Monday, March 4, 2019

St. MARY WAILING

S. MARIA DEL PIANTO
1608/12 begun by Nicolò Sebregondi (1580-90/about 1652) for the Confraternita di S. Maria del Pianto (Brotherhood of St. Mary Wailing)
It was built on the site of the earlier church of S. Salvatore in Cacaberis, from the word caccabarii, i.e. calderari, boilers manufacturers, also known as caccabi
1642/44 continued by G.B. Mola (1585/1665) with the apse, the sacristy and the bell tower
G.B. Mola was the author of the first guide of Rome not exclusively for pilgrims in the two editions of 1660 and 1663. He was the younger brother of the architect Giacomo Mola and father of the painter Pier Francesco Mola
1690 side altars and interior decoration by Filippo Tittoni
1817/18 restoration by Peter Holl (1780/1855-56)

DOME
1735 Mario Bernardi
The façade and the main nave of the church were never built
The name comes from the miraculous image of Mary which, in front of a heinous crime, shed tears in 1546
“Two young men are playing in the street, even if an order of Monsignor Governor forbids it. The game ends in dispute and a fight begins. One of the youths wins over the other, pulls out a knife in anger, and he is about to kill him. This one asks for mercy in the name of the Virgin Mary depicted in a fresco with the Child in her arms on a wall of a building on that road. The winner, at the invocation of mercy done in the name of Our Lady, throws the knife on the ground and helps the rival to get up, but this one picks up the dagger and 'as a prize to have given him life, he wickedly killed him'. Faced with this fact 'The Holy Imagine cries abundant tears from the eyes' and a Spanish priest, who was at the scene, collects the tears in a handkerchief” (Francesco Arbitrio - www.ilfonendoscopio.it)
PORTAL
Rebuilt 1875 by Virginio Vespignani (1808/82) in a style that imitates the fifteenth century

INTERIOR
Interior decoration 1817 by Camillo Marini

AT THE ENTRANCE
“Fragment of gothic ciborium” from the destroyed church of S. Salvatore in Cacaberis

AT THE BEGINNING OF THE NAVE
“Processional Banner: Virgin in Glory (recto) and Miracle of the Weeping Madonna (verso)” by Francesco Simoncelli, pupil of Lazzaro Baldi
“Important aspect of the career of Lazzaro Baldi and unique case in the seventeenth century, it was his work as a contractor in the manufacture of panels for the canonization of saints, reproduced almost in series and entrusted to his large workshop which translated, simplifying it and cleverly reducing it, his plain and compelling language suitable to grip the audience of the faithful” (Antonella Pampalone)

RIGHT TRANSEPT - CHAPEL OF St. FRANCES OF ROME
Above the altar “Madonna and Sts. Francis of Assisi, Anthony of Padua and Frances of Rome” about 1702 by Lazzaro Baldi (about 1624/1703)

On the left “Funerary Monument of Pompeo Palmieri” 1646/50 by G.B. Mola

MAIN ALTAR

Designed by G.B. Mola

Venerated fresco of the “St. Mary Wailing” of the fifteenth century, protagonist of the miracle in 1546

On the walls of the choir two paintings with frames made in 1746 by Gabriele Valvassori (1683/1761):

On the right “Jesus appearing to St. Martin” 1605 by Agostino Ciampelli (1565/1630)

On the left “Jesus Among the Doctors” 1605 by an anonymous artist follower of Caravaggio perhaps close to Carlo Saraceni

Above the pediment two statues of “Angels” by Domenico Prestinari (active in Rome 1611/47)

LEFT TRANSEPT - CHAPEL OF THE CROSS

“Painted Crucifix in papier-mâché” of the sixteenth century from the destroyed church of S. Salvatore in Cacaberis

In the frontal “Urn” with relics of St. Costantius martyr
On the left “Funerary Monument of Luigi Zannini” 1642 by Giovanni Pagni with portrait by Benigno Angiolini. Luigi Zannini was the guardian of the Brotherhood of St. Mary Wailing

