Sunday, May 18, 2014

CAPITOLINE MUSEUMS - PALACE OF THE SENATE

Palazzo Senatorio
Various civil buildings built over the Fortress of the Corsi family that had been built, in turn, over the ruins of the Tabularium, the State Archive of ancient Rome
It was renovated in 1299 and it kept until the sixteenth century the appearance of a fortified medieval public building
FAÇADE
1582/1605 by Giacomo Della Porta (1533/1602) with his collaborator Girolamo Rainaldi (1570/1655) who adapted the original design by Michelangelo Buonarroti (1475/1564). The only remaining parts that were built during Michelangelo's lifetime are the "Gateway" to the assembly room and the "Outside stairs", two converging ramps built in the years 1547/54 without the canopy on two columns which was in the original project by Michelangelo
BELL TOWER
1578/82 Martino Longhi the Elder (1534/91) in place of the medieval and higher than that of Michelangelo's project, on top of the cross in gold leaf and antique statue "Goddess-Minerva Rome"
CLOCK installed in 1806, formerly on the façade of the church of S. Maria in Aracoeli
To the left of the building TOWER OF MARTIN V Colonna (1417/31) about 1427 towards S. Maria in Aracoeli and TOWER OF NICHOLAS V Parentucelli (1447/55) 1453 towards the Forum
To the right of the palace TOWERS OF BONIFACE IX Tomacelli (1389/1404). The overhead passage was built in 1940
ENTRANCE HALL of Sixtus IV Della Rovere (1471/84) 1477
HALL OF THE CARROCCIO (Cart carrying flags during battle) with an inscription commemorating the gift of the Carroccio, from Frederick II to the Roman people, taken from the Milanese of the Northern League in the battle of Cortenuova in 1237
HALL OF THE FLAGS or OF THE BOARD 1847, so named for the banners of the fourteen districts of the Civic Guard
1573/77 grand salon of the palace, formerly seat of the court of the Senator. From the postwar period it is known as AULA GIULIO CESARE (Julius Caesar Hall)
In the floor "Five Roman mosaics with floral and marine scenes" of the second century AD at the center of the modern checkerboard marble floor white and gray. They were taken from various rooms of a Roman villa in the area of Casal Morena on the Via Anagnina
Paintings on the ceiling and frieze "History of Ancient Rome" 1929/30 by Eugenio Cisterna (1862/1933) from Genzano
"Statue of Julius Caesar" and "Statue of Roman Admiral" dating back to Trajan's period (98/117)
In the outside wall remains of the 1299 loggia from the time of Boniface VIII Caetani (1294/1303)
PROTOMOTECA CAPITOLINA
Capitoline Museum of busts
Collection of busts of Italian celebrities originally displayed in the Pantheon by Antonio Canova:
"Pius VII" Chiaramonti (1800/23) 1807 and "Domenico Cimarosa" 1808 by Antonio Canova (1757/1822)
"One is surprised by how such weight of matter is transformed by the power of art and marble seems swollen for secret sounds, light, transparent, open to interpretation, like those eyes lost in the faraway distance, on the edge of a lovely melody" (Valentino Martinelli)
"Angelica Kauffmann" 1809 by Paolo Adolfo Kauffmann
"Masaccio", "Lorenzo Ghiberti", "Petrarch" and "Ludovico Ariosto" 1814/15 by Carlo Finelli (1785/1853) from Carrara, belonging to a family of sculptors including the great Giuliano Finelli
"Andrea Mantegna" by Rinaldo Rinaldi (1793/1873)
"Polidoro da Caravaggio" by Francesco Massimiliano Laboureur (1767/1831)
"Arcangelo Corelli" 1713/14 by Angelo De Rossi (1671/1715)
"Camillo Rusconi" by Giuseppe Rusconi (1688/1758) one of Camillo Rusconi's pupils but not related
Two great eighteenth-century Roman artists are represented, the sculptor "Pietro Bracci (1700/73)" 1794/95 the sculptor of the statue of Ocean in the Trevi Fountain and the extraordinary painter "Marco Benefial (1684/1764)" 1781/82 works by Vincenzo Pacetti (1746/1820) also Roman
"Anton Raphael Mengs" 1781 and "Giovanni Pichler" 1792 by the Irish Christopher Hewetson (about 1739/1797)

Friday, May 16, 2014

CAPITOLINE MUSEUMS - TABULARIUM (State Archive)

