Monday, December 16, 2019

CHURCH OF THE HOLY SPIRIT IN THE SAXON DISTRICT

S. SPIRITO IN SASSIA
Via dei Penitenzieri 12/Via Borgo S. Spirito

Church inside the SCHOLA SAXONUM, the complex built in the year 727 for Ina king of the Saxons in order to assist his compatriots pilgrims, the English of Wessex, the south west of England

Rebuilt in 1198 when it took the name of S. Spirito (Holy Spirit) for Innocent III Conti di Segni (1198/1216)

It was rebuilt again in the years 1471/75 for the Jubilee of 1475 when it was united to the nearby hospital of S. Spirito at the behest of Pope Sixtus IV Della Rovere (1471/84)

After the destruction for the sack of Rome in 1527, new reconstruction and FAÇADE 1538/45 by Antonio Cordini aka Antonio da Sangallo il Giovane (1483/1546) for Pope Paul III (1534/49)

“Sangallo was able to operate an organic synthesis between the fifteenth-century architectural culture and the changing needs for urban quality and representational appearance typical of his century and beyond. It is also remarkable this sort of timelessness that hovers in the entire building and that often makes one underestimate the architectural choices and confuses the visitor accustomed to recognize the same architectural choices in many churches of the second half of the sixteenth century” (Sivigliano Alloisi)

COAT OF ARMS, STAIRCASE AND PLASTERING OF THE FAÇADE
1588/90 by Ottaviano Nonni aka Ottaviano Mascherino (1524/1606) for Sixtus V Peretti (1585/90)

BELL TOWER
1471 maybe by Baccio Pontelli (about 1450/92). It is unique among the Romans bell towers for its robustness that makes it look like a watchtower for the Vatican citadel

“The decoration of S. Spirito in Sassia represents a significant evolution in the field of contemporary visual arts, especially the works of Jacopo Zucchi showing an attempt to give to the ideologies of the counterreformation a strong structure. The evolution of the sixteenth-century artistic tools here has three phases: in the time of Paul III there is still the Renaissance language assigned to the school of Perin del Vaga. A second phase (1544/77) in which Livio Agresti operates with the interventions of Pompeo Cesura and Giuseppe Valeriano; a third and more important phase, with Jacopo Zucchi eventually replaced by Cesare Nebbia” (Sivigliano Alloisi)

CEILING
Wooden lacunar ceiling of 1547, restored in the mid-1700s and in 1856

COUNTER FAÇADE
“Coming of the Holy Spirit” about 1930 by Antonino Calcagnadoro (1876/1935)
“Angels”, “St. Peter”, “St. Paul” and “Sibyls” about 1583 by Cesare Conti (about 1550/1622)
On the left “Visitation” 1545, the first Roman work of Marco Pino aka Marco da Siena (about 1525/87)
On the right “Conversion of St. Paul” begun in 1545 by Francesco de' Rossi aka Francesco Salviati (1510/63) and finished by his pupil Pedro de Rubiales

1st RIGHT - CHAPEL OF PENTECOST
Above the altar “Pentecost” 1588, on the right “Prophet Joel”, on the left “St. John the Baptist”, frescoes on the walls and vault by Jacopo Zucchi (about 1542/96)

“The Pentecost theme that in the apse he had painted a few years before had exploded in a clear willingness to involve the whole ecclesial community encompassing the whole church with the miracle action, here is more intimate and exclusive. It becomes an event that qualifies as an example and witness of grace, understood as reward and encouragement that God offers to those who have done well in life. The means employed by Zucchi to express these concepts are very different from those used in the complex machinery of the apse. The medium is no longer the allure of perspective but the emotion of light, whose presence is capable of upsetting and suggest sensations, even to the point to reduce the viewer in a state of feverish excitement” (Sivigliano Alloisi)

2nd RIGHT - CHAPEL OF THE ASSUMPTION
Above the altar “Assumption” 1576 maybe by Livio Agresti (about 1508/79) but more likely by his pupil Litardo Piccioli
On the right “Circumcision” by Paris Nogari (about 1536/1601) and on the left “Nativity of the Virgin Mary” by G.B. Lombardelli (about 1538/92)
Decorations in the basin “Life of the Virgin Mary” by Livio Agresti

ORGAN WITH BALCONY
Fixed here in 1547, according to Arnaldo Bruschi, by Andrea Palladio (1508/80)
Paintings by artists under the organ by artists of the school of Livio Agresti

3rd RIGHT - CHAPEL OF THE HOLY TRINITY AND S. FILIPPO NERI
Devotional image “Merciful Jesus” 1994 by the Polish painter Piotr Moskal, which has replaced the lost “Trinity” by Livio Agresti
On the sides “Healing of the blind man and the paralytic” by Livio Agresti (about 1508/79)

4th RIGHT - TRANSFIGURATION CHAPEL
Above the altar “Ascension” 1570, vault “Pentecost”, on the right “St. Augustine”, on the left “St. Paul” by Giuseppe Valeriano (1542/96)

APSE
In the upper part “God the Father”, in the basin “Jesus between St. Peter and St. John the Baptist”, in the lower part “Pentecost”, on the sides “Stories of Sts. Peter and Paul” 1582/83 by Jacopo Zucchi (about 1542/96) with his brother Francesco Zucchi (about 1562/1622) with iconographic program designed by father Egnazio Danti (1536/86), the mastermind of the phantasmagoric Gallery of the Geographical Maps in the Vatican Museums

“The use of a perspective structure open on a fictitious space that simultaneously engages, with an effect of redundancy, on a real space is a bold artistic idea that is unparalleled in its time. Although similar expedients, but on a smaller scale, had already been tested by artists in the High Renaissance (Mantegna, Correggio), it is surprising to see this sudden revival of thematic perspective that Mannerism had made obsolete and especially their application on such a scale. In fact, after the difficult years of religious crisis, the Catholic Church feels now strong enough to regain the initiative and felt the inadequacy of the artistic language tools devised by Mannerism” (Sivigliano Alloisi)

