Monday, October 20, 2014

VATICAN MUSEUMS - COURTYARD OF THE PINE CONE



CORTILE DELLA PIGNA

Northern part of the Cortile del Belvedere (Belvedere Courtyard) by Donato Bramante (1444/1514) originally 300 m (984 feet) long and 70 m (230 feet) wide, built for Julius II Della Rovere (1503/13)
 Julius II wanted to connect the Palazzetto del Belvedere (Palace of the Belvedere) built for Innocent VIII Cybo (1484/92) in about 1487 by Giacomo da Pietrasanta (active since 1452/d. about 1497) on the north to the Vatican Palace on the south

“Giacomo da Pietrasanta worked on the construction of the Villa Belvedere in the Vatican for Innocent VIII, besides having designed the equipment for the ceremony of his coronation and directed the restoration of the Lateran Palace. Doubt is, however, his role within this site, which lasted from 1484 to 1487 (Edit de Campos). According to Giorgio Vasari, the designer of the project was Antonio Benci aka Pollaiuolo, although the construction work 'was conducted by others, because he did not have much practice in walls' building'. The most recent studies attribute the building site management to Baccio Pontelli (Tafuri, 1995), or to Giovannino (Giovanni) Dolci (Frommel, 1998), and to Giacomo the conducting work of the villa in a more general way” (Sara Magister - Dizionario Biografico degli Italiani Treccani)

The Cortile del Belvedere was later divided into three parts by the Library Wing of Sixtus V Peretti (1585/90) and the New Wing of Pius VII Chiaramonti (1800/23)

Besides the courtyard of the Pine Cone it also includes the large Cortile del Belvedere in the south, which improperly kept the original name and the small Cortile della Biblioteca (Library courtyard) at the center

Nicchione (Big Niche) 1562/65 built by Pirro Ligorio (about 1513/83) fifty years after the death of Bramante, who had designed it

“Bronze Pine Cone” signed Publius Cincius Salvio from the area of the Baths of Agrippa, maybe fountain in the Temple of Isis
It was eventually placed in the atrium of the old Basilica of St. Peter
It gave the name to the central neighborhood called Rione Pigna, where the Temple of Isis was originally located
Under the Pine Cone there is a “Capital with coronation of a victorious athlete” third century AD from the Neronian-Alexandrian Baths

Copies of “Bronze peacocks” maybe from the Mausoleum of Hadrian. The originals are in the New Wing of the Chiaramonti Museum
“Two crouching lions in basalt” with the name of the pharaoh Nectanebo II (360/343 BC)
In the inscription is written that they come from Rehuy, perhaps the ancient Hermopolis Parva in the Delta of the Nile River, the city today known as Tell Baqliya
They were found approximately in 1435
They were placed in front of the Pantheon at the behest of Clement VII Medici (1523/34) and in 1586 they were used as decoration of the Fountain of the Acqua Felice by the will of Sixtus V Peretti (1585/90)
In 1839 they were replaced by copies in the decoration of the fountain and were moved here

By the side of the Chiaramonti Museum “Colossal head of Augustus”
It was maybe the head of an acrolito (a statue with the exposed parts of the body in marble and the rest in wood covered with metal, perhaps gilded bronze) maybe posthumous and maybe originally placed in the Hall of the Colossus in the Forum of Augustus

In the center of the courtyard “Sphere” 1990 by Arnaldo Pomodoro (1926): the size is equivalent to the ball at the top of the dome of St. Peter's Basilica


Similar spheres are in front of the UN headquarters in New York, at Trinity College in Dublin, the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden in Washington DC, at the Christian Theological Seminary in Indianapolis, at the De Young Museum in San Francisco, at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Tehran Iran, at the American Republic Insurance Company in Des Moines Iowa, at the Columbus Museum of Art in Columbus Ohio, at the University of California Berkeley, at the Farnesina Palace in Rome and on the promenade in Pesaro in the Marche region of Italy

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

VATICAN MUSEUMS - ETHNOLOGICAL MISSIONARY MUSEUM



MUSEO MISSIONARIO ETNOLOGICO


Founded in 1926 by Pius XI Ratti (1922/39) in the Lateran Palace
It was moved here at the behest of John XXIII (1958/63)
It was inaugurated only in 1973 by Paul VI Montini (1963/78) in the new wing designed by the brothers Lucio (1922) and Fausto Passarelli (1910/98)

The original collection of 40,000 works, was selected by a committee among no less than 100,000 objects from around the world, offered to the pope by private individuals, from missions and from 400 dioceses for the Great Exhibition of 1925 on the occasion of the Holy Year

Over the years, the initial collection has been enriched with new acquisitions and donations to reach the staggering amount of 100,000 works