Tabularium
State Archive of Rome, built in 78 BC by the architect Lucius Cornelius for the consul Quintus Catulus Lutazio in the lower area called ASYLUM in between the higher area to the south known as ARX, corresponding to the Temple of Juno Moneta, and the higher area to the north known as CAPITOLIUM, corresponding to the Temple of Jupiter Capitolinus
The building is 73.60 m (242 feet) long in blocks of tuff and lava stone from the River Aniene
It was used in the Middle Ages as a deposit of salt and as a prison
The name comes from the bronze tabulae (plate) on which laws and official acts were inscribed
In the first period of Roman history the Asylum was used to house the refugees and those expelled from other cities, who were quickly proclaimed Roman citizens. One of the big differences between Rome and other cities of antiquity was this willingness to accept foreigners as citizens, regardless of their religion, language or color of skin, as long as they would accept the laws of the Roman state. It was perhaps one of the reasons for Rome's extraordinary success
130 INSCRIPTIONS grouped by topics:
Languages, The Tomb, The Cult, The Law, Professions and Trades, the Games, Roads and Aqueducts, Military, The Roman Aristocracy
"Altar dedicated to the Sun god and the gods of Palmyra" second half of the first century AD with on the left side inscription in Syrian language from Palmyra. It was dedicated by Felix, an imperial freedman who worked in Testaccio in the Horrea Galbana and by his wife Helpis. It represents an early testimony of the oriental cult of the god Sun in Rome
"Ancient capitals" with inscriptions in Hebrew dating back to 1560/76 from the Campus Iudeorum the Jewish Cemetery which used to be located in the Trastevere district near Porta Portese. It was used from the early Middle Ages until 1645, when Innocent X Pamphili (1644/55) gave to the Jewish community a new area on the Aventine for their cemetery
"Cinerarium-shaped shrine with portraits of the dead"
"Stele of the gladiator Anicetus" still with traces of color
"Base of statue known as Vicomagistri's" 136 dedicated to Adriano (117/138)
"Base of a statue" dedicated by the Fifth Cohort of the Fire Brigade to Caracalla (211/17)
During the excavations of 1939/40 the TEMPLE OF VEIOVIS was found, an infernal young god maybe originally Etruscan, dedicated in 192 BC but rebuilt in the first century BC with headless "Cult statue of Veiovis"
"Inscription of the tomb of Agrippina Maggiore" with on the right side inscription of the twelfth century by the City of Rome that transformed this block of marble into an instrument of measurement of food units
"Base of a statue of Cornelia" the famous mother of the Gracchi brothers already placed in the Portico of Metellus later known as Portico d'Ottavia
"Relief of the knight Marcus Curtius" of the first century BC as he jumps in the chasm, found near the Column of Phocas. The relief was recycled for the paving of the Forum of 12 BC and its back is engraved with a part of the inscription which mentions the funder of the work, the praetor Lucius Naevius Surdinus
"Base of a statue of Hadrian" important for the lists engraved on the sides of vici (roads and districts) of three of the fourteen regiones (neighborhoods) in which Rome was divided. This is an extraordinary document for topographical knowledge of Rome during the first half of the second century AD
PORCH with eleven spans and gallery with "Fragment of a lintel from the Temple of Vespasian and Titus" decorated with absolutely incredible detail, richness and virtuosity that makes the nearby "Fragment of a lintel from the Temple of Concord" of 12 AD sober in comparison
ROOMS IN THE FOUNDATIONS
Remains of a building predating the Tabularium on the room ground level. In one of the three rooms "Mosaic floor" among the oldest ever found in Rome, dating from the second half of the second century BC, with a white background and irregular flakes of colored marbles

Thursday, May 15, 2014

CAPITOLINE MUSEUMS - CAPITOLINE ART GALLERY (second part)

