciation" and MAIN Altar "Crucifix" both by Francesco Troppa
Left altar "Magdalene" by Ciccio da Napoli (active 1680/1700)

Wednesday, November 13, 2013

CHURCH OF THE INFANT JESUS

CHIESA DEL BAMBINO GESÙ
1731/36 begun by Carlo Buratti (active from 1694/died after 1734) and completed after his death (1732) by Ferdinando Fuga (1699/1782) for Clement XII Corsini (1730/40) and for the Congregation of the Oblates Nurses of the Holy Child Jesus founded in 1671
Magnificent example of eighteenth-century artistic taste
"Fuga's intervention is recognizable in the attic, crowned with a broken pediment and the cross between two torches. (...) the dome divided into eight segments is by Fuga (...). To Fuga are also attributed the presbytery and perhaps even the design of the elegant balustrade. These addictions introduce a refined contrast between the rational rigor of the architectural form and the looseness decorative of details" (Sandra Suatoni)
Restoration and interior decorations 1882 by Andrea Busiri Vici (1818/1911)
There had been a previous project in the years 1708/10 by the great Alessandro Specchi who had begun working on the convent in 1913 designing the church central in the façade and not to the right as it is now
In the vestibule to the right
CHAPEL OF THE PASSION OF CHRIST
1856 juvenile work by Virginio Vespignani (1808/82) who later would contribute to decorations and refurbishing of many and important Roman churches
"Wooden statue of Jesus of Nazareth" early 1700s
In the niches "Statues of the four Evangelists" Stefano Galletti (1832/1905) pupil of Pietro Tenerani
In the spandrels "Prophets"
In the dome and vaults "Little angels bearing instruments of the Passion"
On the right "The Kiss of Judas" in 1855 and on the left "Flagellation" 1856 all painted by Francesco Grandi (1831/91) a pupil of Tommaso Minardi
"Grandi uses in the Kiss of Judas strong contrasts of light and shadow denoting a breach of the purists modules of his first training towards neo-Baroque" (Sandra Suatoni)
ON THE RIGHT - ALTAR OF St. AUGUSTINE
"St. Augustine triumphs over heresy" 1736 by Domenico Maria Muratori (1661/1742)
"The Emilian Muratori, along with other fellow painters from the same area (Giacomo Zoboli, Aureliano Milani), represented in the eighteenth century Rome a tradition of Bolognese culture, less successful than the prevailing style of the Maratta followers or 'barocchetto' (late baroque) style. This work belongs to the last period of his activity in large part guided by the recovery of the seventeenth-century representative models of Reni and especially Domenichino" (Sandra Suatoni)
MAIN ALTAR
"Adoration of the Shepherds" by an anonymous nineteenth-century artist (maybe G.B. Gagliardi nephew of Pietro Gagliardi) replacing the canvas of the same subject by Marco Benefial, considered one of his masterpieces, removed in 1883 and now kept in a room of the annexed kindergarten
In the vault "Baby Jesus" and in the spandrels of the dome "Four angels with scrolls" G.B. Gagliardi
ON THE LEFT - ALTAR OF S. ANDREA CORSINI
"Apparition of the Virgin to S. Andrea Corsini" 1783 by Giacomo Zoboli (1681/1767) from Modena for Cardinal Neri Corsini
CONVENT
Begun 1713 by Alessandro Specchi (1668/1729), In 1717 Carlo Buratti took over
Completed 1856/58 by Andrea Busiri Vici (1818/1911). The Via Cavour wing was completed in the years 1885/93
The priest PIETRO PAPPAGALLO was the spiritual father of the Oblate Sisters of the Holy Child Jesus here during the Second World War. He gave help and protection to soldiers, partisans and Jews sought by the Nazis and was killed at the Fosse Ardeatine March 24, 1944
His story was revived in the 1945 movie "Roma città aperta" (Rome, open city) by Roberto Rossellini who gave Don Pietro Pappagallo's role to Aldo Fabrizi. Only the scene of his death differs from his history having been inspired by that of Don Giuseppe Morosini shot at Fort Boccea
In 1998 the President of the Republic Ciampi awarded him the gold medal for civil valor. In 2000 John Paul II included him among the martyrs of the church of the twentieth century
A plaque commemorates him to the right of the façade of the church