Sunday, March 3, 2019

St. MARY OF MOUNT CARMEL AT THE THREE FOUNTAINS

S. MARIA DEL CARMINE ALLE TRE CANNELLE
1605/25 as the Oratorio della Confraternita del Carmine (Oratory of the Confraternity of Mount Carmel) for Cardinal Odoardo Farnese
1724/33 transformed and enlarged by Giacomo Cioli (?/1734)
Restored in 1775 after a fire in 1772 destroyed the interior of the church
The urban setting of the church was completely altered after the demolitions for the construction of Via IV Novembre began in 1875. Originally the church was on a larger square and the buildings surrounding it were lower

1750 Michelangelo Specchi (active in Rome about 1684/after 1750)
“At the center of the façade there is a window surmounted by a broken pediment with scrolls onto which there is a garland plant, according to a late Baroque taste, even if it is set in an already Neoclassical style, as it was typical of Specchi” (Olga Melasecchi)
In the lunette fresco with the “Virgin Mary of Mount Carmel” 1824

INTERIOR
Interior decoration 1817 by Camillo Marini
Decorative painting with “Fake stuccos and cornices” 1862 from drawings by Vincenzo Martinucci

COUNTER-FAÇADE
Organ of 1807

RIGHT ALTAR - ALTAR OF St. ELIJAH
Beautiful banner used as an altarpiece “Virgin Mary appears to Elijah on Mount Carmel” (front) and “Virgin Mary gives the scapular to St. Simon Stock” (back) 1727 maybe by Sebastiano Conca (1680/1764) or, more likely, by Corrado Giaquinto (1703/66)

MAIN ALTAR
Designed by Giacomo Cioli (?/1734) with eighteenth century statue “Virgin Mary of Mount Carmel and Child” in papier mâché

ALTAR TO THE LEFT OF MAIN ALTAR
Canvas “Our Lady gives the scapular to St. Simon Stock” 1776 by Giovanni Pirri, originally placed above the left altar

LEFT ALTAR - ALTAR OF St. TERESA
Canvas “St. Therese of the Child Jesus” 1927 by Tito Ridolfi (1886/1956)

SACRISTY
Canvas “S. Filippo Neri” by Corrado Giaquinto (1703/66)
“Flagellation” of the end of the sixteenth century by an anonymous artist of the Tuscan or Lombard schools

ORATORIO UPSTAIRS
“Virgin Mary of Mount Carmel” about 1605 by Gaspare Celio (1571/1640), originally placed on the main altar

St. MARY OF THE SEVEN PAINS

S. MARIA DEI SETTE DOLORI
1643/49 by Francesco Borromini (1599/1667) helped by Antonio Del Grande (about 1625/79) the architects also of part of the CONVENT (façade - chapel and vestibule) for Camilla Savelli Virginia-Farnese, completed only in 1667 by Francesco Contini (1599/1669)
“Despite the difference in the plant, it is in a sense a simplified version of S. Carlo Quattro Fontane although, above the cornice, the comparison does not hold. This project comprised possibilities that were further developed in the Church of Propaganda Fide” (Rudolf Wittkower)
“In Borromini's language the theme of plastic and linear continuity between the elements of the architecture gains such importance as to place some of the works of the master close to the logic of Gothic architecture” (Paolo Portoghesi)
INTERIOR OF THE CHURCH
Repainted and restored in 1845

LEFT ALTAR
Altarpiece “St. Augustine” by Carlo Maratta (1625/1713)

CONVENT
Painting “Our Lady of Sorrows with angels and symbols of the Passion” by Marco Benefial (1684/1764)
In 2009 the convent was reconverted into the Hotel Donna Camilla

St. MARY OF THE MIRACLES

S. MARIA DEI MIRACOLI
1675/79 Carlo Rainaldi (1611/91) with the financing of Cardinal Girolamo Gastaldi for the Reformed of the Third Order of St. Francis of the Congregation of France
It was built on the site of the destroyed church of S. Orsola (St. Ursula)
Continued by Carlo Fontana (1634/1714), completed in 1681
Twin church of the nearby S. Maria di Montesanto that still was not finished when this was begun
As in S. Maria di Montesanto the project of Rainaldi was constrained by the measures of the columns recycled from the destroyed bell towers of Bernini for St. Peter
“The church has a façade that repeats identical certain elements of its twin but with a larger body that forced Bernini - during the resumption of the work of S. Maria di Montesanto - to design the high side of the drum of that church, facing the square, of exactly the same size to mask the different shapes of the dome (here octagonal) and of the plant, circular in shape with only two chapels on each side, focusing therefore the visual attention toward the top of the buildings, rebalanced for symmetrical intent” (Stefano Petrocchi)
Restored in 1825 when the DOME was covered with shards of slate