ROOM OF S. PETRONILLA
Great Seventeenth century painting in Rome
"Sibyl of Cuma" about 1622 by Domenico Zampieri aka Domenichino (1581/1641)
"The writing in Greek on the scroll reads 'There is only one God, infinite and unborn'. The last word is spelled incorrectly. The words referring to a God who has yet to be born would clearly indicate the ability of the woman to predict the the future. The vine that can be seen behind the wall probably refers to Christ. As the Sibyl in the Borghese Gallery, it is a highly idealized female image evoking a Raphael-like kind of beauty. The expansion of the forms here, however, is more insistent and even the brush strokes look different, broader and faster, as it is possible to see from the treatment of the drapery of her garments" (Web site of the Capitoline Museums - www.capitolini.net)
"St. John the Baptist" 1602 and "Good Fortune" about 1595 masterpieces by the great Michelangelo Merisi aka Caravaggio (1571/1610)
"Caravaggio's St John the Baptist had an immense influence in the seventeenth century and beyond, until the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. It gave way to a new way of painting, a new way of looking at the world. No one would have thought it when Caravaggio, practically, sold it off, but the artist was beginning to change the course of European art" (Peter Robb)
"Caravaggio shows how one should use the lessons of the great: taking over the approach of some of Michelangelo's figures, he brings them down into living reality, he shows how reality, so well framed and focused, gets sharper somehow and how its contrasts result more distinct. The same can be said of the story: he does not remove reality, he gets closer, he doesn't cheer up, he dramatizes. The facts of the past are not shown as already occurred and judged, but caught in flagrante delicto of their happening here and now. We do not know causes and effects of immediate events; we cannot stand back, contemplate, judge, we must live the events. It is a moment, a fragment, but is a real-time, a live fragment of our existence" (Giulio Carlo Argan)
"It is a masterful combination of lightness and apparent intrinsic gravity: his disarming simplicity (God is simple, love is simple) can be disturbing at times pushing the viewers to think that what you see is too easy, launching into travel within the picture to find out the much-celebrated (and unnecessary) hidden meanings. His works are not icons, but they speak of flesh, blood, stupor, and torture, but also of grace, mystery and search for God" (Sergio Guarino)
"St. Matthew and the Angel", "Persian Sibyl", "Antony and Cleopatra" and "Burial and Glory of St. Petronilla" 1623 by Giovanni Francesco Barbieri aka Guercino (1591/1666)
"There is a weak beginning of abandonment of baroque tendencies: the figures are less vigorous and more clearly delineated, the rich palette is muted and the composition itself is balanced in a more classic way than in his pre-Roman works. However, just in the painting which manifests for the first time a return to a more easily appreciated classicism, the idea of lowering the body of the saint in the open grave, in which it seems the observer is, has an immediate attractiveness, unthinkable without the experience of Caravaggio. So a pictorially Baroque style, a Caravaggio echo and an anticipation of the early Baroque-Classicism combine in this crucial phase of Guercino's career" (Rudolf Wittkower)
"Romulus and Remus suckled by the wolf" 1617/18 by Peter Paul Rubens (1577/1640) painted in Antwerp. It is one of the best works of the Flemish painter for the vibrant richness of colors' substance: the twins are suckled by the wolf, in the presence of Rhea Silvia and the personification of the Tiber, as they were found by the shepherd Faustulus
"Allegory of the Intellect, Will and Memory" about 1624 by Simon Vouet (1590/1649)
"Madonna and Child with Angels" about 1610 and "Birth of the Virgin" on a blackboard by Francesco Albani (1578/1660)
ROOM VI 
Painting in Bologna by the Carracci, Guido Reni
"St. Sebastian" about 1615, "St. Jerome", "Lucretia", "Cleopatra" about 1640/42
"Compared to the immediately preceding version - Dublin's Cleopatra dated to 1639/40 - one can easily see as the Capitoline Cleopatra fully reflects the characteristics of the second period of the artist (thin painting, diaphanous colors, historical event reduced to essential data), elements that for a long time, starting already during his lifetime, have caused to consider the production of Guido Reni with extreme embarrassment, sometimes even pushing to unspeakable damning. Only in recent decades we have begun to understand the deep, brilliant revolution that Reni operates on his own artistic language, overcoming the complete formal elegance that made him famous" (Sergio Guarino)
  "Jesus and St. John", "Girl with a Crown" and "Sketch of the blessed soul" about 1641 by Guido Reni (1575/1642)
"Guido Reni maintained a constant experimental attitude: in the Girl with a Crown, made in his last years, there are disintegration of colors, until then polished, and great figurative simplicity" (Carlo Bertelli, Giuliano Briganti, Antonio Giuliano)
"St. Francis adoring the Crucifix" about 1584 by Annibale Carracci (1560/1609)
"In the half-length cutting and in the choice to put in the foreground, as on a windowsill, the tools of meditation of the saint, the painting, which Posner termed 'the most lovable and sweet' among the representations of St. Francis by Annibale, was influenced by previous works of Bartolomeo Passerotti (...). One can detect here also Correggio's style for the first time, in the yielding sense of the form, and an accelleration of color that seems to consume, like internal combustion, the painted matter, now undone and impalpable" (Daniele Benati)