MAIN ALTAR
Relics of Sts. Tryphon, Respicius, Nymph, Agapitus and Severa
On the floor in front of the altar “Commemorative plaque of the physician Giovanni Maria Lancisi” d. 1720

5th LEFT - CHAPEL OF St. JOHN THE EVANGELIST AND OF THE VIRGIN MARY
Above the altar “St. John the Evangelist” 1834 by Antonio Giorgini
“Stories of the Old Testament” and on the right “Martyrdom of St. John the Evangelist” attributed by Vasari to Marcello Venusti, but in reality by artists of the school of Perin del Vaga

4th LEFT - CHAPEL OF THE HOLY CROSS OR GONZAGA
Above the altar “Deposition” and oil paintings on the wall “Saints and stories of the Old Testament”, on the sides “Adoration of the Shepherds” and “Resurrection” 1554/57 the first major works of Livio Agresti (about 1508/79)

“This chapel opened a new chapter in the history of Roman Mannerism anticipating that devout and pious feeling that would characterize the second half of the century” (Sivigliano Alloisi)

3rd LEFT - CHAPEL OF THE CRUCIFIX
On the altar “Crucifix” of the sixteenth century
Frescoes “Stories of the Passion of Christ” maybe by Livio Agresti or Pedro de Rubiales

On the right “Tomb of Antonio Foderato” 1549 containing small relief with “Pietà” by Jacopo Del Duca (about 1520/1604), maybe from a design by Michelangelo Buonarroti (1475/1564) with a very controversial subject at the time, for which Michelangelo was described as an inventor of garbage by an anonymous author of a contemporary document

2nd LEFT - CHAPEL OF St. AUGUSTINE
Above the altar “Coronation of the Virgin Mary” (moved here from the first chapel on the left) about 1595 by Cesare Nebbia (1536/1614)
Frescoes in the basin with “Stories of St. Augustine”, on the sides “St. Augustine” and “St. Monica” begun by Pompeo Cesura (?/1571) and maybe finished by his pupils

1st LEFT - BAPTISTERY
Statue of “St. Aloysius Gonzaga and a young man” by Ignazio Jacometti (1819/83)
Frescoes “Saints” by Cesare Nebbia and pupils

SACRISTY
Above the altar “St. Helena, relics of the Passion of Christ, the risen Christ and saints” by Jacopo Zucchi (about 1542/96)

St. Helena in this painting has maybe the appearance of Clelia Farnese, daughter of Cardinal Alessandro Farnese and lover of Cardinal Ferdinando de' Medici
Vault and walls with “Stories of the Schola Saxonum with popes and allegorical figures” 1648/50 masterpiece by Guidobaldo Abbatini (1600/56) the painter favorited as collaborator by Gian Lorenzo Bernini

St. SIXTUS THE OLD

S. SISTO VECCHIO
Piazzale Numa Pompilio 8

Built on the Titulus Crescentinae, founded by St. Anastasius I (399/401)

The dedication to the pope and martyr St. Sixtus II (257/258) appears for the first time in a document of the year 595, and according to the hagiographic and epigraphic tradition his relics are preserved here

It was rebuilt at the time of Innocent III Conti di Segni (1198/1216) and donated in 1219 to St. Dominic who founded here his first monastery for cloistered nuns in perfect seclusion
The monastery was built in 1222

Various restorations, the last one in the years 1725/27 by Filippo Raguzzini (1680/1771)

BELL TOWER of the beginning of the thirteenth century

On the left side “Portal in marble” 1478

INTERIOR
Restored by Filippo Raguzzini

APSE
Frescoes “Sts. Sixtus and Lawrence” and “Holy Trinity” of the sixteenth century

LEFT SIDE OF THE PRESBYTERY
Important cycle of frescoes of the thirteenth or fourteenth century with “Scenes from the New Testament and the Apocrypha, histories of St. Catherine, Pentecost”

More fourteenth-century frescoes in a small room to the right of the chancel and on the walls of a staircase to the right of the apse

CLOISTER
Thirty-two lunettes with “Stories of St. Dominic” 1725/28 by Andrea Casali (1705/84) from Lucca, a pupil of Sebastiano Conca and Francesco Trevisani

“Contemporaries of Andrea Casali appreciated his ability to animate the scenes with several characters and dramatic effects combined with the grace of 'arcadism', all lessons, these, learned from Conca and Trevisani (...). The same factors determined also his success in England, where he took themes and designs intended to create a fascinating and bright world, preferring the light tones and multiplying the female figures, while the repetition of motifs and the speed of execution altered his technique. The theatrical and superficial aspect of this conventional antiquity would ultimately emerge. Nevertheless, Casali was long regarded as a talented artist and his sociability contributed to his success” (Olivier Michel - Dizionario Biografico degli Italiani Treccani)
In the garden behind the church is the SEMENZAIO (seedbed), modern version of the native plants nursery established here by Pius IX Mastai-Ferretti (1846/78)

St. SYLVESTER AT THE HEAD

S. SILVESTRO IN CAPITE
Piazza di S. Silvestro 17a

Built about 761 as Ss. Silvestro e Stefano (Sts. Sylvester and Stephen) under Pope Stephen II (752/757) on the ruins TEMPLE OF THE SUN by Aurelian (270/275) from which many of the archaeological fragments preserved in the cloister probably come from

Known as inter duos hortos (in between two gardens) because it was surrounded by gardens or in capite (at the head) because there is a relic of the head of St. John the Baptist

Tufa blocks taken from the Servian Walls were used for the foundations of the church