BELL TOWER
1760/65 by Giovanni Domenico Navone (known since 1706/d. 1770)

UPPER PART OF THE PORCH
“Ten statues of saints of the Franciscan Order” about 1677 by various artists including Ercole Ferrata (1610/86), Lazzaro Morelli (1608/90), Filippo Carcani (active 1670/91), Michel Maille aka Michele Maglia (active in Rome in the second half of the seventeenth century), Lorenzo Tedesco and Cosimo Fancelli (1620/88)

INTERIOR
Statues on the walls including “Fame of Cardinal Girolamo Gastaldi” by Ercole Antonio Raggi (1624/86)

1st RIGHT - CHAPEL OF THE ASSUMPTION AND St. GREGORY THAUMATURGUS
Above the altar “Assumption and St. Gregory Thaumaturgus” by an anonymous artist of the nineteenth-century from the ruined church of S. Chiara
To the right of the altar “Funerary monument of the Marquis Guglielmi di Castro and of his wife” with “Hope” in the upper part 1868 by Cesare Benaglia (?/d. 1884)

2nd RIGHT - CHAPEL OF St. JOSEPH
Above the altar “St. Joseph with the Child and Angels” and two ovals with “Christ and Mary Magdalene in the house of Simon the Pharisee” and “Jesus in the House of Martha and Mary” by an anonymous eighteenth-century Roman artist
In front of the altar copy of the “Virgin of Betharram” 1916. The original is in the sanctuary near Lourdes
“Bronze Crucifix” by Pericle Fazzini (1913/87)

TO THE RIGHT OF THE PRESBYTERY
“Funerary monument of Benedetto Gastaldi brother of the Cardinal” by Carlo Fontana with statues “Faith” and “Hope” by Girolamo Lucenti (?/1698)

MAIN ALTAR
1677 Carlo Fontana (1634/1714)
On the altar copy of 1599 of the venerated “Our Lady of Miracles” from the original now in S. Giacomo in Augusta, originally kept in the Chapel of Our Lady of Miracles housed in a tower of the Aurelian Walls in the stretch along the Tiber
According to tradition, a woman with the same appearance of Our Lady in 1525 would have saved a child who was drowning in the River Tiber
“Angels” in stucco by Ercole Antonio Raggi (1624/86)
“In St. Mary of the Miracles Fontana was left to direct the works after Rainaldi in 1677 and he did not fail to decorate the chapel of the choir according to his intentions and, as far as possible, following a unifying criterion. The main altar, with the columns that fall toward the center, is designed as a scene (...). Coordinated with this set are the two tombs for Cardinal Girolamo Gastaldi and his brother Benedict. Following the maxims of Bernini, Fontana was able to use a tight site, a dead space between the side doors and the balconies of the choruses, to the benefit of the monuments that became elements of connection(Helmut Hager - Dizionario Biografico degli Italiani Treccani)
TO THE LEFT OF THE PRESBYTERY
“Funerary monument of Cardinal Girolamo Gastaldi” by Carlo Fontana with statues “Prudence” and “Temperance” by Ercole Antonio Raggi

2nd LEFT - CHAPEL OF OUR LADY OF THE ROSARY
Above the altar nineteenth century copy of “Our Lady of the Rosary” by G.B. Salvi aka Sassoferrato (1609/85) in the Basilica of St. Sabina
On the sides ovals “Stories of the True Cross” by an anonymous Roman artist of the late eighteenth century

1st LEFT - CHAPEL OF St. ANTHONY
Above the altar “Virgin and Child with Sts. Anthony of Padua and Antonio Abate” the only recognized work by the Frenchman Henri Gascard (1634/1701)
Under the altar relics of St. Candida from the Catacomb of S. Priscilla
On the wall “Funerary monument of the sculptor Antonio d'Este” m.1837
He was a pupil of Antonio Canova and he succeeded him in the post of director of the Vatican Museums

