Monday, October 12, 2020

GLORY VILLA

Via Maresciallo Pilsudski/Via Venezuela/Via Elia Enrico

 Agricultural area of ​​about 25 hectares (62 acres) converted into a public park in the years 1923/24, in eight months, by Raffaele De Vico (1881/1969)

Previously, the area was known as Vigna Glori as it was property of Vincenzo Glori

The park was dedicated to the fallen of World War I under the name PARCO DELLA RIMEMBRANZA (Park of Remembrance) and later rededicated to all the Romans fallen for their country with the installation of the "Big iron cross" on Piazzale di Villa Glori

There were planted about 7000 plants, including about 5500 trees, 110 shrubs and 300 meters of hedge

"A number of avenues, whose names recall the protagonists of the battle of October 23, 1867 between the papal troops and seventy men (Avenue of the Seventies) commanded by the Cairoli brothers, cut through the park and converge in Piazzale del Mandorlo where there is the monument in memory of the sacrifice for Rome made by the Cairoli brothers, a small structure in bricks in which a dry branch of the almond tree under which Enrico Cairoli died is inserted as well as a memorial dedicated to the Italian soldiers killed during peacetime. A small plaque dedicated to the Carabinieri who died in Nasiriyah in 2003 was placed in the ground behind the almond branch" (Web site of the Superintendence of Roman Cultural Heritage - www.sovraintendenzaroma.it)

In 1929 THREE HALLS IN WOOD were built to host a summer camp known as Dispensario Marchiafava (Marchiafava Dispensary) for children of poor health. Now the complex houses a HOUSE OF THE CARITAS ORGANIZATION for the care of people with AIDS

"In 1997, from an idea of the art critic Daniela Fonti, the City of Rome has promoted the establishment of a park of contemporary sculpture with an initiative of permanent exhibition entitled Varcare la Soglia (Crossing the Threshold), which would suggest the possibility of experiencing integration between art and nature, between a place of suffering and a place of recreation and rest" (Web site of the Superintendence of Roman Cultural Heritage - www.sovraintendenzaroma.it)

Parco di Scultura Contemporanea

Park of Contemporary Sculpture

Works of contemporary art created especially for the villa and exhibited here since 1997:

“Meditation” by Maria Dompè (1959)

“Order” by Eliseo Mattiacci (1940)

“Laser-Arch” by Maurizio Mochetti (1940)

“Mediterranean Portal” by Nino Caruso (1928)

“The Monads” by Pino Castagna (1932)

“Installation” by Jannis Kounellis (1936)

“Line” by Nunzio Di Stefano aka Nùnzio (1954)

"A pupil of Toti Scialoja at the Academy of Fine Arts in Rome, he soon investigated the expressive and formal possibilities of matter and its interrelationship with space and light through works, often laden with metaphorical meanings. (...) Until the mid-eighties Nùnzio has made large undulating and irregular surfaces in painted plaster, composed of two or three elements anchored to walls. He later used different materials (wood, sometimes burnt, iron sheets, dripping lead) processed with a more structured and geometric rigor which, interacting with light and the surrounding space, would offer a constantly ambiguous perception, as plastic or pictorial values​​" (Alexandra Andresen - Enciclopedia Treccani)

"Installation" by Mauro Staccioli (1937)

In 2000 two more works were added: "Gate of the Sun" by Giuseppe Uncini (1929/2008) and "Grass-Man " by Paolo Canevari (1963)

The park is unfortunately currently in conditions of neglect for the fault of politicians who run the artistic heritage of Rome

Sunday, October 4, 2020

GIULIA VILLA

 VILLA GIULIA

Piazzale di Villa Giulia

1551/55 Giorgio Vasari (1511/74), Bartolomeo Ammannati (1511/92) e Jacopo Barozzi detto Vignola (1507/73 at the behest of Pope Julius III Ciocchi del Monte (1550/55),

During the nineteenth century the building was used as a warehouse and as a military hospital

In the ATRIUM two frescoes by Taddeo Zuccari (1529/66)

SEMICIRCULAR PORCH painted by Pietro Venale (active 1541/83) with lunettes painted by Prospero Fontana (1512/97) father of Lavinia Fontana

1553 by Giorgio Vasari and Bartolomeo Ammannati, plumbing by Jacopo Barozzi aka Vignola