"Holy Family with Saints" about 1590 and "St. Cecilia" 1605 by Ludovico Carracci (1555/1619)
"The mystery of grace has been cleverly humanized through the simple representation of the affections. The novelty of the paintings by Ludovico, understanding art as popular communication, indicates an important factor in the new language of 1600s" (Carlo Bertelli, Giuliano Briganti, Antonio Giuliano)
"Judith" by Carlo Maratta (1625/1713) a copy from original of Guido Reni
"Wedding of St. Catherine" 1590 by Denis Calvaert (about 1540/1619)
ROOM OF PIETRO DA CORTONA
Baroque painting: Pietro da Cortona and his followers
"Rape of Helen" about 1631 and "David and Goliath" about 1640 by Giovanni Francesco Romanelli (1610/62) from Viterbo, a pupil of Pietro da Cortona
"Meeting of Esau and Jacob" about 1640, "Joseph sold by his brothers" about 1640 by Giovanni Maria Bottalla (1613/44), a pupil of Pietro da Cortona
Eleven paintings by Pietro Berrettini aka Pietro da Cortona (1597/1669) including:
"Triumph of Bacchus" 1624, "Madonna with Child", "The Chariot of Venus", "Sacrifice of Polyxena" about 1620, "Portrait of Pope Urban VIII" about 1627, "View of Allumiere" about 1625/30 and "Rape of the Sabine Women" about 1629 for the Sacchetti family
The Rape of the Sabine Women has been described as the manifesto of Baroque painting
"It is a clear example of the new way of interpreting the patrimony of ancient civilization. To illustrate a Historia (story) the artist carefully rebuilt a scenario faithful to historical truth (note the armor and clothes), but the drama, even though they are in an ideal space away from everyday life, comes alive with the spectacular vitality of a play acted in theater. Despite the balanced sequence of perspective backdrop wings, Pietro da Cortona exceeds the rules of symmetry and arranges clusters of figures according to a dynamic spin" (Carlo Bertelli, Giuliano Briganti, Antonio Giuliano)
It takes its name from the 1880 bequest of Count Francesco Cini who donated to the City of Rome his collection of porcelain and furniture including over 400 pieces of porcelain from Saxony, China, Japan and from Capodimonte (Naples) dating back to the 1700s. The collection also included watches, snuff boxes and objects of Oriental art
Bisque statuettes by Giovanni Volpato (1735/1803), small reproductions of famous classical statues destined to foreign collectors. They were the tourists souvenirs of the late eighteenth century
Six Flemish tapestries "Stories of Semiramide" about 1627/38 from the manufacture in Antwerp of Michel Wauters from cartoons by the Flemish Abraham van Diepenbeek (1596/1675)
"Portrait of the engraver Peter de Jode the older and his son Pieter the Younger" and "Portrait of painters Luca and Cornelius de Wael" 1627/29 by Anthony Van Dyck (1599/1641). Van Dyck's ability as a portrait painter was undisputed and it was always very appreciated his extraordinary ability to individualize the subjects of his portraits and his compositional balance which always used the best light effects
Outstanding "Crucifixion" by Gabriel Metsu (1629/67)
"Triumph of the Cross" by Leonard Bramer (1596/1674)
"Farmers" by Michael Sweerts (1618/64)
"Dance of peasants" by the bambocciante (painter who liked to represent real life situations of the poorer class) by Michelangelo Cerquozzi (1602/60)
"A soldier" and "A Witch" about 1650 by the brilliant and dark Salvator Rosa (1615/73)
"His fame is mainly due to the representation of landscapes, characterized by nature rough and wild, to the battle scenes, marked by crude expressivity, and to his preference for the dark tones and contrasts of light. He also painted allegorical portraits, mythical and biblical subjects where the moralizing and philosophical intent is accentuated by the dark and mysterious atmosphere, and even paintings related to magical themes" (Enciclopedia Treccani)
"Portrait of a Man" by Federico Zuccari (about 1542/1609)
"Battle" by Jacques Courtois aka Borgognone (1628/79)
Three paintings "Portrait of a Man", "Portrait of a Man with Dog" and "Double Portrait of a Musician" 1578/85 by Bartolomeo Passerotti (1529/92)
Four big "Preparatory sketches" for the tapestries in the Tapestry Room and "Romulus and Remus" by Domenico Corvi (1721/1803) from Viterbo, a copy of the painting by Rubens
Seven "Views of Rome" on parchment and "View of St. Nile in Grottaferrata" by Gaspar van Wittel (1653/1736)
Dutch painter naturalized Italian, known also as Gaspare Vanvitelli or Gaspare degli occhiali (Caspar with glasses). He moved to Italy when he was twenty and he became an unbeatable landscape artist who also liked to use technical devices such as the optical box. He was the father of the great painter and architect Luigi Vanvitelli (1700/73)
"Holy Family" by Carlo Maratta (1625/1713)
"Holy Family" about 1755 by Pompeo Batoni (1708/87)
"It joined in the Capitoline collections in the twentieth century. The painting is a copy of the numerous high-level production of Batoni, an example of a sophisticated neo-Raphael mood, with direct quotations of the most famous works of the painter from Urbino in the compositional structure itself and in the purity of the features of the Virgin, as well as in the extreme attention to detail. The sense of grace pervading the image refers to Parmigianino" (Web site of the Capitoline Museums - www.capitolini.net)
"Self Portrait" about 1650 by the great Spanish painter Diego Rodriguez de Silva y Velázquez (1599/1660) vivid portrait as a member of the Virtuosi of the Pantheon, the congregation of Roman artists. It was painted during his second stay in Rome in the years 1649/51
"Portrait of Cardinal Silvio Valenti Gonzaga" by Pierre Subleyras (1699/1749). Cardinal Gonzaga was the promoter of the Capitoline collection of paintings