Fully restored in the years 1198/1216

BELL TOWER
1216 with on top “Bronze rooster” of the twelfth century, the only one in Rome still in the original place
Rebuilt in the years 1595/1601 with a design by Francesco Capriani aka Francesco da Volterra (1535/94) continued by Carlo Maderno (1556/1629)
1680/96 interior decoration by Carlo Rainaldi (1611/91), Mattia De Rossi (1637/95) and Domenico De Rossi (1659/1703)

FAÇADE
1703 by Domenico De Rossi

Statues on the façade from left to right:
“St. Sylvester” by Lorenzo Ottoni (1648/1736)
“St. Stephen” by Michel Maille aka Michele Maglia (active Rome in the second half of the seventeenth century)
“St. Francis” by Vincenzo Felice (about 1657/1715)
“St. Clare” by Giuseppe Mazzuoli (1644/1725)

The monks who used to officiate this church, first Greeks and later Benedictines were the owners of the Column of Marcus Aurelius as mentioned by an inscription 1119 in the COURTYARD

From 1285 to 1876 it was the seat of the Poor Clares

Since about 1886 it is officiated by the English Pallottine Fathers and it is the English National Catholic Church

PORTAL with frame of the thirteenth century

INTERIOR

VAULT
Splendid “Assumption in glory with saints” 1680 by Giacinto Brandi (1621/91) who was inspired by the Baciccio
At the corners “Sibyls” design by Mattia De Rossi (1637/95)
Above the entrance “Choir with Organ” 1680

1st RIGHT - CHAPEL OF Sts. ANTHONY OF PADUA AND STEPHEN
Above the altar “Madonna and Child with Sts. Anthony of Padua and Stephen” 1695 and paintings with “Stories of Sts. Anthony of Padua and Stephen” by Giuseppe Chiari (1654/1727), a pupil of Niccolò Berrettoni who was, in turn, a pupil of Carlo Maratta

2nd RIGHT - CHAPEL OF St. FRANCIS
Above the altar “St. Francis receiving the stigmata” by Orazio Lomi aka Orazio Gentileschi (1563/1639) from Pisa
Walls and vault “Stories of St. Francis” by Luigi Garzi (1638/1721)

3rd RIGHT - CHAPEL OF THE HOLY SPIRIT
Above the altar “Our Lady of Pentecost” and rest of the decoration by Giuseppe Ghezzi (1634/1721)

RIGHT TRANSEPT
Above the altar “Madonna and Child with saints” by Baccio Ciarpi (1574/1654)
In the vault “Stories of St. Sylvester” 1690 by Ludovico Gimignani (1643/97) the eldest son of Giacinto Gimignani (1606/81) who was his first teacher. He trivially died aged 54 for an enema too hot

“The activity of Ludovico, from the outset, closely interwove with that of Bernini, finding in Giulio Rospigliosi, later Pope Clement IX (1667/69) his main patron. Since his early works Bernini's teaching was decisive for him, as well as characteristics derived from his father's style. Equally important for his artistic development was the journey in 1668 to Venice, Lombardy and Modena, together with Gaulli on the recommendation of Bernini and with a scholarship of Clement IX. The works by Veronese were extremely important for his future artistic development. (...) The decoration of S. Silvestro in Capite is a summary of the different cultural currents of those years; with its calmer exhibition tones it offers the best example of great sacred decoration in Rome at the end of the century” (Ursula Verena Fischer Pace)

DOME
1595 frescos “Angels, Evangelists and God the Father” about 1604 by Cristoforo Roncalli aka Pomarancio (1552/1626) and assistants

MAIN CHAPEL
Marble altar with “Arch and angels holding the Edessena image” 1518 by Tuscan sculptors perhaps even by Michelangelo Buonarroti (1475/1564) as well
Tabernacle by Carlo Rainaldi (1611/91)

APSE
On the right “Martyrdom of St. Stephen I” and on the left “Messengers of Constantine call St. Sylvester” 1610 maybe by Orazio Borgianni (1578/1616)
In the basin “Baptism of Constantine” by Ludovico Gimignani

LEFT TRANSEPT
Above the altar “Madonna and Child with saints” by Terenzio Terenzi da Urbino (active from about 1578/d. 1620)

3rd LEFT - CHAPEL OF THE IMMACULATE
Above the altar “Immaculate Conception” 1696 and frescoes on the ceiling by Ludovico Gimignani

2nd LEFT - CHAPEL OF St. JOSEPH
Above the altar “Pope S. Marcellus has the vision of the Holy Family”, paintings on the sides with “Stories of St. Joseph” and vault with “Glory of St. Joseph” 1695 by Ludovico Gimignani

1st LEFT - CHAPEL OF THE PASSION OF CHRIST
Above the altar “Crucifixion” 1695, on the left “Flagellation”, on the right “Way to Calvary” and vault with “Triumph of the Cross” by the remarkable Istrian painter Francesco Trevisani (1656/1746) who had with these works his first major and well-deserved success in Rome

“Under the inventive aspect, marginal contributions from Caravaggio, whom he certainly admired, can be highlighted. More direct influences, especially for the Triumph of the Cross, from Lanfranco, also for his use of colors, and finally a vivifying memory of compositional solutions from Veronese. But the seventeenth-century Roman experiences had to be decisive for a distillation of his primitive language towards a really unusual color intensity, unparalleled among his fellow Roman painters, and towards a compositional clarity and brightness, which did not exclude the calibrated movement of scenes such as the Flagellation (...) or the controlled tumult of the Ascent to Calvary. In this scene the influence of Maratta was prevalent and positive, but a major factor was constituted, in our view, also by a familiarity with the paintings of the Roman Bamboccianti. Indeed, the animated excitement of the scene mentioned above looks like the implementation on a sacred level of a seventeenth-century genre scene, represented with the detailed meticulousness typical of the artists of Northern Europe, but expressed with the luminosity and the palette of a Venetian painter, purified from its seventeenth century dross” (Giancarlo Sestieri)