EVANGELICAL CHRISTIAN BAPTIST CHURCH

CHIESA CRISTIANA EVANGELICA BATTISTA
1878 for the American Baptist Mission Church of which it is the headquarter, but it also houses a Romanian Baptist community and a Chinese one
The Roman Baptist community now has thirteen churches and about 1,500 faithful followers
Interior decoration in Art Noveau style 1911 by Paolo Paschetto (1885/1963) who was a member of the church
Paschetto won in 1946 among 341 candidates the contest for creating the emblem of the Italian Republic, although his design was later modified a little bit

Tuesday, November 12, 2013

DON ORIONE INSTITUTE

CENTRO DON ORIONE
Religious institute with an orphanage, a center for rehabilitation and a vocational training center
It incorporated, distorting the original relationship with the environment of the summit of Monte Mario, the COLONIA ELIOTERAPICA (heliotherapy camp) designed by Enrico Del Debbio (1891/1973) in 1934 and built the following year, in just 75 days
A single floor about 400 m long (1,300 feet) for dormitories with room for up to 800 boys and girls
"The building features a floor plan that fits discreetly into the natural environment, reflecting the interest shown by Del Debbio for the architecture of northern Europe. These Baltic suggestions are also attested by the extreme simplification of the language, which is reduced to a minimum, far from any pomposity" (Giorgio Muratore)
"In this episode of 'minor' architecture, less influenced by celebratory needs, Del Debbio moves on a different line from that of the Foro Italico. He used, certainly with interesting results, a very concise formal system together with a simplified architectural language, almost 'minimal'" (Piero Ostilio Rossi)
"Statue of the Madonna Salus Populi Romani" by Arrigo Minerbi (1881/1960) inaugurated April 5, 1953 in gilded copper, 11 m (36 feet) high. It is visible from the Olympic Stadium. It was built as a thanksgiving to Our Lady for the end of World War II
Arrigo Minerbi was Jewish and he had taken refuge in the Opera Don Orione Home in Rome to escape racial persecution. He had carved the relief of the left door of the Cathedral of Milan
The material for the statue came from the copper pots all collected by orphaned and maimed children of Don Orione or offered by the faithful
It was demolished by a tornado in October 2009 and restored in 2010