The exhibition opens with the oldest object in the Vatican Museums: “Tool for chopping bones in quartzite” from South Africa dating back to about 2,000,000 years ago

“It represents the beginning of technology and material culture .It is the first object built intentionally by a human being which has come down to us. It was used to break the bone marrow which our ancestors used to eat” (Vatican Museums - Description in the exhibit)

The museum, which is partially closed for the setting up of a new exhibition, will inevitably exhibit, when it will be completely reopened, only a small part of the enormous collection into five different sections:

 

Asia

 

Polychrome wood sculpture “Vairocana Buddha” from China

“Taoist Altar” from China


Reproduction of the altar of the Temple of Confucius in Kufu

Wooden statue of the “Kwanyn” ancient goddess of fertility


“Perfume burners” of the eighteenth century from Japan in metal with scenes and mythological figures of Shintoism

“Handicrafts of the Ainu population”, which means men, indigenous, now almost extinct, mostly present in the northern Japanese Island of Hokkaido


“Model of the Lamaist monastery of Tch'uoyang-Hien” in eastern Mongolia, founded in the eighteenth century

Two “Home altars” of the sixteenth century with Vishnu at the center and his various incarnations
Persian and Oriental “Majolica” from the Farina Collection in Palermo

Miniature painted with tempera and gold on paper “Young man in a garden” about 1565/1635 from Iran

Extraordinary “Twenty-four marble reliefs depicting stories of the Buddha” eight century AD from the BUDDHIST TEMPLE OF BORUBUDUR in the island of Java in Indonesia

The incredible temple was built by the architect Gunadharma for the Shailendra royal family (750/850) and was active for about two centuries before being abandoned
It was found in 1814 by the Dutch engineer H.C. Cornellius

It consists of a square base of about 122 m (400 feet) per side and was adorned by as many as 2,672 reliefs such as those present here and 504 statues

COLLECTION OF OBJECTS FROM INDONESIA
More than one thousand objects

Polychrome statue of winged lion known as "Singa Ambara Raja" and three polychrome statues of deities known as "Auction Dwipalaka" from Bali

Manuscript known as "Lontar" from Bali, made with five palm leaves kept together with a lanyard and stopped by two Chinese coins in bronze. There are scenes from the epic poem Ramayana

Collection of puppets of the "Theatre of Shadows" from Indonesia, whose stories are inspired by Hindu epic novels
In 2003 UNESCO declared the Wayang, Indonesian shadow theater, heritage of humanity as a masterpiece of oral intangible culture

“Kelembit Bok shield” from Kalimantan, region of the Borneo island, part of Indonesia

“This shield was one of the main instruments of the Dayak people. As well as being used in hunting, it was regarded as a catalyst for vital energies. The elaborate painted designs were meant to convey the fierness of the hunter as well as his strength. Using human hair as an ornament confirmed the success of the owner” (Information sign of the Vatican Museums)

 

Oceania

 

“God TU” from the Mangarewa Island in Polynesia, considered to be the benefactor of humanity

“Figure of ancestor Moai Kavakava” from Easter Island, one of the gods who gave man the knowledge

“Ceremonial house for men” from New Guinea, hut that was sacred to the worship of ancestors forbidden to women and children

“Poles for tombs” painted and carved with totemic animals

“Ceremonial headdress and two scepters” nineteenth/early twentieth century, of the Mekeo people, New Britain, Papua New Guinea

 

Africa

 

Face mask-helmet “Agbogho Monnwu” from Nigeria. It used to belong to the Igbo tribe

“Fragments of vases” in colored terracotta from Egypt from the ninth to the sixteenth century

“Statuettes in clay” with beads from Basutoland. They represent ancestors adored by women for fertility

“Crucifixion” of the seventeenth century from Zaire, carved by members of the Bakongo tribe

 

America

 

“Quetzalcòatl” the feathered Aztec serpent considered the god of the wind

"Mask of the population Yahgan" late nineteenth/early twentieth century, from Tierra del Fuego in Chile

Busts and full statues of members of Indian tribes of North America” by Ferdinand Pettrich pupil of Bertel Thorvaldsen. The tribes represented are the Sioux, the Sauks-Foxes, the Winnebago and the Creeks

“Bible stand” in wood and mother-of-pearl from the Caribbean, belonged to the friar Bartolomeo de Las Heras chaplain of Christopher Columbus

 

Objects from Countries with Missions

 

“Painting on silk with Last Supper” by the Chinese artist Wang-Su-Ta

“Painting on Silk (kakemono) with the introduction of Christianity in Japan” by the Japanese artist Luca Hasegawa. It shows the arrival of Francis Xavier in Japan, Nagasaki's martyrdom and the Virgin as Queen of Japan