SACRISTY
Frescoes:
“Crucifixion” of the thirteenth century
“Virgin Mary of the Milk” of the fifteenth century
“Flagellation” fourteenth of fifteenth century from the former monastery

RELIQUARY
Fourteenth century, with skull believed to be the head of St. John the Baptist
It was stolen in 1969 but returned by the thief the next day. Up to the early nineteenth century also the head of St. Sylvester was kept in the church

St. SYLVESTER ON QUIRINAL HILL

S. SILVESTRO AL QUIRINALE
Via XXIV Maggio 10

Mentioned for the first time by the sources in 1030
Built over the TEMPLE OF SEMO SANCUS DIUS FIDIUS on the spur of the Quirinal Hill known as Mucialis Hill or Sanqualis Hill, from the name of the temple and of the nearby gate of the Servian Walls

Known also as S. Silvestro in Caballo (St. Sylvester at the Horse) and later as S. Silvestro in Arcioni from the Arcioni family who used to live in this area

Rebuilt in the years 1524/27 for Clement VII Medici (1523/34)

FAÇADE
1873/77 Andrea Busiri Vici (1818/1911) who destroyed the original façade and the first two chapels, following the lowering of 9 m (30 feet) of Via del Quirinale

CEILING
Coffered wooden ceiling of the second half of the sixteenth century

COUNTER FAÇADE
“Tomb of Cardinal Federico Cornaro” 1591 maybe by G.B Della Porta (1542/1602)

1st CHAPEL ON THE LEFT
Remarkable FLOOR in tiles 1525/27 by Luca Della Robbia (about 1400/82). They are just like the ones used by Raphael for the Vatican Loggia
Lower frieze painted with “Monochrome putti” and frescoes on the side walls “Stories of Mary Magdalene” and “Stories of St. Catherine of Siena” by Polidoro Caldara aka Polidoro da Caravaggio (about 1495/1543) and Maturino da Firenze (?/1528)
They are the first landscapes ever in Roman Renaissance painting

“Outwardly they are blunt as far as colors, monochrome, almost like the façade of Palazzo Milesi, and have, like the actual artist's drawings, soft traits with a pictorial effect. But their real importance is the fact that they successful bring together huge landscaped grounds and ancient style buildings. It is amazing to find in a period so remote a representation of heroic landscapes that anticipates the substance of the entire artistic development all the way until Gaspard Dughet and Claude Lorrain. Only a contemporary of Raphael, akin to him in spirit, could have succeeded in this great innovation to complement the style rediscovered by history” (Hermann Voss)

Vault “Stories of St. Stephen” by Giuseppe Cesari aka Cavalier d'Arpino (1568/1640)

2nd LEFT - GHISLIERI CHAPEL
Above the altar “Nativity” about 1575 by Marcello Venusti (about 1512/79)
On the right “Circumcision” and on the left “Adoration of the Magi” maybe by Jacopo Zucchi (about 1542/96)
On the vault, on the right “Dream of St. Joseph” and on the left “Massacre of the Innocents” about 1575 maybe by Raffaellino Motta aka Raffaellino da Reggio (1550/78)

1st CHAPEL ON THE RIGHT
Above the altar “Pope Silvester baptizes Constantine” about 1610 by Avanzino Nucci (1552/1629) from the destroyed chapel

2nd RIGHT - CHAPEL OF OUR LADY OF THE CHAIN
Painting on board “Our Lady of the Chain” of the thirteenth century by the Roman school inserted in “St. Pius V Ghislieri (1566/72) and the cardinal nephew Alessandrino in adoration of the Virgin Mary” about 1646 by Giacinto Gimignani (1606/81)
Frescoes on the walls, ceiling and under-arches by Cesare Nebbia (1536/1614)

PRESBYTERY
In the vault wonderful frescoes “Angels with palm trees and coats of arms” 1600/01 by the brothers Giovanni Alberti (1558/1601) and Cherubino Alberti (1553/1615) and continued in the second vault in 1602 by Matteo Zaccolini and Giuseppe Agellio

It is one of the first examples of perspective painting on the vaults of any church

“The interest in the architectural-decorative element is significantly strong in the Alberti family: the father Alberto and his three sons Giovanni, Cherubino and Alessandro, as well as their cousin Durante. All that had been done in illusionistic painting in central Italy (quadrature) at the level of isolated attempts, is summed up by their monumentality and elevated to the effect that prepares the way for the great perspective painters of the seventeenth century, from Pietro da Cortona to Andrea Pozzo. Already in Raphael and his school there had been some attempts to illusionistic effects, as the recurrent and beloved painted views in between columns. (...) That however was a very simple system based on a strictly architectural concept. A different story with the Albertis, where (...) each architectural idea push into each other, putti with garlands and coats of arms float in the entire space, richly articulated allegorical figures are placed on the balustrades - in short, the architectural scheme is enlivened in a larger than life way from a decorative point of view and it is dissolved in the pictorial element” (Hermann Voss)

On the left “St. Cajetan receives milk from the Virgin Mary” by Lazzaro Baldi (about 1624/1703)
On the right “Dispute of Jesus” by the Theatin father Biagio Betti

RIGHT TRANSEPT
Above the altar “St. Cajetan Thiene and St. Andrew Avellino” 1630 by Antonio Alberti detto il Barbalonga (1600/49), the best pupil of Domenichino

AT THE END OF THE LEFT TRANSEPT - BANDINI CHAPEL
Splendid and sumptuous chapel built in the years 1580/85 by the Bolognese Ottaviano Nonni aka Ottaviano Mascherino (1524/1606)