On the main floor THREE BOARDROOMS painted by Prospero Fontana

ETRUSCAN MUSEUM

It opened in 1888 with five rooms where objects found in Falerii were exhibited

Two modern wings were built in the thirties of the twentieth century

The first 18 of the 35 rooms of the museum are currently closed:

Room 19

"Sarcophagus of the Spouses" about 530 BC from Cerveteri, temporarily placed in this room

Augusto Castellani Collection

Sold to the Italian state in 1919, it consists of more than 6,000 objects of which about 1,000 bronze pieces, with all classes of Greek and Etruscan-Italic ceramics from 700/600 BC until Roman times and Important bronzes, as well as numerous fragmented pieces

CERAMICS:

"Mixtures and ceramics red on white" of the Orientalizing period (725/575 BC)

"Series of buccheri from Etruria" 600/500 BC

"Two olpai of the Chigi group"

"Crater" by the Painter of the Louvre

"Group of balsam containers" end of the seventh/early sixth century BC

"Crater with volutes made in a Laconian factory" 580/570 BC decorated with large lotus flowers

"Amphora-psykter with Judgement of Paris"

"Two Caeretan hydrie" of the early sixth century BC

"Situla from Paestum" about 310 BC with warrior with high crest helmet with large feathers

ATTIC VASES WITH BLACK FIGURES (about 560/500 BC):

"Hydria with Heracles and Geryon" 560/540 BC by Lydos

"Lip-cup" by Tleson

"Piecemeal Dinos" by Exekìas

"His world is pervaded by the heroic spirit of the Homeric poems. He is a painter and potter, extremely creative in both fields; in fact the invention of two new pottery forms is attributed to him: the crater cup and the cup with handles shaped as big eyes" (Claudia Lambrugo)

"Two Attic amphoras" by Nikosthenes

"Ceramic maker and owner of a workshop with keen business acumen, Nikosthenes was active in the second half of the sixth century BC. He must have had a significant commercial success with Etruscan customers. He seemed to know them and also seemed to cunningly know how to meet their needs, creating new forms of vases, especially welcome in the market of Cerveteri and Vulci; among these there was a type of amphora know as ‘nicostenica’ with wide and flat loops in imitation of an Etruscan product made out of bucchero" (Claudia Lambrugo)

"Amphora with bathing women" by the Painter of Priam

"Vases like this have sparked an intense debate on the status of women in Athens at the time of Pisistratus: could it be reasonable to admit that the Athenian women led a freer life than what literary sources often seem to imply" (Claudia Lambrugo)

"Amphora" by Antimenes

RED-FIGURED ATTIC JARS (about 520/440 BC):

"Kylix" by Oltos

"Blingual amphora" by the Painter of Pamphaios

Three vessels including "Pelike with courtship of adolescent" 500/490 BC by the Berlin Painter

"Kylix" by the Painter of Brygos

"One of the most prolific painters of the first Severe style is the Painter of Brygos active between 480 and 470 BC, who is named after the potter who signed a dozen cups attributed to his hand; the style derives from Onesimos and it is characterized by a remarkable vivacity of expression; a style that loves movement and animation" (Marina Castoldi)

LATE CLASSICAL AND HELLENISTIC JARS:

Some "Vases repainted" by Gnathia

"Lekane" by the Painter of Brunicki

Numerous black painted vases

BRONZE PIECES:

Extensive exhibit of containers for banquets and objects for personal adornment or related to women toiletries, including

"Cist from Preneste with kit" first half of the third century BC

"Kit from the Castellani Tomb" (Palestrina, 700/675 BC) tomb of the most famous of the orientalizing Tyrrhenian period including "Three bronze shields"

OTHER ITEMS:

"Bronze goblet with caryatids" about 625/600 BC from Caere

"Group of lacunars" about 525/500 BC from Tarquinia

Extensive series of Etruscan-Roman and Italic statuettes and including the famous "Statuette of Alexander hunting" of Greek production

Room 20

Castellani Collection

Unique collection of gold items, one of the richest in the world with jewelery from 700 BC until the nineteenth century

Galeassi Tomb

Matrimonial kit of the early seventh century BC found in 1861 in Palestrina:

"Breastplate in gold and amber"

"Three pendants configured in amber"

Beautiful "Golden crowns"

"Charm necklace shaped as small amphora" IV century BC from Tarquinia

In this room are exhibited also Roman jewelry, late ancient and barbaric jewelry, Italian modern art jewelry, jewelry from the Far East, fine jewelry from the New World and fine micromosaics