Monday, November 11, 2013

MUSEUM OF THE MONTEMARTINI POWER STATION

CENTRALE MONTEMARTINI
Montemartini Power Station
1910/13 Carlo Puccioni
Power plant named after Giovanni Montemartini councilor of the municipality of Rome in the technology department, member of the City Council of the major Ernesto Nathan (1908/12)
The energy produced used to light more than 50% of the streets and squares of Rome
After World War II it was enhanced but it fell into disuse in a few years from 1963 onwards
The museum was opened in 1997 to house part of the rich sculpture collection of the Capitoline Museums as a temporary solution during the restoration of the museum itself
The coupling of Classical Archaeology and Industrial Archaeology was rightly considered so successful by transforming the exhibition from temporary to permanent. It is a wonderful and exciting museum, not helped by the location a little decentralized, but it would certainly deserve to be appreciated much more
Museo della Centrale Montemartini
Museum of the Montemartini Power Station
SALA COLONNE (Hall of the Pillars)
Republican period
ESQUILINE CEMETERY
Explored at the end of 1800s. It was used from the late ninth century BC throughout the Republican Age. Rich grave goods:
"Parian marble funerary urn kept in a case of tufa stone" VI/V century BC from Piazza Vittorio. It still retains traces of polychromy
Outstanding piece of "Fresco with military scenes" of the first half of the third century BC from a chamber tomb near Piazza Vittorio. It is probably connected to the Samnite wars, narrated in the style of Roman triumphal painting
"Remains of fresco with lictor" and "Decoration of a piece of furniture" from the Arieti grave
"Small bronze goat" votive gift of a burial shrine outside Porta Viminale
"Sarcophagus of Lucius Cornelius and Cornelius Scapula with ridged lid" fourth century BC from Via Marco Polo near Via Cristoforo Colombo
"Monument of the College of Tibicini" musicians who used to play a double flute during the funeral ceremonies
SULPTURES OF PEPERINO STONE FOUND NEAR THE BASILICA OF St. LAWRENCE
It had been reduced to fragments that were reused in a Renaissance wall
"Orpheus playing the flute to animals" and "Head of a barbarian" accurately worked from Hellenistic models of Pergamon school of the end of third/early second century BC
The complex is possibly connected to a Temple of Hercules, as the "Base in peperino stone" from the same area inscribed with a dedication to Marcus Minucius the dictator, a temporary winner of Hannibal in 217 BC with Quintus Fabius Maximus
FUNERAL AND HOUSEHOLD FURNITURE
Remains of a "Bed made out of bones" with scenes from the childhood of Dionysus kept together with the ashes of the deceased in an urn of alabaster from the Esquiline Hill
"Bronze funerary bed" from Amiterno inlaid with fine copper and silver
Findings in private homes:
"Capitoline litter" reconstructed with bronze coatings
"Polychrome mosaic with marine animals" bordered by acanthus scrolls found in Via Panisperna
"Example of mature reception of the well-refined Hellenistic model in the private sphere. In harmony with the hall that decorated (characterized by a large pool of 14 square meters), the mosaic depicts a colorful sea landscape with impressive naturalistic fidelity, worthy of a thorough expert in fish fauna" (Emilia Talamo)
In a separate display portraits from the basement of the Church of All Saints in Via del Babuino:
"Fragment of a bronze portrait of Nero" the other fragments of which are in Baltimore with other heads found on the site
"Bronze deformed portrait maybe of Caius Caesar"
"Marble portrait of a young girl"
LATE REPUBLICAN PORTRAITURE
Freed slaves and members of the petty bourgeoisie on funerary reliefs from tombs:
"Relief with married couple from Via Statilia"
"Relief with female figure and a girl"
"Relief with six family portraits"
Important statue of man wearing toga known as "Togato Barberini" with head not pertinent added in the seventeenth century. He holds the marble portrait heads of his father and grandfather reflecting his patrician status
"The portrait bust was unknown to Greek art, that does not tolerate artificial amputation of the organic human figure. Conversely in the Etruscan and Roman (as well as in the Celtic), an isolated head is already representative of the entire personality. The shape the bust of the Republican period, limited to just over the neck, will be set as type, although not as artistic expression, in connection with the use of masks of ancestors, the ius imaginum that involves the right or privilege of holding in images of ancestors in the atrium of the house" (Ranuccio Bianchi Bandinelli)
Several portraits of famous people including:
"Herm maybe representing Virgil"
"Mark Anthony or Cato the Censor"
"Agrippa"
Reconstruction of "Funerary monument attributed to Publius Ventidius Basso follower of Mark Anthony and winner of the Parthians in 38 BC
SALA MACCHINE (Hall of the Machines)
The monumental city center
COPIES FROM GREEK ORIGINALS
"Statue of Athena Velletri type" from Via del Corso from the 430 BC original by Kresilas with head cast from the original at the Louvre
"Athena Parthenos"
"Athena Lemnia"
"Athena" from the Castro Pretorio area
"Head of Hercules" Julio Claudian copy from the Verano area from the 430 BC original by Polykleitos of Argos (about 490/425 BC)
"Head of a boxer" from an original of the fifth century BC
"Colossal statue of Apollo lyre player" from an original of the fifth century BC
"Statue of Aphrodite"
"Statue of athlete who carries the disk" from the late fifth or the early fourth century BC original in bronze by Naukydes son of Polykleitos of Argos
FROM THE MONUMENTAL AREA NEAR THE THEATER OF MARCELLUS
"Head of an amazon"
"Head of a goddess with diadem"
"Head of Dionysus"
"Head of a Caryatid"
In addition, "Reclining figure" and "Metope with warrior" Greek original pieces originally belonging to Greek temples brought to Rome to ornate temples in the Theater of Marcellus area
FROM VIA LABICANA
"Statue dressed in tunic" of the first half century BC from the original Greek of the Master of Olympia
"Head of Perseus" from an original of the fifth century BC
"Head of Hera Borghese"
"Head of Diomedes" from original by Kresilas
"Statue of Aphrodite" from the 360 BC from original by Praxiteles
"Portrait of a Ptolemaic Princess" maybe Cleopatra depicted as Isis
"Female head crowned with laurel" 
FROM THE COLOSSEUM AREA
"Statue of Hestia" from Peloponnesian models of 460 BC
FROM THE AREA OF THE CELIUM HILL MILITARY HOSPITAL
Two statues of women in dark stone of great artistic quality, found in the nineteenth century reused in small fragments to build walls in late antiquity:
The goddess of uncertain identification with folds in gray marble bigio antico from Tunisia known as "Simmaci's Victory" is an original creation of the late Hellenistic period, maybe Isis from the Isium Metellinum
The statue of "Agrippina the Younger offering a libation" in basanite marble from eastern Egypt was probably located in the temple of the deified Claudius. The head is a cast of the one at the Ny Carsberg Glyptotek in Copenhagen
FROM THE AREA OF CIRCUS FLAMINIUS
Two statues maybe from the pediment of the Temple of Jupiter Stator:
"Naked male torso" with drapery on the back depicting Jupiter from original by Myron of Eleutere (about 500/440 BC) of the first half of the fifth century BC
"Small female figure" replica of the type known as Small Herculaneum from original by Praxiteles of the end of the fourth century BC
RECONSTRUCTION OF THE PEDIMENT OF THE TEMPLE OF APOLLO SOSIANUS
"Battle between Greeks and Amazons" with Theseus and Hercules and the presence of Athena and Nike, precious Greek originals 450/425 BC, brought to Rome in the Augustan period to decorate the temple next to the Theatre of Marcellus
It was partially reconstructed from a "Small circular monument" between the temple and the Theater of Marcellus, maybe identified with a basin of holy water mentioned in the sources as the perirrhanterion
FROM THE SLOPES OF CAPITOLINE HILL
Colossal "Head of Hercules" in Pentelic marble by Polykles in the second century BC, part of an acrolith built by Scipio after the conquest of Carthage in 146 BC. An acrolith was a statue in which the trunk of the figure was made of wood, and the head, hands, and feet were made of marble. The wood was concealed either by drapery or by gilding and only the marble parts were exposed to view
"Base of statues erected by Asian Kings"
"Woman's Head identified as Mens" by a Neo-Attic sculptor of the first century BC
"Statue of tyrannicide Aristogiton" first century BC copy of the tyrannicides group (along with Harmodius) by Critias and Nesiote of 476 BC, formerly executed by Antenor and looted by the Persians, erected in the Agora of Athens. The event coincides temporally with the expulsion of the last king Tarquin the Proud and the beginning of the Republic in Rome
"The work reveals a modern sensibility: psychological tension, controlled impetuosity and compact physiognomy" (Carlo Bertelli, Giuliano Briganti, Antonio Giuliano)
"The idea of depicting figures in the act of a long step forward was a common convention, and the two characters were perhaps been portrayed as if they were coming from a pediment composition. The obvious antecedent of this convention can be found in the figures of the Temple of Aphaia in the island of Aegina. The head of Harmodius, believed to be similar to that of the ephebe of Critias, shows typically archaic hairstyle with rigidly molded and thick curls, which is juxtaposed to the face in a severe style, while in Aristogiton face and hair are more uniformly severe in style" (John Griffiths Pedley)