Wednesday, May 14, 2014

CAPITOLINE MUSEUMS - CAPITOLINE ART GALLERY (first part)

Pinacoteca Capitolina
The oldest public collection of paintings in the world founded in 1748 by Benedict XIV Lambertini (1740/58), advised by the cardinal Silvio Valenti Gonzaga, with the Collection Sacchetti of 187 paintings and expanded in 1750 with the Collection Pio di Savoia of 126 paintings in the new rooms especially built by Ferdinando Fuga (1699/1782) in 1749
Other acquisitions in late 1800s and early 1900s
ROOM I
Central Italy from the Middle Ages to the Renaissance
"Death and Assumption of the Virgin" about 1515 by Nicola Filotesio aka Cola dell'Amatrice (about 1480/1547) from the church of S. Domenico in Ascoli Piceno
"Even here Filotesio boasts a style based on mixing the art of Raphael, Leonardo and Pedro Fernandez, with results that have been defined anticlassical (Zeri, 1971) or carriers of heterodox instances anyway (Cannatà 1991). Worthy of note is the landscape in the back of the painting characterized by 'the more mysterious and powerful neoprospectic landscape paintings from those years' (Volpe 1984)" (Roberto Cannatà - Dizionario Biografico degli Italiani Treccani)
"Trinity" by Niccolò di Pietro Gerini (news in the years 1368/1416) in the lower part of the painting it also represented the buyer Francesco Datini, wealthy merchant of Prato, with his wife and daughter
Five panels with "Episodes of the infancy of Christ" 1378 by the Maestro di Campli painter active between Abruzzo and Lazio regions, indicative of the spread of Giotto's art even in smaller towns
Two half-length figures of saints "St. Bartholomew" and "St. Magdalene" about 1530 by the painter from Siena Bartolomeo Bulgarini (news in the years 1337/78)
"Presentation in the Temple" started by Francesco Raibolini aka Francia (1450/1517) and finished by Bartolomeo Passerotti (1529/92)
"The work was originally destined for the church of S. Domenico in Reggio Emilia and the artist from Bologna Francesco Francia had begun to paint in 1514. The work was soon interrupted and resumed several years later by another painter from Bologna, Bartolomeo Passerotti, who completed the picture with some modifications, including the original figure of the buyer who was on his knees transformed into a St. Jerome" (Web site of the Capitoline Museums - www.museicapitolini.org)
Large oil painting "Madonna with Child and Saints" 1513 by the Lucchese Agostino Marti (about 1482/1540) for Alberico Malaspina lord of Carrara
Oil on panel "Madonna and Child with Saints Nicholas of Bari and Martin of Tours" about 1496 by Gian Giacomo Alladio aka Macrino d'Alba from Piedmont (about 1470/1528). Probably painted during a short stay in Rome, which is represented in an imaginative landscape in the background
ROOM II
The sixteenth century in Ferrara
"Because of its geographical location - in the northeastern part of the Emilia-Romagna, a short distance from the sea - the city had of course close cultural relations with Venice, Padua and Bologna and in the fifteenth century it had become one of the main centers of Italian art. The painters of Ferrara, in particular in the first half of the sixteenth century, gather in their style proposals from both Venetian painting (in particular the use of color) and from Bolognese painting, from which they absorb formal elegance. Following the conquest by the State of the Church in 1598 the artistic heritage of Ferrara was literally ransacked and numerous paintings from the Este collections became part of the Roman collections" (Web site of the Capitoline Museums - www.museicapitolini.org)
"Annunciation" 1528 and "Madonna with Child in Glory" 1512/13 by Benvenuto Tisi aka Garofalo (about 1481/1559)
"Holy Family" about 1527 by the brilliant Giovanni Luteri aka Dosso Dossi (about 1486/1542)
"Flight into Egypt" about 1594 and "Adoration of the Magi" about 1600 by Ippolito Scarsella aka Scarsellino
ROOM III
Venice and its territory in the sixteenth century
"Baptism of Jesus" about 1512 by the great Venetian master Tiziano Vecellio (Titian) (about 1490/1576)
"Early painting by Titian where its buyer, Giovanni Ram, a Spanish merchant who lived in Venice, is depicted in the lower right, while witnessing the sacred scene, which opens onto a delicate landscape. The white and red of the cloth in the lower left part of the painting focus the attention and set the distances" (Web site of the Capitoline Museums -www.museicapitolini.org)