“Considered for a long time a minor artist (Golzio, 1929/30), more recent studies have highlighted his figure as emblematic in the history of Roman art at the end of the sixteenth century, his importance becoming apparent both from the analysis of his personal life and from his works - even if often of controversial attribution - well representing the moment of transition from late Mannerism to Baroque. (...) He owed much of his fame to the favor granted to him by the fellow Bolognese Gregory XIII Boncompagni (1572/85). He came to Rome probably in 1574 along with other artists and illustrious Bolognese called by the pope to work in the Vatican and to fill key posts in the administration and in the papal court. (...) In Rome he had brought his wife Domenica de Pinis, from Siena, (...) with whom it seems he lived in the Borgo neighborhood in a house on Via del 'Mascherino'“ (Isabella Salvagni - Dizionario Biografico degli Italiani Treccani)

Beautiful “Assumption” 1585 on slate by Scipione Pulzone (about 1550/98)

In the spandrels of the dome “Round panels with biblical scenes”:

“David dancing before the ark of the covenant”, “Judith with the Head of Holofernes”, “Esther before Ahasuerus”, “Solomon and Bathsheba” in 1628 by Domenico Zampieri aka Domenichino (1581/1641)
In the corner niches statues in stucco “Mary Magdalene” and “St. John” 1628 two of the first works in Rome by Alessandro Algardi (1598/1654) and “St. Joseph” and “St. Martha” maybe by Francesco Mochi (1580/1654)

On the left “Sepulchral monument of Cardinal Ottavio Bandini” by Giuliano Finelli (1602/53)

The left transept leads to a SMALL TERRACE, with a cemetery chapel, with pretty stuccos on the façade

Around the mid-sixteenth century here gathered some protagonists of the Roman cultural scene in a sort of religious Upper Room, where a possible internal reform of the church was usually discussed
The organizer was the brother Lancellotto Politi da Siena and among the participants were Michelangelo Buonarroti (1475/1564) and Vittoria Colonna

St. SATURNINUS

S. SATURNINO
Via Avigliana 3/Via Topino - Quartiere Trieste

1935 Clemente Busiri Vici (1887/1965)
Original and austere FAÇADE with a large apse

Under the MAIN ALTAR relics of St. Saturninus moved here in 1987 from the churches of Sts. John and Paul (body parts) and St. Peter in Chains (skullcap)

St. Saturninus was from Carthage and, according to tradition, was beheaded on Via Nomentana in the year 304 AD

Sunday, December 15, 2019

St. SAVIOUR IN WAVE

S. SALVATORE IN ONDA
Via dei Pettinari 51

Mentioned for the first time by the sources in 1127
It was originally dedicated to S. Salvatore and S. Cesareo (St. Saviour and St. Cesareus)
The official name is Chiesa della Trasfigurazione di Nostro Signore Gesù Cristo (Church of the Transfiguration of Our Lord Jesus Christ)
Maybe it was called S. Salvatore in Onda for the frequent floods of the nearby river or for a now lost old painting which used to be visible in the church with “Saviour walking on water”

In 1445 it was given to the Franciscans who remained here for about 400 years

In the adjacent CONVENT Francesco Della Rovere lived before he became Pope Sixtus IV (1471/84) and also Felice Peretti before becoming Pope Sixtus V (1585/90)

In 1684 it was restored and reduced in size

Restored again in the years 1725/29 for Benedict XIII Orsini (1724/30) and in 1845 for St. Vincent Pallotti (1795/1850) to whom the church had been entrusted as the seat of the Congregazione dell'Apostolato Cattolico (Congregation of the Catholic Apostolate) founded by him in 1835

“After the tornado of the French Revolution and Napoleon, bishops, priests, clergy, scholars, acted generously in defense of the faith. And Vincent Pallotti saw and appreciated that. But he said that it was not enough: the real problem was not to protect the fence of the believers. No, at that time one had to conquer other believers still, everywhere, knocking down fences. He added: this is the task of all, because every Christian has the duty to keep the faith and to spread it where there is no more faith or not yet. This was a program of attack. Vincenzo respected the apostolic mandate peculiar to the Pope, bishops, clergy, but then spoke of 'Catholic apostolate' as a duty and responsibility for every Christian, because 'God has commanded everyone to help getting eternal salvation for his neighbor' (...) Pius XI proclaimed Vincent 'real worker of the missions', 'provident and valuable collaborator and forerunner of the Azione Cattolica (Catholic Action)'. Pope John XXIII proclaimed him a saint in 1963” (Domenico Agasso - Famiglia Cristiana - www.santiebeati.it)

It is currently officiated by the Pallottines Missionaries

FAÇADE 1845

INTERIOR
1877/78 Luca Carimini (1830/90) who restored the church, revealing the “Twelve ancient columns”, and raised the level of the floor

CEILING 1876

CLERESTORY
Entablature also in the apse with faux gold mosaic representing on the right “Symbols of the Old Testament” and on the left “Tools of martyrdom and symbols of the Evangelists” maybe by Alessandro Palombi (active late nineteenth/early twentieth century)

Alternating in between the windows “Characters of the Old Testament” by Filippo Prosperi (1831/1913) a pupil of Cesare Mariani

IN THE RIGHT NAVE - CHAPEL OF THE VIRGO POTENS
1863 Luca Carimini
On the altar “Virgo Potens” (Powerful Virgin Mary) of the end of the eighteenth century. It belonged to the Blessed Elisabetta Sanna who is buried here

Canvases “Immaculate Conception”, “St. Francis or Bonaventure”, “St. Anthony of Padua”, “Annunciation”, “Judith and Holofernes” and “Esther and Ahasuerus” 1875/76 by ​​Cesare Mariani (1826/1901)

WALL AT THE END OF THE RIGHT NAVE - ALTAR OF Sts. JOSEPH, COSMAS AND DAMIAN
“Apparition of St. Joseph and Christ Child to Sts. Cosmas and Damian” by Massimiliano Seitz

MAIN ALTAR
1950 by Luigi Fracassini with, inside, the body of St. Vincent Pallotti
“Virgin Mary and Child” 1878 by Cesare Mariani