St. MARY OF THE ANNUNCIATION IN THE BORGO NEIGHBORHOOD

S. MARIA ANNUNZIATA IN BORGO
It was moved in 1950 from Borgo S. Spirito where it was originally built in 1744 by Pietro Passalacqua (1690/1748)
It is popularly known as ANNUNZIATINA
There are works of art formerly in the church S. Angelo dei Corridori (S. Angel of the Runners) destroyed in 1937
INTERIOR completed at the end of the eighteenth century

ON THE RIGHT
Bronze group “St. Michael the Archangel fighting with Lucifer” maybe by Albert Gefèvre

ON THE LEFT
Lunette “Apparition of St. Michael to St. Gregory the Great (590/604)” end of the sixteenth century by G.B. Montano (1543/1621)
In a niche “Madonna of the Milk with the Child” artist of the school of Antonio Aquili aka Antoniozzo Romano (about 1435-40/1508)

St. MARY OF SORROWS AT BUENOS AIRES SQUARE

S. MARIA ADDOLORATA A PIAZZA BUENOS AIRES
1910/30 Giuseppe Astorri (1880/active until 1930)
It was built in neo-medieval style
The first stone was laid on July 9, 1910, the centenary of the independence of Argentina, in the presence of the wife of the Argentine President
It is the National Argentine Church governed by diocesan clergy of Argentina
It was frequented for a decade by Cardinal Jorge Mario Bergoglio before becoming Pope Francis. He used to come to this church using the public bus

FAÇADE
“Mosaic” by Giovanni Conti inspired by the early Christian symbols with animals and plants typical of South America

INTERIOR
Plastic decorations by Duilio Cambellotti (1876/1960)

CHAPEL TO THE RIGHT OF THE APSE
“Image of Our Lady of Luján” patron saint of Argentina and flags of the provinces of the Argentine Federation

APSE
Mosaic with “Our Lady of Sorrows” by Giovanni Conti

Saturday, March 2, 2019

St. MARY AT THE SNOW

S. MARIA AD NIVES
Known since 1192 as S. Andrea Arcus Auri probably because of the proximity with the ancient ARCUS AUREO, now destroyed
Known since the sixteenth century as S. Andrea a Portogallo (St. Andrew in Portugal) or S. Andrea a Busta Gallica and since 1726 as Ss. Andrea e Bernardino (Sts. Andrew and Bernardino)
The name Busta Gallica derives, according to tradition, from the identification of this place with the area where, according to the account of Livy, the consul Camillus would have buried the bodies of the Gauls after the reconquest of the city in 390 BC: a bustum was a place where the dead were burned and buried
Rebuilt 1706/09 by Francesco Fontana (1668/1708) (maybe with the help of his pupil Filippo Juvarra) whose father Carlo Fontana (1634/1714) completed it after his son's death
Paolo Portoghesi had suggested an attribution to Giuseppe Sardi
The church was abandoned from 1798 to 1820
In 1824 it was renamed to its present name by the Brotherhood of S. Maria della Neve which took its name from the homonymous chapel in S. Maria Maggiore
Restored 1827/28 and 1837
Today it is entrusted to the Community of St. Egidio
“The architecture, despite its simplicity, is defined by a complex rhythm that achieves the effect of a solid connection determined by a nervous and tense frame, punctuated by the arches of the barrel vault, by the two windows with lunettes near the main altar and by the strong chiaroscuro relief determined by the conspicuous overhang of the cornice and the relevant projection of the pillars” (Simonetta Ceccarelli)
ON THE RIGHT
“Baptism of Christ”

MAIN ALTAR
“Trinity with Sts. Bernardino and Andrew” with a central bust of the Virgin Mary copy from original of G.B. Salvi aka Sassoferrato (1609/85)

ON THE LEFT
“St. Francis”, “St. Frances of Rome” and “Two deacons saints adoring the Virgin Mary in Glory” all painted before 1726 by anonymous eighteenth-century artists