"Fortress" and "Temperance" ceiling panels about 1556, "Ascension" and "The Rape of Europa" by Paolo Caliari aka Veronese (1528/88)
"The author of what it will later be referred to as the 'doing big' of Venetian painting, Veronese combines formal elegance with a relaxed and innovative use of color, as in the great painting of the Rape of Europa (autographed replica of a work of the same subject now kept in the Palazzo Ducale in Venice), where the myth - the young Europa being abducted by Zeus in the form of a bull, and carried across the sea to the land that you will get her name - is represented in all of its phases, focusing particularly on the sensual figure of Europa, richly dressed" (Web site of the Capitoline Museums - www.museicapitolini.org)
"Portrait of a crossbowman" 1552 by Lorenzo Lotto (about 1480/1556)
"Christ and the adulteress" by Jacopo Negretti aka Jacopo Palma il Vecchio (about 1480/1528)
"Portrait of a Woman" about 1525 by Giovanni Girolamo Savoldo (about 1480/1548). Savoldo represents the woman next to a small dragon as St. Margaret, patroness of childbirth. Excellent example of his luminous silkiness and of his attention to detail and realism of the yet incredible representation
"Flagellation", "Crowning with Thorns", "Baptism of Jesus" and "Penitent Magdalene" by Domenico Robusti aka Tintoretto (1560/1635) son of the more famous Jacopo
"Good Samaritan" about 1540/50 by Jacopo da Ponte aka Jacopo Bassano (about 1510/92)
ROOM IV
Sixteenth century styles in Rome
"Diana and Endymion" 1660 by Pier Francesco Mola (1612/66) native of Canton Ticino in Switzerland
"A serene contemplation of nature is evident in Diana and Endymion painted for Bonaventura Argenti, a friend of Mola and famous musician for the papal chapel, for whom Mola worked on several occasions. The theme of the subject is masterfully played by Mola who manages to combine Carracci's models, the lunar atmosphere by Guercino and enchanted moments of the poetic fables of Poussin. Similar are the Bacchus of the Galleria Spada in Rome and the Boy with the dove (Toronto, Art Gallery of Ontario)" (Laura Possanzini - Dizionario Biografico degli Italiani Treccani)
"Erminia among the shepherds" by Giovanni Lanfranco (1582/1647) the most Baroque among the many Emilian painters active in Rome in the first half of the seventeenth century
"The poem of Tasso was well known and what the shepherd says to the girl dressed in the arms of Clorinda sent back to the meaning which had long been the goal of pastoral literature, namely insecurity and vanity of glory, futility of worldly conflicts, peace that is only to be found in simple things, in contact with nature. In his painting Lanfranco did not use the history of Erminia as a pretext for the landscape nor insisted on the pastoral atmosphere. He sought instead to create the atmosphere of the evening (the projection of the melancholic mood of Erminia) of the woods, in the back, which becomes a black and indistinct mass against the dim light that still lingers in the sky" (Giuliano Briganti - 1985)
"Moses drawing water from the rock" about 1642 and "Adoration of the Golden Calf" about 1642 by François Perrier (1590/1650) one of the twelve founders of the Académie royale de peinture et de sculpture, the French Royal Academy of Painting and Sculpture
"Triumph of Flora" maybe by Nicolas Poussin (1594/1665)
"David and Goliath" about 1639 by Guillaume Courtois aka Borgognone (1628/79)
ROOM V
The sixteenth century in Emilia
"A precious testimony of the variety of artistic production which, alongside the great works for churches and public and private palaces, included smaller works for smaller rooms as well as copies of famous works, at the time in great demand from the market. Paintings of this type have had a fundamental role in the dissemination of new artistic proposals and to allow the study of the great masters of entire generations of young artists" (Web site of the Capitoline Museums - www.capitolini.net)
"Diana the huntress" about 1601 and "St. Anthony"1635 by Giuseppe Cesari aka Cavalier d'Arpino (1568/1640)
"Our Lady of Albinea" copy of the lost the original by Antonio Allegri aka Correggio said (1489/1534) formerly in the church of S. Prospero in Albinea in the province of Reggio Emilia
"Dispute of St. Catherine of Alexandria" by Prospero Fontana (1512/97) father of the painter Lavinia Fontana
"Mystic Marriage of St. Catherine of Alexandria" about 1595 by Pietro Faccini (about 1562/1602)