APSE
In the apsidal basin “Transfiguration” by Filippo Prosperi
Wall of the apse “Sts. Peter, Paul, John of Nepomuk and Filippo Neri” by Cesare Mariani

WALL AT THE END OF THE LEFT NAVE - ALTAR OF St. ALEXIS
Marble relief “Apparition of the Virgin Mary to Sts. Alexis and Euphemian” late 1700s by an anonymous eighteenth-century artist

CONVENT OF THE PALLOTTINES
Museum on the first floor and rooms where St. Vincent Pallotti lived

ARCHAEOLOGICAL EXPLORATIONS
Under the apse there is the CRYPT with three small naves
In the level further below there are ruins of ancient Roman storage rooms and shops of the second century AD. They are accessible from the crypt through a trap door

St. SAVIOUR NEAR THE LAURELS

S. SALVATORE IN LAURO
Piazza S. Salvatore in Lauro 15

Mentioned for the first time by the sources in 1177
Rebuilt in 1449
It was rebuilt in 1594 by Ottaviano Nonni aka Ottaviano Mascherino (1524/1606) after a fire that had destroyed it in 1591
It is his architectural masterpiece

“The space of the single nave is dramatically shaped by a rhythm of paired columns detached from the wall, fastened at the top by protruding ribs, a solution of exceptional force (...). It is as if the drum with double columns of the dome of St. Peter's Basilica would be led in an interior space and would generate tension between the plastic frame and the space as well as a chiaroscuro vibration so intense to give a clear and authoritative alternative both to the interiors by Andrea Palladio in Venice, and to the Church of the Gesù. It was an alternative that would be echoed only in the Trinità dei Pellegrini church by Paolo Maggi, who introduced the motif of the free-standing columns in the pillars supporting the dome with a marked dramatic effect” (Paolo Portoghesi)

Completed only in the years 1727/34 by Ludovico Rusconi Sassi (1678/1736)

FAÇADE
1857/62 late purist architecture by Camillo Guglielmetti (pupil of Luigi Poletti) with bas-relief “Transport of the Holy House of Nazareth” by Rinaldo Rinaldi (1793/1873)

The square was enlarged in 1939 and the proportions of the façade in relation to the square itself were inevitably altered

The name probably derives from a forest of laurels in the Portico of Europe that maybe was once in this area

It is the National Church of the Piceni and of the Marche region

INTERIOR
Marble floor of the nineteenth century

COUNTER FAÇADE
On the right “Monument of Cardinal Gaspare Bernardo Pianetti” by Luigi Poletti (1792/1869) sculpted by Ignazio Jacometti (1819/83)
On the left “Monument of Cardinal Antonio Matteucci” d. 1868 by Luigi Fontana (1827/1908)

1st RIGHT - CHAPEL OF THE PIETÀ
Designed by Francesco Carlo Bizzaccheri (1655/1721)
Above the altar “Christ dead in the arms of the Virgin Mary” 1628/30 by Giuseppe Ghezzi (1634/1721) who also painted “St. Nicholas of Tolentino” and “St. Anthony of Padua” on the sides
Giuseppe Ghezzi was born in Ascoli Piceno and was buried in this church in which, from 1687 onwards, he was responsible for the exhibition of paintings held in the cloister every December 10, on the anniversary of the translation of the Holy House of Loreto
This art exhibition was the most important one of the whole seventeenth century in Rome

“The Pietà was entirely designed over diagonal lines, the grey background tone contrasting with the dazzling clarity of Christ's body in the foreground which seems almost to slip towards the viewer. The two saints on the sides are considered 'among the most beautiful and stirring works in Roman Baroque painting at the end of the century' (Martinelli)” (Rossella Faraglia - Dizionario Biografico degli Italiani Treccani)

In the upper part there are sculptures of “Angels” by Camillo Rusconi (1658/1728)

2nd RIGHT - CHAPEL OF St. CHARLES
Above the altar “Virgin Mary appears to St. Charles Borromeo” by Alessandro Turchi aka l'Orbetto (1578/1649)
On the RIGHT SIDE OF THE CHURCH there is a modern statue, considered very kitsch by many, with “Jesus and St. Padre Pio” of whom there are a few relics on the left side of the church

3rd RIGHT - CHAPEL OF THE NATIVITY
Above the altar “Nativity of Jesus” about 1625, early work and first public commission of Pietro Berrettini aka Pietro da Cortona (1597/1669)

“This first group of paintings already clearly states the beginning of a new expression, differing substantially, regardless of any qualitative consideration, from contemporary artistic manifestations. In this group of paintings one notices first of all the conscious intention to exclude from the scene and from the characters any realistic hint and any relationship with the sentimental individuality of the viewer. Without further indulging in the visual illusion of the details, Pietro da Cortona diffuses light, impartially, to the entire surface of the painting, creating that atmospheric likelihood that anticipates the Neo-Venetian style of paintings of the following decades” (Giuliano Briganti - Dizionario Biografico degli Italiani Treccani)

ALTAR OF St. EMYGDIUS
“St. Emygdius between St. Nicholas of Tolentino and St. James of the Marca” 1863 by Pietro Gagliardi (1809/90)
On the right “Tomb of Cardinal Nicola Grimaldi” about 1846 by Filippo Gnaccarini (1804/75)
On the left “Monument of Canon Gaspare Fatati” about 1852 and “Monument of Cardinal Raniero Simonetti” 1751 by Girolamo Theodoli (1677/1766) sculpted by Carlo Monaldi (about 1690/1760)

MAIN ALTAR
1792 Antonio Asprucci (1723/1808) who maybe replaced an altar by Andrea Palladio
On the altar “Glory of Angels” in stucco by Vincenzo Pacetti (1746/1820) surrounding a seventeenth-century copy of the Madonna of Loreto
“Angels” on the pediment 1721 by Pietro Paolo Campi (active 1702/40)

SPANDRELS OF THE DOME
“David, Moses, Ezekiel and Isaiah” 1862 by Luigi Fontana (1827/1908)