"Base of the monument of Bocco of Mauretania" frieze with shields, trophies and victories of the first century BC
"It shows to be inspired from different stylistic models that are based on archaism, on classicism and elements derived from the late-hellenistic repertoire. Beyond the difficult assignment of the monument to a specific event, it seems certain, also considering the possibility of dating in the first century BC, that the work is to be connected to a triumphal monument of Silla, whose attention to the prestige of the Capitoline Hill is well documented by the construction, by his faithful, Quintus Lutatius Catulus of the grand palace of the Tabularium and the restoration of the temple of Jupiter" (Marina Bertoletti)
"Frieze of the College of Fabri Tignarii" carpenters that had built the roof of the Temple of Jupiter in the sixth century BC
FROM THE SACRED AREA OF LARGO ARGENTINA
"Head of Mars" Severian period (193/235 AD) from the original Greek of 420 BC by Alkamenes
"Arm, head and foot of a colossal acrolith of a goddess" 102 BC from the Temple of Fortuna Huiusce Diei. The head measures 1.46 meters (4.80 feet)
"Statue of a seated Muse" headless maybe from the scene of the Theatre of Pompey. The dimensions are elongated due to the high position that the statue had originally, an optical correction that favors a view from below, slightly offset to the side
FROM THE DOMUS OF THE RIVALDI VILLA
"Antinous" depicted as Apollo of the Tiber
"Icarus" from an original of the fifth century BC
"Portrait of a Woman" late II/first half of the III AD
"Head of Apollo of the Kassel type" from a bronze original of the years 460/455 BC maybe by Phidias
"Parnopios" from original by Phidias (about 490/430 BC)
"Kyniskos" from original by Polykleitos of Argos (about 490/425 BC) for the athlete who won the Olympic Games in 460 BC
Gallery of emperors, empresses and famous people including:
"Lucilla"
"Caracalla"
"Male Portrait" mid third century AD
SALA CALDAIE (Boilers Hall)
Gardens, domus and imperial residences
HORTI SALLUSTIANI (Gardens of Sallust)
The large residential complex, formerly owned by Caesar and by the historian Sallust later passed to Sallust's nephew to merge in 20 AD in the imperial property. It spread over three large terraces surrounded by greenery in the area where the elegant Ludovisi district is now
Some high quality original Greek sculptures from temple buildings:
"Kneeling statue of an Amazon" late sixth century BC
"Acroter: Winged Victory" 480/460 BC decorative pediment of the Temple of Apollo Daphnephoros at Eretria
In addition: marvelous "Friezes of acanthus ornaments with sphinxes" of the early Augustan period along with "Fragment of a colossal statue of Apollo" and "Military trophy" alluding to the victory of Augustus at Actium on Cleopatra and Anthony
TRASTEVERE
"Statue of wounded Niobid" Antonine age (138/192) from the late Hellenistic original. It was part of the decoration of a Villa in Trastevere, on the slopes of the Janiculum Hill and Monteverde, where there were the Horti of Caesar later bequeathed to the Roman people and eventually administered by the Senate
"Group of satyr with a nymph" about 100 BC, a sculpture overflowing with disruptive and fresh sensuality, traumatically splendid. It was found in Trastevere, in the area between S. Crisogono e Piazza Mastai, nel 1889
"It captures echoes of earlier works: the position of the nymph squatting refers to Aphrodite and the muscles and the style of satyr to the figures of the frieze of the Altar of Pergamon. The scene represented in the group is perhaps intentionally ambiguous, it is unclear whether this is a rape or a game, what function it could have had or if it was probably - since it reflects well the Roman style - an ornamental piece intended for a Roman villa" (John Griffiths Pedley)
HORTI LICINIANI (Gardens of Licinius Gallienus)
Residence of Emperor Licinius Gallienus (253/268) including the so-called Temple of Minerva Medica
In the area some remarkable sculptures were found including "Two judges" triggering the races of the circus from the late fourth/early fifth century AD, depicting maybe Quintus Aurelius Symmachus and his son Memmius Symmachus
"Statue of a satyr dancing" and "Statue of Dionysus with a panther" from the original by Praxiteles (about 395/326 AD) of the fourth century BC