Tuesday, May 13, 2014

CAPITOLINE MUSEUMS - CLEMENTINO CAFFARELLI PALACE

Palazzo Clementino Caffarelli
1576/38 Gregorio Canonico pupil of Jacopo Barozzi aka Vignola for Ascanio Caffarelli and his son Gian Pietro II
It has undergone many transformations that have altered its original appearance
Some remaining parts of the frescoed vaults are kept in the Museum of Rome at Palazzo Braschi
From the beginning of 1800s to the end of World War I it was occupied by the Embassy of Prussia
In 1918 it was recovered by the City of Rome and partially demolished: instead of the upper floors of the east wing the great TERRAZZA CAFFARELLI (Caffarelli Terrace) was built. The ground floor, partly dismantled for the excavation of the Temple of Jupiter Capitolinus, was set up as a new section of the Capitoline Museum, the Museo Mussolini, later known as Museo Nuovo (New Museum)
Capitoline coins and medals collection
Incredible heritage of about 50,000 coins, medals and jewels
The collection began in 1872 with the Castellani Donation of 9,074 coins, when Augusto Castellani was Director of the Capitoline Museums. The collection was enlarged with:
Stanzani Donation of 9,251 coins and 681 precious stones of the architect Ludovico Stanzani
Bignami Collection of 2,225 coins collected by Giulio Bignami
Campana Collection of 456 gold coins
Gems, jewelry and coins from the Archaeological Municipal Commission
Treasury of Via Alessandrina 2,529 gold coins and 81 gold objects, all ancient Roman pieces, the secret treasure of a Roman antiquarian, found accidentally in 1933 in the now disappeared Via Alessandrina during the construction of Via dei Fori Imperiali
Treasury of the Capitoline Hill 77 ancient silver coins found in the Tabularium
Orsini Collection 93 pieces dating back between 1300s and 1800s
Reconstruction of a brightly polychrome terracotta pediment of the Hellenistic period from a LATE REPUBLICAN TEMPLE IN VIA DI S. GREGORIO maybe the Temple of Fortuna Respiciens on Palatine Hill or a Temple of Mars on Celium Hill
It is the only pediment of a Hellenistic temple ever found in Rome
Filippo Coarelli deemed it part of the Temple of Fortune Respiciens originally built in the sixth century BC at the time of Servius Tullius and rebuilt by Lucius Aemilius Paullus Macedonicus perhaps in 166 BC (he was censor in that year), the time to which the beautiful pieces on display should date back
At the center is Mars and on his sides two fortunes of which the one on the right is the Fortuna Respiciens or "Fortuna looking back", negative Fortune. The temple was located, perhaps not coincidentally in the middle of the triumph itinerary during which the winner was told: "Look back, remember that you are a man!"

Sunday, May 11, 2014

CAPITOLINE MUSEUMS - GALLERY OF THE GARDENS (second part)