Room 21 – Room of Venus or of the Seasons

Room known as Room of Venus or Room of the Seasons for the frescoes that decorate it

Findings from PYRGI (Santa Severa)

TEMPLE A dedicated to Leucotea-Ilizia:

"High relief with the myth of the Seven Against Thebes" (Tideus bites the head of Athena with Melanippus watching in horror) about 470/460 BC decorating the back side of the temple columen

Antefixes of Temple A: "Heracles Bibax" and beautiful "Female head maybe of Thesa-Leucotea" about 350/325 BC

TEMPLE B dedicated to the Phoenician goddess Astarte (the Etruscan Uni), the oldest one:

"Prancing front right"

"Great phiale" 490/480 BC

AREA C dedicated to the "chthonic" cult  or infernal and long building of twenty cells: “Antefixes”

Room 22

"Gold foils from Pyrgi" also from the Area C with dedication inscribed in Etruscan and Phoenician languages of the king of Caere Thefarie Velianas to the goddess Uni

"Hoard of coins from Syracuse"

"Votive dedication of Tanachvil Cartherai to Thesan"

Room 23

"Apollo struggling with Heracles for the possession of the cerinite doe” about 510 BC from the Temple of Apollo in Veii, in the locality known as Portonaccio, restored in 2004

"Goddess with child in her arms"

Both statues are attributed to the school of Vulca and they were placed temporarily in this hall

"The harmony of proportions, the supreme quality of the finish give way to an irrational power that favors movement and physicality on formal perfection and strength so to force in this way the integument of rationality of Greek art" (Carlo Bertelli, Giuliano Briganti, Antonio Giuliano)

Three rooms dedicated to the history of the museum

Two windows of the nineteenth century exhibit with pieces from the Agro Falisco relevant to the original section of the collection

Room 24 and 25

Dedicated to the history of the museum with models and documents

Room 26 - Capena and smaller Latin towns of the Agro Falisco

CAPENA (Sabine origin):

"Dish of the Elephant" about 275 BC from the grave 233 (IV) from the Necropoli delle Macchie (necropolis of the spots) in Capena

"Embossed armor shaped as a disk decorated with fantastic animals" in bronze, about 625 BC with the contemporary "Plaques for belt"

Vascular kit of the Tomb CXIV from the Necropolis of S. Martino among the richest of the orientalizing period in Capena (late eight/early seventh century BC)

MINORS LATIN TOWNS OF THE AGRO FALISCO:

Corchiano

Large "Clay support with horses and chains"

Vignanello

Attic pottery from the necropolis of Cupa

"Alabastron" in Ionic bucchero, rare example of Greek-Eastern ceramic imported in the agro falisco

Nepi

Findings from Vigna Penteriani

Room 27 - Narce

Narce was the most important town in the southern area of the agro falisco, by the River Treja between Mazzano and Calcata:

"Rich Kit of a Knight" from the grave 4 (XXXIV) of Petrina (730/720 BC)

Reconstruction of the "Chariot" about 600 BC from the necropolis of Contrada Morgi

"Necklace of gold" seventh century BC from the Tomb of th Gold Pieces

Large "Bronze Shields" about 600 BC from the necropolis of Petrina C

Room 28 - Falerii Veteres, Civita Castellana

The oldest examples of funerary rites (eighth and seventh century BC)

"Urn in bronze foil shaped as a house" about 650 BC from the necropolis of Montarano

"Kit from the tomb 8 (XLVII) in Celle" with "Banquet tableware with holmos, kantharos and amphora" and "Pair of amphoras with four recessions and decoration in red on white"

Room 29 - Falerii Veteres

Economic and social rise of Falerii Veteres (sixth and fifth century BC) until the period of the great flowering of the fourth century BC

" Attic Kylix with black figures" about 535 BC with Dionysus playing a lyre

"Two Attic Rython with red figures"

"Rython shaped with the head of adog" by the Painter of Brygos

"Rython shaped as an astragalus" first half of the fifth century BC

"Stamnos with Heracles and the Centaur Pholos" by the Painter of Argo

"Crater of the Dawn with volutes: Eos and Kephalos on one side and on the other Teti Pepleo" about 350 BC by the Painter of the Dawn, a masterpiece of the local production

Room 30 - Sanctuaries of Falerii Veteres

Architectural fragments of the Temple of Mercury at the Sassi Caduti (Fallen Rocks) about 480 BC including "Acroterion with two warriors in battle"