Not far away, at the Church of St. Bibiana, the remains of a "Great polychrome mosaic" were found representing the capture of wild animals (gazelles, bears and one wild boar) for shows at the amphitheaters
Also spectacular "Seated girl" of the Hadrian period from the original of Tyche of Antioch, the personification of the city, by Eutychides a pupil of Lysippus beginning of the third century BC: the celebrational dimensions are transformed here, however, into a sublime and intimate moment
HORTI SPEI VETERIS (Gardens of the old Temple of Hope)
Splendid "Statue of Muse identified as Polyhymnia" muse of hymns and mimicry from an original of the second century BC by Philiscus. It was found in 1928 in Via Terni
"Statue of great fascination for its fidelity to the original with the delicate handling of the drapery, the intensity of the gaze, in dealing with intangible incarnate and, above all, for the conservation condition of the marble surface that have preserved intact the original patina" (Maddalena Cima)
ESQUILINE HORTI
Via Ariosto (maybe Horti Lamiani)
Discovered in 1874. "Basin for fountain" with carvings of scrolls of acanthus and vine shoots from the second half of the first century BC
Polychrome statues with traces of paint and gilding:
"Asclepius"
"Young man with a short tunic"
"Headless torso of Athena Parthenos" from the original by Phidias (about 490/430 BC)
"Aphrodite"
"Hermes"
"Head of youth"
VIA CAVOUR DOMUS
Work on the Subway in 1940 led to the discovery, at the corner of Via Cavour and Via di S. Maria Maggiore, of a few rooms in a house built in the Hadrian period. The rooms looked out onto an open space decorated with fountains
In the vestibule and in the large living room with marble floor four large sculptures, restored in antiquity were found: 
"Two statues of Pothos" nostalgic love for a distant person, from the original by Scopas
"Headless Roman general" in heroic nudity
"Satyr at rest" (Anapauòmenos) from the original of about 340 BC by Praxiteles (about 395/326 AD)
"The pace here is accentuated by the diagonal of the mantle, which descends from the right shoulder and crosses the bright naked torso, to shoot up behind the left side, raised because of the support the whole weight of the figure on the left leg. The success this kind of sculptures had throughout the Roman period, witnessed by the many copies left, shows how much the subject was appreciated, symbol of a primordial world, linked to Dionysus" (Giorgio Bejor)
St. LAWRENCE GATE DOMUS
At the end of the nineteenth century, opening a hole for the passage of the tram line in the Aurelian Walls at Porta San Lorenzo, an oldest architectural structure was discovered, maybe the back wall of a garden of the early imperial period
It was divided into niches lined with pumice, shells and a rough mosaic, which still retained the original sculptural decoration
"Group of satyrs" in the fight against a giant amphibian monster, inspired by the style of Pergamon
"Statuette of a Muse"
"Statuette of an athlete"
DOMUS OF FULVIO PLAUTIANUS
In early 1900s during excavations for the tunnel below the Quirinal Hill the remains of a house were found, attributed according to the inscriptions on lead piping to Fulvio Plautianus, praetorian prefect of Septimius Severus (193/211) killed by Caracalla (211/217) in 205. The sculptures were found still in place in the rooms paved with mosaics and marble:
Beautiful "Statue of Priapus" of the Augustan period, a true masterpiece of sculptural virtuosity with its incredibly thin folds of the drapery
"Headless male statue"
"Portrait maybe Macrinus (217/218)"
"Two male busts" that may represent the same character and maybe the homeowner succeeded to Fulvio Plautianus
"Head of a strategist" with helmet from which his hair comes out deeply sculpted like the beard, creating a beautiful contrast with the shiny skin of the face
"Bust of Lucilla with a diadem"
"Four plates embossed with masks"
FUNERARY MONUMENTS
From the Salaria Gate area "Funeral Altar of Sulpicius Maximus" the poet-child who died at 11 after winning the Capitoline certamen (poetry competition) in 94 AD
"Cippus tomb of Gaius Julius Elio" rich shoemaker of the Flavian period depicted in heroic nudity, found Via Leone IV in the necropolis of the Via Triumphalis
NECROPOLIS ON VIA OSTIENSE
The main phases of the vast necropolis discovered near the Basilica of St. Paul Outside the Walls in use from the late Republican through the end of the fourth century are illustrated. It is in part still visible in the middle of the road today
Portraits of the dead, funerary altars ("Herm of Dionysus young"), urns ("Urns Ciartia gens"), sarcophagi and sepulchral stones ("Monumental sarcophagus punctuated by niches with a knight in the center" made in Asia Minor and imported to Rome)