Exedra of Marcus Aurelius
Architecture by Carlo Aymonino (1926/2010) on the area of the GIARDINO ROMANO (Roman Garden) between the properties of the Conservatives and the Caffarelli family
In 1876 Virginio Vespignani had built an octagonal pavilion to preserve the works of art
"Equestrian Statue of Marcus Aurelius" (161/180) about 176 AD, the only ancient equestrian bronze statue to reach our times of the many that were in Rome: a late imperial description lists no less than twenty-two Equi Magni (big horses)
It was saved from melting and recycling only because mistakenly believed to be the representation of Constantine the emperor who legalized Christianity in 313
The original location is debated. It was moved from the Lateran Square to the center of the Piazza del Campidoglio in 1538 by order of Paul III Farnese (1534/49) and placed on a pedestal designed by Michelangelo Buonarroti
In 1979 it was damaged by a bomb during a terrorist attack that didn't cause a massacre only because a storm had broke out and Piazza del Campidoglio was empty
It was restored in the years 1981/90
In 1997 a copy was placed in the center of Piazza del Campidoglio
"From the Aedes Aemiliana Herculis in the Forum Boarium probably dedicated in 142 BC during the censorship of Scipio Aemilian from an archetype dating from about 320/300 BC recognized in the Lenbach type Hercules similar, on stylistic grounds, to works of Lysippus or his school, to which refer features such as the smallness of the head (not without echoes of Skopas) or the pronounced twisting of the trunk" (Lucio Fiorini - TMG)
"Head", "Hand" and "Orb" in bronze of Constantine (306/337) or his son Costatius II (337/361) believed to be part of the same statue
"Orb" originally placed on top of the Vatican Obelisk, removed in 1586 by Domenico Fontana. According to an ancient tradition it was believed to be the tomb of Julius Caesar, but Fontana only found rust. It was transferred to the Capitoline Museum in 1589
The holes in the orb were made by bullets from guns of mercenaries during the sack of Rome in 1527. They are the only tangible evidence of that tragic event, along with the holes in the Belvedere bronze Pine Cone and in the bronze peacocks, originally located near the Pine Cone in the atrium of the Basilica of St. Peter
Temple of Jupiter Capitolinus
Also known as TEMPLE OF JUPITER OPTIMUS MAXIMUS the Roman version of the Greek Zeus. Temple of the Capitoline Triad, Jupiter, Juno and Minerva founded, according to legend, by Tarquinius Priscus (616/579 BC), the fifth king of Rome who wanted to dedicated it to Jupiter Optimus Maximus in exchange for victory over the Sabines
Maybe it was also built to emphasize the new religious as well as political importance of Rome over other cities of the Latin League who previously gravitated around Alba Longa and the Temple of Jupiter Latiaris on Mons Albanus, now Monte Cavo
Tarquinius Priscus' son, Tarquin the Proud, continued the construction but it was dedicated only in the first year of the Roman Republic, on September 13, 509 BC by the consul Horace Pulvilli
The legend says that during the construction a skull was found, which gave its name to the Capitolium hill (head in Latin is caput), hinting that that was where the center of power in Rome would have been in the future
It measured about 62 x 54 m (203 x 177 feet)
It suffered fires in 83 BC, AD 69 and AD 80 and it was always rebuilt with the same dimensions. Only part of the foundations in cappellaccio stone remains
THREE PARALLEL CELLAE separated by walls, under the same roof with the simulacra of worship inside: on the left Juno, in the center Jupiter and on the right Minerva
Rites took place in the Temple before wars and triumphal processions ended here. The Sibylline Books (books to predict the future) were kept here, it was a symbol of Rome and it was reproduced in all the newly founded cities
The huge STATUE OF JUPITER with a thunderbolt in his right hand was made by the Greek Apollonios, perhaps the same Apollonios Nestor's son who signed the Belvedere Torso in the Vatican Museums
On the roof there was a CHARIOT MADE OF TERRACOTTA by Vulca, the only Etruscan sculptor known to us
The legend says that during the baking the oven that contained it cracked, another harbinger of the greatness of Rome
In 296 BC the terracotta chariot was replaced with a bronze one by the Ogulnii brothers the aedilii of that year, the same ones that had made the bronze she-wolf of the Lupercal
In front of the temple there was a square, the AREA CAPITOLINA, full of statues and monuments:
A square foundation remains on either side of Via del Tempio di Giove, maybe part of the ALTAR TO JUPITER CUSTODIAN (Ara Juppiter Conservator) erected by Domitian to thank the god for the narrow escape during the siege of the Capitol ine Hill by Vitellius' party, when he had hidden in the Capitoline Temple of Isis disguised as a priest of Isis, as represented on the altar
More likely, the square foundation is the nucleus of the ALTAR OF THE GENS JULIA maybe identifiable with the ARA PIETATIS AUGUSTAE dedicated by Claudius in 43 AD but voted by the Senate in 22 for a serious illness of Livia. The reliefs included in the rear façade of the Villa Medici probably belonged to this altar
The TEMPLE OF CAPITOLINE ISIS dated at least to 58 BC, when it is mentioned for the first time by the sources. It was located in the area where the church of S. Maria in Aracoeli is now. Maybe the Celimontano Obelisk dating back to about 1250 BC at the time of Ramses II (1297/1213 BC) belonged to temple. It was moved in 1582 to Villa Celimontana
On the south side of the Temple there was the TEMPLE OF FIDES (trust), the divinity guardian of the treaties and diplomatic relations, the remains of which crashed in the area of S. Omobono
Among these materials, fragments of a black marble base with victories and trophies in relief were also found, maybe the base of the bronze group with the scene of the surrender of Jugurtha donated by the king Bocco of Mauretania to Sulla and a statue of Aristogeiton one of the tyrannicides (along with Harmodius) copy of the group of Critias and Nesiote formerly made by Antenor in 476 BC to be erected in the agora of Athens, now in the Museum of the Central Montemartini: the event represented temporally coincided with the expulsion of Tarquin the Proud and the beginning of the Roman Republic 
On the Clivus Capitolinus (the road to the hill) maybe at the entrance of the Area Capitolina there was the ARCH OF TRIUMPH OF SCIPIO AFRICANUS built in 190 BC, one of the oldest in Rome
According to ancient tradition the VILLAGE ON THE CAPITOLINE HILL was the oldest of the ones on the hills of future Rome. It would have been founded by the god Saturn himself. Archaeological excavations made it possible to date the origin of the village of the Capitoline Hill to the fourteenth or thirteenth century BC
The Capitoline Hill is the smallest among the hills of Rome: it measures only 460 x 180 m (1,510 x 590 feet) and it is 46 m (150 feet) high above sea level, but the slope was much steeper in the past than now and it was protected from possible enemies
Remains of the decoration of an ancient temple from the sixth century BC found in the Sacred Area of S. Omobono in the Forum Boarium
The decoration of the pediment of the Corinthian type is the oldest example of a closed pediment of the Etruscan and Italic architecture in the archaic period
"Fragmented acroterial group with Hercules and Athena" second half of the sixth century BC. "Polychrome antefix (roof decoration) with female head" end of the sixth century BC
"Coating clay slab with a parade of chariots" second half of the sixth century BC. The temple was located at the point of beginning of the triumphal procession. The figure of Hercules was traditionally linked to the triumph as a man transformed into a god and he represented the consecration of power
"Laconic cup with roosters facing each other" sixth century BC
"Miniature pots and pans in bucchero" used for small offerings to the gods
"Ivory plaque in the shape of a feline" with Etruscan inscription of the beginning of the sixth century BC, maybe used as a pass, symbol of mutual hospitality, the so-called tessera hospitales
"Fragment of Amazon" in terracotta still polychrome, early fifth century BC. It was found outside the Esquiline Gate (now Arch of Gallienus) and maybe it was part of the decoration of the temple of the goddess Libitina, the goddess of deaths linked to the funeral rites
Reconstruction of the discovery of a "Girl's grave" dating to the tenth or ninth century BC found on the Capitoline Hill to prove the ancient human presence of the hill, which, judging from ceramics found in the S. Omobono area, was inhabited at least since the fourteenth or thirteenth century BC