ALTAR OF THE CROSS OF SIROLO
Copy the wooden Crucifix venerated in Sirolo (Ancona) 1713 by Francesco Bellucci

ABOVE THE DOORWAY TO THE SACRISTY
“Tomb of Cardinal Prospero Marefoschi” 1751 by Girolamo Theodoli (1677/1766) sculpted by Carlo Monaldi (about 1690/1760)

4th LEFT - CHAPEL OF St. LUTGARD
Above the altar “S. Lutgard exchanges her heart with that of the Redeemer” and on the sides “Stories from the Life of St. Lutgard” 1679 by Antonio Mascherotti

2nd LEFT - CHAPEL OF St. JOSEPH
Decorated in 1773
Above the altar “Sts. Joseph, Joachim and Anna” 1731 by Pier Leone Ghezzi (1674/1755) who was buried in this church as his father Giuseppe Ghezzi

1st LEFT - CHAPEL OF St. PETER IN CHAINS
Above the altar “Liberation of St. Peter” 1624 by Antiveduto Grammatica (about 1572/1626)
On the sides “Liberation of St. Peter” and “St. Peter Baptizing the Centurion” 1731 by Domenico Corvi (1721/1803) from Viterbo

CONVENT or PALACE OF THE PICENI
Beautiful Renaissance cloister of the end of the fifteenth century; the second order was added in the sixteenth century

FOUNTAIN OF THE PICENI and TWO PORTALS of the late fifteenth-century

REFECTORY
On the wall “Wedding at Cana” 1550 by Francesco de' Rossi aka Francesco Salviati (1510/63)
On the left “Tomb of Pope Eugene IV Coldumer (1431/47)” 1450/55 by Isaia da Pisa (active 1447/64)
In the middle of the wall “Tomb of Maddalena Orsini” maybe by Giovanni Duknovich aka Giovanni Dalmata (about 1440/1510)
Canvas “St. Emygdius and other saints from the Marche region” by Pier Leone Ghezzi (1674/1755)

St. SAVIOUR IN THE FIELD

S. SALVATORE IN CAMPO
Piazza di S. Salvatore in Campo

Mentioned for the first time by the sources in the first half of the tenth century and known as S. Salvatoris de Domno Campo
The original church was built in a place other than the one of the present church, a little further north, in front of the church of SS. Trinità dei Pellegrini
Demolished in 1638 for the construction of the Palazzo del Monte di Pietà

Rebuilt where it is now, not far from the original church, in the years 1639/40 by Francesco Peparelli (active since about 1626/d. 1641) for Urban VIII Barberini (1623/44) with a FAÇADE clearly inspired by that of the Chiesa del Gesù (Church of Jesus)

“It is interesting, for the architectural culture of the seventeenth century in Rome, the clear intent of Peparelli to blend a longitudinal plan with a central scheme, emphasizing the areas of the two side altars” (Sofia Barchiesi)

It was built on the back area of the TEMPLE OF MARS dating from the year 135 BC the remains of which are still visible in the cellar of the church

Tradition has it that Giuseppe Balsamo, Count of Cagliostro, got married in this church

At the beginning of the eighties it was granted to the Neocatechumenal Centre “Servant of Jave” and now is home to the Eritrean Orthodox Coptic community

ALTAR ON THE RIGHT
“Virgin Mary and Saints” by an anonymous artist of the eighteenth-century

MAIN ALTAR
Seventeenth-century copy of the “Transfiguration” by Raphael

Tuesday, October 1, 2019

St. SAVIOR AT THE BARRELLS

S. SALVATORE ALLE COPPELLE
Piazza delle Coppelle 72b

Mentioned for the first time by the sources in 1195

It is called alle coppelle (at the barrels) from the name of the wooden barrels with a capacity of about 5 liters (1.3 gallons) made in this area until the sixteenth century

From 1300s to 1500s it was also known as S. Salvatore de Pietate

Restored about 1738/43 by Carlo De Dominicis (1696/1758)

“In his first two decades of activity De Dominicis fully adhered to the Rococo style, but in 1743 it seems he underwent a change of inclination because the simple façade 'as a temple' of the small church of S. Salvatore alle Coppelle in its cold classicism is remarkably prophetic of the imminent neoclassical style. It's not to be excluded, on the other hand, the possibility that the appearance of the church was changed in a later but not documented restoration” (John Varriano - Dizionario Biografico degli Italiani Treccani)

Restored again 1858/60 by Giacomo Monaldi (1819/1905) and in 1915 when the iconostasis was added

“The formal façade that we see today was the result of 'corrections' made ​​in the purist style in the general restoration of 1858/60, similar to what was done in those years at S. Maria dell'Umiltà (in both cases misleading art historians). Giacomo Monaldi (...) had built a few years before S. Giovanni della Malva in Trastevere, whose façade has a pattern almost identical to this one” (Federico Antonio Caiola)

BELL TOWER
About 1195, the period of Pope Celestine III Orsini (1191/98). The bell dates back to 1664

On the outside wall of the church there is perhaps the most ancient inscription in vernacular Italian: CHIA DEL S. SALVATORE DELLA PIETÀ ALER DELLE CVPELLE 1195. The font, however, appears modern and some scholars believe, with good arguments that it was made during the eighteenth-century restoration

On the outside wall of the church there is also a “Marble mail box” of 1749

It was used to post news of illness of guests in hotels and inns in Rome. The Confraternity of the Blessed Sacrament and of the Divine Perseverance, which was approved in 1663, had its headquarters here and worked for two centuries precisely to help the sick pilgrims

Romanian National Church of Byzantine Catholic Rite since 1914

INTERIOR
Left wall of the entrance room “Funerary memory of Filippo Boschetti, lawyer of the Roman Rota (the highest appellate tribunal of the Roman Catholic Church)” 1740 maybe by Carlo De Dominicis