St. MARGUERITE MARY ALACOQUE

S. MARGHERITA MARIA ALACOQUE
2000/06 Italo Rota (1953) with collaborators Fabio Fornasari, Alessandro Pedretti and Massimiliano Beltrami
Italo Rota was also the architect, with Gae Aulenti, of the design of the exhibits of the Musée d'Orsay and of the Centre Pompidou in Paris
Visionary structure in blue panels
Originally it had a red cross on the front in the shape of a plus sign, which was then removed in response to criticism received because it would have made resemble too much the church to a medical facility
In the church is kept the liturgical furnishing of the World Youth Day of the year 2000, including the gigantic “Bronze Crucifix” by Stefano Pierotti (1964) of 6 x 4 m (20 x 13 feet) with a weight of 2 tons (2.2 tons)

St. MARGUERITE

S. MARGHERITA 
1288 for Nicholas IV (1288/92)
1564 rebuilt for Donna Giulia Colonna who also commissioned the adjoining monastery now reconverted to private apartments
1678/80 rebuilt again by Carlo Fontana (1634/1714) for Cardinal Girolamo Gastaldi. It was rebuilt rotated of 90°
It was also known as S. MARGHERITA DELLA SCALA (St. Marguerite of the Ladder) or S. ELISABETTA (St. Elizabeth)
It is officiated by the Brotherhood of St. Emygdius

MAIN ALTAR
“St. Margaret in prison” by Giacinto Brandi (1621/91)
Two oval paintings by Giuseppe Ghezzi (1634/1721)

CHAPEL ON THE LEFT
Altarpiece “Immaculate Conception between Sts. Francis and Clare” by G.B. Gaulli aka Baciccio (1639/1709)

St. MARCELLUS ON VIA DEL CORSO

S. MARCELLO AL CORSO
Dating back to the late fourth century and mentioned in the sources since the year 418 as TITULUS MARCELLI
The Pope Marcellus (308/309) was forced by Maxentius (306/312) to serve in the CATABULUM (headquarters of the organization of public transport) that used to be located in this area and his body was later moved in this church at the end of the eight century or at the beginning of the ninth
Rebuilt in the twelfth century
From 1368 it was assigned to the Servants of Mary or Servites who still officiate it today
It was destroyed in 1519 by a fire that spared only the outer walls and a wooden crucifix which was therefore revered as miraculous
Reconstruction began in 1519 with a project by Jacopo Tatti aka Jacopo Sansovino (1486/1570), who was replaced in 1527 by Antonio Cordini aka Antonio da Sangallo the Younger (1483/1546) and Annibale Lippi (active in Rome the second half of the sixteenth century)
With this reconstruction the orientation of the church was reversed and the entrance was moved from Piazza Ss. Apostoli to Via del Corso
Finished in 1592

1682/86 masterpiece by Carlo Fontana (1634/1714)
“The façade is a free interpretation of the examples of his teachers Gian Lorenzo Bernini and Carlo Rainaldi. Slightly concave, the front has a lively articulation: the two side wings give the structure elasticity, underlined by the imaginative portico with free columns and pediment with spirals. The pictorial qualities of the architecture derive instead from the plastic elements of nature, such as palm leaves, connecting the two side wings and the median body, and the fan at the center of the aedicula of the second order” (Carlo Bertelli, Giuliano Briganti, Antonio Giuliano)
“The design of the aedicula gives the impression of being removable and gives to its superstructure - the broken pediment with the empty picture frame - its scenic quality. The principle used here corresponds to that of theatrical wings not connected, a principle that is foreign to the structures of the Roman Baroque, but inherent to the classicism of the late Baroque” (Rudolf Wittkower)
Sculptures in the lower part “St. Marcellus” and “St. Philip Benizi” 1686 by Francesco Cavallini (active 1672/1703)
Sculptures in the upper part “Blessed Gioacchino Piccolomini”, “Blessed Francesco Patrizi” and, on the pediment, “Faith” and “Hope” 1701/03 by Andrea Fucigna (about 1660/1711)
Relief “St. Philip Benizi renunciation of the tiara” supported by “Angels” 1683 by Ercole Antonio Raggi (1624/86)

Decoration continued until the eighteenth century
Restoration 1861/67 by Virginio Vespignani (1808/82) and 1923