Fragments from the Temple of Apollo at Scasato including "Torso of Apollo" late fourth/early third century BC

Room 31 – Second Temple at Scasato

Fragments from the Second Temple (possibly Minerva) to Scasato including:

"Minerva"

"Jupiter"

"Juno" early fourth century BC in which it is possible to see the influence of Attic art in the second half of the fifth century BC

"Fragments from the Sanctuary of Vignale" with important deposit of votive offerings (stipe) consisting of heads and masks

"Fragments from the Sanctuary of Juno Curite in Celle” about 350 BC including "Female life-size statue" mid fourth century BC, with richly draped and decorated mantle, belonging to the restructuring that incorporated the first chapel of the Archaic period

Room 32 - Smaller towns of the Latium Vetus

Alatri

Materials from deposits of votive offerings (stipi) and fragments of antefixes and architectural polychrome terracotta which decorated the entablature and the sloping gable of a temple in the countryside, the Etruscan-Italic temple of Alatri which was reconstructed in 1890 outside the museum in real size

Ardea

Deposit of votive offerings (stipe) in the Pescarella district with various objects dating back from the fourth to the second century BC

Tivoli

Deposit of votive offerings (stipe) of the Acquoria

Lanuvio

"Antefissa a female head with openwork nimbus" about 500 BC from the Temple of Juno Sospita

Velletri

"Clay model of building, probably a temple, with gabled roof" from Colle Ottone

Segni

"Remains reliefs of pediment with scene with at least three groups of people dueling" 500/480 BC from the Temple of Juno Moneta

Gabii

Funerary objects with "Skeleton in a coffin made with an oak trunk" about 700/650 BC

Room 33 - Satricum

Village of about 30 huts which developed from the ninth to the seventh century BC

Fine ceramic

Furnishings of ivory and bronze

Outstanding amount of amber pieces

Fine tableware including "Drinking horn in bronze" from the Northwest Necropolis

Materials from the archaic deposit of votive offerings (stipe) and from the more recent stipe

"Polychrome high reliefs of the pediment of the Temple II" with myth of the Amazonomachy 500/480 BC

Room 34 - Palestrina

KIT FROM THE BARBERINI TOMB:

"Throne" 675/650 BC in bronze foil

"Shield"

"Lebes on support in bronze plate"

Pieces of Ivory and objects of metalwork such as clasps

"Plate with plastic decoration"

KIT FROM THE BERNARDINI TOMB:

Among the jewelry pieces there are two rectangular "clasps" with small heads of felines

"Silver gilt patera with pharaoh triumphing over his enemies, the king hunting and theories of horses and birds” 675/650 BC

"The choice of symbolism and iconography of certain Levantine and Egyptian origin, albeit probably reworked from a workshop in Cyprus in the late eighth, early seventh century BC, shows the full adoption by the Tyrrhenian aristocracies of this figurative language, foreshadowing at the same time their will to agree with a whole world of rules and values ​​directly inspired by that of the oriental dynasties" (Lucio Fiorini)

Another "Silver patera with Egyptian design"

"Small cauldron with heads of snakes" about 575/550 BC

Rare "Blue glass cup"

"Cup with Vetusia inscription” about 675/650 BC with the oldest epigraphic documentation attested in ancient Latium: the personal name Vetusia written in Etruscan characters refers to similar names that would be found in later periods in Vulsini (sixth century BC) and in Chiusi

BARBERINI COLLECTION:

Large collection of bronze mirrors and cists from Preneste including the masterpiece "Ficoroni Cist" about 310 BC by Novios Plautios with an episode of the myth of the Argonauts on which the name “Rome” appears for the first time on a work of art

"Vase made as a cage with strigil" and animal shaped wooden boxes

Room 35 – Umbrian Cities

TERNI

Weapons for men and female ornaments X/VIII century BC from the necropolis discovered during works to build the steelworks in Terni

NOCERA UMBRA

Kits from the "Tomb so-called of the child" and from the "Tomb 9" in the necropolis of Boschetto-Ginepraia

GUALDO TADINO

Kits from burial grounds of Malpasso and Cartiere including "Wooden barrels with straps in bronze" about fifth century BC

TODI

Tomb of Warrior, end of the fifth century BC from the locality known as S. Raffaele:

"Parade helmet of Attic type in bronze"

"Red-figure Attic Kylikes"

"Red-figure Attic Crater" 460 BC by the Painter of Florence

Tomb of the gold pieces in the necropolis of Peschiera, first half of the third century BC:

"A pair of large earrings with pendants shaped as a female head"

"Mirror engraved with a scene of the Judgement of Paris"

Bronze figures including "Patera with handle", "Oinochoe shaped as a beak" and "Thyiaterion shaped as a caryatid"

Also placed provisionally in this room:

"Bucchero with archaic Etruscan alphabet engraved" from Cerveteri about 610 BC

Superb "Olpe Chigi" 640/625 BC from Formello (Veii) with lion hunt, Judgement of Paris and fighting between Greeks

"It provides important information on military history, showing the beginning of the supremacy of hoplites on the cavalry, and exemplifies technically and stylistically the best of Protocorinthian vase painting" (John Griffiths Pedley)

"It marks the time when the black-figured Corinthian style reaches its maximum expressive potential, with figures arranged in depth on spaces finally free from geometric fillers, according to a rudimentary, but effective, principle of perspective and with extensive retouching colored in white, yellow, red and brown. A recent re-reading (Torelli) of the entire iconography of the Olpe suggested a very tight ideological construct, similar to that which, a few decades later, would be represented on the François Crater. If the reading is valid, the Olpe Chigi signifies the moralizing manifesto for the educational curriculum of young Corinthian aristocrats" (Claudia Lambrugo)

GIORGINA VILLA

VILLA GIORGINA

Via Po 27

1920 Clemente Busiri Vici (1887/1965) for Senator Isaia Levi who had originally called it VILLA LEVI

After the death of his young daughter Giorgina, he decided to change the name of the villa in honour of his daughter

During the Nazi occupation the senator, who was jewish, was hidden by the Sisters of Maria Bambina in the house they used to run alongside the Patristic Augustinianum Institute, right next to the colonnade of St. Peter's Square

The senator gave the villa to Pope Pius XII Pacelli (1939/58) as a sign of gratitude. Since 1959 it is the Apostolic Nunciature in Italy, with functions of Vatican embassy in Italy

GENTILI DOMINICI VILLA

VILLA GENTILI DOMINICI

Piazzale Sisto V 1

About 1741/48 maybe by Filippo Raguzzini (1680/1771) for the Marquis Filippo Gentili behind the Aurelian Walls. A tower which was part of the walls is incorporated in the main building of the villa

It later passed to the Del Drago family and, in 1913, to Gustavo Dominici who, in the 1920s, commissioned structural changes and had the gardens redisigned

The Dominici family still owns the villa

FARNESINA VILLA

VILLA FARNESINA

Via della Lungara 230

1506/10 plus additional works until 1520, a masterpiece by Baldassarre Peruzzi (1481/1536) for the banker Agostino Chigi (1466/1520) from Siena just like Peruzzi

Agostino Chigi became rich with the alum from Allumiere, necessary at the time for tanning hides and dyeing fabrics

He used to organize splendid banquets at the end of which he would invite his guests to throw the silver plates into the Tiber River, only to secretly collect them later with nets

Once Agostino Chigi invited Leo X Medici (1513/21) for lunch in rooms covered with tapestries and sumptuous carpets. To the reproach of the Pope for the excessive glitz, he said that his friendship was really tested by the modesty of the place which, as the tapestries and carpets were removed, proved to be a stable big enough for one hundred horses plus staff

In 1590 it passed to the Farnese family to which it owes the name Farnesina

In 1714 it passed to the Bourbons of Naples

In 1861 it passed to the ambassador Bermudez di Castro, who restored it

In 1884 the walls by the Tiber were built and part of the gardens, stables and lodge on the river maybe by Raffaello Sanzio (Raphael) were destroyed

It finally became property of the Italian state in 1927

"The exciting program of building a suburban residence suited to the refined social life of the owner, suggested to the architect the free floor plan of the building, with two wings protruding on either side of the front and the space they delimited, conceived as a scene for outdoor shows, in an original fusion of the canonical types of the palace, the villa and the theater. The influence of the ancient manifested in the desire to create the same continuity between nature and architecture of the palaces and villas described by Latin writers. Peruzzi opened two loggias and through direct access to the banks of the Tiber, facilitated the natural landscape into the architectural organization of the whole" (Carlo Bertelli, Giuliano Briganti, Antonio Giuliano)

The exterior was originally decorated with magnificent paintings of which only traces were revealed on the north side by recent restoration works