RIGHT NAVE
Fresco “Virgin Mary with Jesus on her lap” maybe by the school of Antonio Aquili aka Antoniazzo Romano (about 1435-40/1508), who had his own workshop and house in this area of ​​Rome

TEMPLON (Iconostasis)
Painted in 1915 by Alessandro Pigna (1862/1919)

“The iconostasis, which separates the nave from the chancel area was added after the assignment to the Romanian clergy, around 1915, and painted by Alessandro Pigna who illustrated the canonical subjects with academic expertise, enlivened by hints of Art Nouveau” (Antonio Federico Caiola)

LEFT NAVE - SPINOLA CHAPEL
“Tomb of Cardinal George Spinola, Bishop of Palestrina, D. 1739” 1744 masterpiece by Bernardino Ludovisi (about 1713/49)

St. SAVIOR IN THE MONTI NEIGHBORHOOD

S. SALVATORE AI MONTI
Via Madonna dei Monti 38

Mentioned for the first time by the sources in 1192
It was completely destroyed by fire during the sack of Rome in 1527
Rebuilt in the second half of the sixteenth century
Restored in 1625 and in 1762 by Antonio Asprucci (1723/1808) for Cardinal Odescalchi
Last renovation in 1904 for Pius X Sarto (1903/14)
INTERIOR
In the counter façade “Wooden choir” of 1762
Lunette above the MAIN ALTAR “Saviour between two Neophytes” 1904 by Wolfgango Conti
On the right wall “Tomb of the painter Agostino Masucci (1691/1758)” with a portrait of the painter maybe by his son Lorenzo Masucci (?/1785)

COLLEGE OF THE NEOPHYTES
To the left of the church
1635 Gaspare De Vecchi (active 1628/1643)
The neophytes were Jews or Muslims who had converted to Christianity

St. SABBAS

S. SABA
Piazza S. Saba/Piazza Gian Lorenzo Bernini 20

645, monastery dedicated to St. Sabbas (439/532), head of Eastern monasticism, founded by monks from the monastery of St. Sabbas in Judea, which had been occupied by the Muslims
It was built over ancient Roman structures, maybe the barracks of the IV Coorte dei Vigili (Fourth Cohort of the Firefighters Brigade)

According to tradition, this eventually became the site of the house of St. Silvia, mother of St. Gregory the Great (590/604)
The monks of the monastery, under the auspices of the popes, became promoters of a significant diplomatic activity and became a veritable link between East and West

In the year 768 here was imprisoned the antipope Constantine II. His eyes were gouged out, his tongue cut out, and then he was killed on the orders of Pope Stephen III (768/772)

Second phase of construction of the church in the eighth century

The PRESENT CHURCH was built in the first half of the twelfth century

The MONASTERY was assigned in the thirteenth century to the Monks of Cluny, then to the Regular Canons, to the Cistercians and finally was entrusted by Pope Gregory XIII Boncompagni (1572/85) to the Hungarian German College run by the Jesuits

Restoration in the years 1932/33, after years of decline

The body of St. Sabbas was returned to the hermitage of St. Sabbas in Palestine after the Second Vatican Council

PROTHYRUM
Remodeled in the thirteenth century

PORCH WITH GALLERY AND LOGGIA
1463 for Cardinal Francesco Piccolomini, restored in the late eighteenth century by Pius VI Braschi (1775/99)

Ancient and medieval archaeological remains including:
Ancient “Fluted sarcophagus with dextrarum iunctio
Relief with “Knight with falcon” of the eighth century

PORTAL
Marble frame 1205 by Jacopo di Lorenzo di Cosma (first half of the thirteenth century)
The paintings in the upper part were executed on the occasion of the Jubilee of 1575

FLOOR
1205 Jacopo di Lorenzo di Cosma. It was restored in 1907

14 COLUMNS TAKEN FROM ANCIENT ROMAN BUILDINGS

CIBORIUM, ALTAR AND CHAIR
Rebuilt at the beginning of the twentieth century with ancient pieces

APSE
Frescos “Christ between Sts. Andrew and Sabbas”, below “Mystic Lamb and lambs in lines”, “Virgin Mary and Child with the twelve apostles”, further below “Gregory XIII and saints canonized during the Jubilee of 1575” by anonymous painters of the late sixteenth century who perhaps remade in fresco the decoration that was previously in mosaic

Above the chair “Crucifixion” of the fourteenth century

FOURTH AISLE
On the left frescos “The Legend of St. Nicholas of Bari and the three spinsters”, “Pope enthroned between two saints”, “Virgin Mary between Sts. Andrew and Sabbas” end of 1200s/beginning of 1300s by the Master of St. Sabbas

CORRIDOR IN FRONT OF THE SACRISTY
Fragments of votive panels including “Faces of three monks” of the twelfth century

ARCHAEOLOGICAL EXPLORATIONS
In 1900 the remains of the so-called Oratory of St. Silvia were found under the church, including a small chapel in the north-west corner with remains of frescoes from the first half of the tenth century:

“Three panels with the anagram signing of one Sergius Pictor, another painted inscription with enigmatic meaning and the representation of one Martinus Monachus Magister”
“The perimeter walls of the ancient church are preserved today only to a height of about a meter and a half, having been reused as stylobates of the colonnades of the medieval church. The rest of the building was demolished and obliterated by the new constructions. Certain portions of masonry and a large number of fragments of painted plaster returned to light during the excavations, as they had been used in the foundation fill of the church, over which was laid the cosmatesque floor of the new foundation. The building, according to my reconstruction, starting from the late fourth-early fifth century was affected by seven decorative campaigns, identified on the basis of the mapping and analysis of the stratigraphy of the painted plaster” (Giulia Bordi - Opera · Nomina · Historiae 1-2009 - Journal of the artistic culture of the Scuola Normale Superiore in Pisa)