1592/97 Carlo Lambardi (1545/1619)
Decorated by G.B. Ricci (about 1550/1624) and repainted by Virginio Vespignani

Huge “Crucifixion” 1613 by G.B. Ricci
To the left “Monument to Cardinal Francesco Cennini” 1668 by Giovanni Francesco De Rossi (active 1640/77)
To the right “Dual monument of Cardinal Giovanni Michiel and his nephew Bishop Antonio Orso” maybe by Jacopo Tatti aka Jacopo Sansovino (1486/1570)
Cardinal Giovanni Michiel was killed with poison in 1503 by members of the Borgia family. The volumes represented in the work allude to the 370 codes that the Cardinal gave the library of the convent

On the altar “Annunciation” by Lazzaro Baldi (about 1624/1703)
In the upper part “Madonna and Child” of the fifteenth century possibly from the old church
In the vault “Colonnade foreshortened with putti” about 1605 by Tarquinio Ligustri (about 1563/1621)
Wooden group “Pieta” of the end of the seventeenth century, derived from a painting by Annibale Carracci
“It's interesting because it was conceived to be part of a processional apparatus for the transport, in particular festive occasions, of the miraculous Crucifix. The processional wagon was rebuilt to a design by Francesco Carlo Bizzaccheri, on the occasion of the Holy Year 1700. Filippo Leti was responsible for the lighting apparatus, consisting of four large lights, and several smaller ones. A riot of leaves and garlands, angels, lilies, candles, the Caetani family coat of arms, who had paid for rebuilding the machine, on top of the imperial crown with many jewels, as well as fragrances that wafted in its path, gave rise to a real touring show” (Francesca Aloisi)
On the side pillars “Sts. Peter, Paul, Ursula and Giacinta Marescotti” by Silverio Capparoni (1831/1907)

About 1725 by Francesco Ferrari (active in Rome 1721/44)
On the altar “The Martyrdom of Sts. Degna and Merita” 1727 by Pietro Barbieri (1684/1730), pupil of Carlo Maratta
Vault “Glory of the Sts. Degna and Merita” by Ignazio Stern (1679/1748)
On the walls “Monuments of Maria Colomba Vincentini and Giovanni Muti” 1725 by Bernardino Cametti (1669/1736)
“The entire chapel forms a unity of color and light of airy architectural character and the new spirit of the eighteenth century is perfectly expressed by the graceful elegance of the faithful behind the pews just as the spirit of the seventeenth century was expressed by devotees in deep mystical contemplation” (Rudolf Wittkower)

PILLAR BETWEEN THE 2nd AND 3rd CHAPEL ON THE RIGHT
“Pulpit” maybe by Mattia De Rossi (1637/95), pupil of Bernini, or by the sculptor Giovanni Mattia De Rossi
Under the pulpit “Angel” by Pietro Paolo Naldini (1619/91)

Altarpiece “Madonna with Child” of the beginning the fourteenth century by an anonymous Roman painter
“Very interesting fresco of the very early fourteenth century, by a Roman painter updated on models of Assisi and Giotto” (Francesca Aloisi)
On the back wall five panels “Life of the Virgin Mary” about 1562 by Francesco de' Rossi aka Francesco Salviati (1510/63)
There is also the story of the Purification, rarely represented
In the vault frescoes with “Life of the Virgin Mary” by G.B. Ricci (about 1550/1624)
“Funeral Monument of Bishop Matteo Grifoni” by Stoldo Lorenzi (about 1533-34/1583)
Bishop Matteo Grifoni had commissioned the decoration of the chapel in 1519 to the young Pietro Bonaccorsi aka Perin del Vaga (1501/47). Of his work the only trace left are perhaps the two angels holding the crown of the Virgin Mary
The tomb of the bishop was placed here only in 1651

UNDER THE GRIFONI CHAPEL
CRYPT OF LORD HUGH CHARLES CLIFFORD 1837/38 by Agostino Giorgioli with “Four marble reliefs” in the lunettes, two statues of “Angels” and “Crucifix” in alabaster by Costantino Brumidi (1805/80), among of the few works of sculpture of the Roman artist
Costantino Brumidi was primarily a painter and, after his involvement in the events of the Roman Republic of 1848, he went to America and painted for 25 years the U.S. Capitol in Washington

“Wooden crucifix” of the fifteenth century
It was believed to be miraculous in 1519 when it remained intact after a fire that destroyed the church and after the plague of 1522 was believed to have ceased as a result of its presence in a procession
This event led to the founding of the Brotherhood of the Holy Cross and the construction of the nearby Oratory of the Most Holy Crucifix
The crucifix is kept in a tabernacle with paintings on the door “Angels supporting the Cross” by Luigi Garzi (1638/1721)
“Ciborium” in semi-precious stones 1689/91 by Francesco Carlo Bizzaccheri (1655/1721)
Under the table “Memorial stone” of the third century AD, reworked in the twelfth century, flanked by Roman military insignia (eagles). It was found in 1909. The opus sectile (inlaid marble) in the frontal dates back to the twelfth century
To the left “Monument of Cardinal Ercole Consalvi and of his brother Andrea” 1831 by Rinaldo Rinaldi (1793/1873)
To the right “Monument of Cardinal Carlo Grano” d. 1977 by Tommaso Gismondi (1906/2003)
In the vault frescoes “Creation of Eve”, Evangelists “Mark” and “John” by Pietro Bonaccorsi aka Perin del Vaga (1501/47) who also began “Matthew” and “Luke” finished by Daniele da Volterra (1509/66)
The frescoes were begun in the years 1525/27, interrupted for the sack of Rome in 1527 and then completed only between the years 1540/43
“For the design and the compositional layout of this difficult work Perin del Vaga was inspired both by the fresco on the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel and by the little scenes of the Vatican Loggia. From Michelangelo the figure of Eve, who turns to the creator with a gesture of adoration, from Raphael the figure of the Father, whose profile shows some vigorous drawing. Quite peculiar and extremely convincing the young and slim figure of Adam, lying on the ground in a deep state of unconsciousness. The figures of the Evangelists have a purely decorative purpose. They blend in with each other in the amplitude of the relief pattern typical of Perin del Vaga; the rhythms of the robes rustle solemnly around their well-proportioned bodies” (Hermann Voss)
5th RIGHT - CHAPEL OF S. PELLEGRINO LAZIOSI
1725 Ludovico Rusconi Sassi (1678/1736)
Above the altar “S. Pellegrino Laziosi healed by the Savior”, on the right “Healing of a blind child” and on the left “Miracle of Our Lady of Fire” by Aureliano Milani (1675/1749)
On the right “Monument of Cardinal Fabrizio Paolucci” by Pietro Bracci (1700/73)
On the left oval marble with “Portrait of Cardinal Camillo Merlini Paolucci”, supported by putti, 1776 by Tommaso Righi (1727/1802)

1569 Annibale Lippi (active in Rome the second half of the sixteenth century), modified by Virginio Vespignani (1808/82)
Fresco on the altar “Triumph of St. Marcellus” by Silverio Capparoni (1831/1907)
In the altar there are the bodies of St. Marcellus and S. Foca martyrs
Apsidal basin “Stories of the Life of the Virgin Mary” and “Prophets”, under-arch and “Saints” between the windows by G.B. Ricci (about 1550/1624), retouched by G.B. Polenzani who painted the four saints in the lower part
Wooden choir 1642

5th LEFT - CHAPEL OF S. PHILIP BENIZI
On the right “Funeral of St. Philip Benizi”, on the left “Miracle of bread” and on the pillars “Saints” 1642 by Bernardino Gagliardi (1609/1660)
On the right “Funeral Monument of Francesco Dandini de Sylva” 1918 by Ercole Tadolini

Above the altar “Conversion of St. Paul” on slate 1560 by Federico Zuccari (about 1542/1609)
Vault and sides with “Stories of St. Paul” by Taddeo Zuccari (1529/66) begun in 1558 and completed after his death by his younger brother Federico:
On the left “Blinding of Elymas”
On the right “Healing of a cripple”
In the vault “Shipwreck in Malta”, “Martyrdom of St. Paul” and “Resurrection of Eutichio”
Under-arch “Doctors of the Church”
Three round panels with “St. Peter”, “St. Paul” and “St. John”
On the pillars “Two prophets” and “Two Saints”
“The retrospective classicism of Taddeo Zuccari, who in addition to Raphael also looks to the art of Michelangelo and Sebastiano del Piombo, is supported by genuinely manneristic pulses towards a complex structure and a refined calligraphy, just like in the Stories of St. Paul (...). His formal elaboration, however, tends to a clear and refined narrative style” (Enciclopedia Treccani)
Of the six Frangipane busts, the three on the right “Muzio and his sons Roberto and Lelio” 1630/40 are masterpieces of the great Bolognese Alessandro Algardi (1598/1654)
“Algardi was respected and admired in his time as a major rival of Gian Lorenzo Bernini, and was also later considered the most representative and almost the symbol, for sculpture, of the so-called classicist and traditionalist current of the seventeenth century, which was a current of a taste very representative of that century, full of vital energy, of sincere and genuine interests and motives. So his work is to be considered valid by itself, for the intrinsic dignity and quality, even considering the predominant genius of Bernini. Through the important activities of his vast following, his influence was exercised for a long time and throughout the eighteenth century” (Antonia Nava Cellini - Dizionario Biografico degli Italiani Treccani)
The three busts on the left “Antonino and his sons Curzio and Mario” are by an anonymous sixteenth-century sculptor

1762 designed by Zenobio del Rosso
Above the altar “Our Lady of Sorrows” by Pietro Paolo Naldini (1619/91)
On the sides “Sacrifice of Isaac” and “Finding of Moses” 1762 by Domenico Corvi (1721/1803) from Viterbo
Vault “Presentation in the Temple” by Antonio Bicchierai (1688/1766)

2nd LEFT - CHAPEL OF St. MARY MAGDALENE
On the altar “St. Mary Magdalene” by Giacomo Triga (1674/1746), pupil of Benedetto Luti
On the right “Blessed Gioacchino Piccolomini” by Giuseppe Tommasi (1610/72) from Pesaro
Vault painted about 1550 by Francesco di Michelangelo del Colle, who completed the work begun by the Flemish Lorenzo da Rotterdam

On the altar “Madonna and the Seven Holy Founders of the Servites” by Agostino Masucci (1691/1758)
On the right “Jesus fallen on Golgotha”, on the left “Transportation to the tomb” and lunette with “Crucifix, Our Lady and St. John” by Pietro Paolo Naldini (1619/91)

CHAPEL BEFORE THE COUNTER FAÇADE
1954 designed by Arnaldo Brandizzi

SACRISTY
1661 walnut wood furniture of the late seventeenth century
Vault “Glory of S. Marcellus” and on the sides “Medallions with Cardinal Virtues” 1690 by the Florentine G.B. Ciocchi
On the back wall “Crucifix” maybe by Antoon Van Dyck (1599/1641)
In a niche “Christian Sarcophagus with Adoration of the Magi and Original Sin” of the fourth century AD

BAPTISTERY
Discovered in 1912. It is among the few remaining in Rome for the ritual with full immersion
The tank is perhaps of the eighth century AD with some remains of the fifth century AD

St. MALO

S. MACUTO
Originally built in the twelfth century
It belonged at first to the Dominicans and then, from 1539, to the Bergamo Congregation of Rome
They changed the name of the church in Sts. Bartholomew and Alexander, and had it rebuilt in the years 1577/85 by Francesco Capriani aka Francesco da Volterra (1535/94)
In 1726 the church passed to the Jesuits who gave it the name of S. Macuto (St. Malo)
It is the only church in Italy dedicated to the holy Breton bishop of the seventh century

FAÇADE
Completed in 1560 by Giovanni Alberto de Galvani from Ferrara, even if the upper part is by Francesco da Volterra excluding the projecting pediment added later

ALTAR ON THE RIGHT
“Glory of St. Joseph”

MAIN ALTAR
“Mary appearing to St. Malo”

ALTAR ON THE LEFT
“Sacred Heart adored by Sts. John of Nepomuk and Luigi Gonzaga”
All three paintings by Michelangelo Cerruti (1663/1748), painter who opposed the corporate hegemony exercised in Rome by the Academy of St. Luke in the first half of the eighteenth century