Ground Floor

LOGGIA OF LOVE AND PSYCHE

Vault

Frescoes "Fable of Cupid and Psyche" with, at the center, "Council of the Gods" and "Wedding Feast", in the spandrels "Episodes of the story taking place in the sky", in the pendentives "Genes with attributes of divinity" painted in 1517 from drawings by Raffaello Sanzio (Raphael) (1483/1520)

They were made almost entirely by Raphael’s pupils: Giulio Pippi aka Giulio Romano (1499/1546), Giovanni Francesco Penni (about 1496/1528), Raffaellino del Colle (about 1490/1566) and Giovanni Ricamatore aka Giovanni da Udine (1487/1564) who designed the festoons

During the years 1693/94 they were retouched by Carlo Maratta (1625/1713)

"Concave triangles are so admirably filled up with stories of Psyche, to give the impression of windows behind which figures pass, and not areas whose bizarre shape would create almost insurmountable obstacles" (Bernard Berenson)

"The field of action consists of the ceiling vaults; the composition of the individual scenes would then be subject to the existing architectural system. And the latter was assured from the beginning through the greater effect of the tectonic change in a freer pattern, semi-naturalistic: with the pattern of the frame made out with garlands of fruit, whose implementation is left to the almost Nordic sensitivity of Giovanni da Udine, the character of gay relaxation, that knowingly was given to the style of the villa, was established" (Hermann Voss)

Among the various fruits in the decoration was painted also an eggplant with the obvious form of a male phallus entering a fig tree with the obvious aspect of the female sex

Here Agostino Chigi married his beloved Venetian courtesan Francesca Ordeasca in 1519

"G.J. Hoogewerff convincingly demonstrated that the decoration of the Loggia of Psyche would have had originally included a series of tapestries representing the episodes of the story taking place on earth and in the underworld. He also identified in a series of prints linked to Raphael, the compositions that were the basis of this series of tapestries, which perhaps had remained in draft form, or lost in the ordeal suffered by the villa since the sack of Rome. Nevertheless it is significant that the game of deception between fact and fiction, is complicated in this cycle thanks to this additional element offered by the presence of real tapestries alongside the fake ones painted with the fresco technique" (Antonio Pinelli)

HALL OF THE FRIEZE

Frieze

On the north side and, in part, on the east side "Stories of Hercules", on the other sides "Mythological Stories" about 1508 by Baldassare Peruzzi (1481/1536)

LOGGIA OF GALATEA

Arches that gave the garden closed in 1650

Retouched frescoes in 1863, restored 1969/73

Ceiling

"Astrological and mythological themes" that make up the horoscope of Agostino Chigi about 1511 by Baldassare Peruzzi

Walls

"Galatea on a Chariot" 1513/14 masterpiece by Raffaello Sanzio (Raphael) (1483/1520)

"The subject refers to the description of an ancient painting given by the Greek rhetorician Philostratus, and taken up by Poliziano. The free unfolding of the body of the Nereid in the encounter with the sea air, the vital movement of the other figures show that Raphael has been able to fully understand the sense of fullness of physical life transmitted from classical myth, contributing to the humanistic revaluation of the earthly world and starting up the fortune of mythological fables in art" (Carlo Bertelli, Giuliano Briganti, Antonio Giuliano)

On the left "Polyphemus" 1512/13 by Sebastiano Luciani aka Sebastiano del Piombo (1485/1547) who also made the lunettes with scenes from Ovid's Metamorphoses 1511/12: "Theseus, Filomele, Agraulo and Erse, Daedalus and Icarus, the Fall of Phaeton, Juno on the winged chariot, Scilla, Orizia"

"Monochrome Head" traditionally attributed to Michelangelo Buonarroti, but actually painted by Baldassare Peruzzi

Grotesque paintings on the pilasters maybe by Domenico Beccafumi (1486/1551)

Other landscapes painted about 1650

Piano superiore

HALL OF THE PERSPECTIVES

Fake loggias

"Views of Rome", above the fireplace "Forge of Vulcan", frieze atop the walls "Mythological scenes" 1518/19 by Baldassare Peruzzi

Some of the views were damaged with graffiti by the Lansquenets during the sack of Rome in 1527. One of the graffiti describes Rome as Babylon

In this room Agostino Chigi held his wedding banquet

BEDROOM

Ceiling

Century with grotesque and mythological subjects

Walls

Stories of Alexander the Great: "Marriage of Alexander and Roxanne with Hymen and Hephaestion on the right", "Alexander and the family of Darius", "Alexander taming Bucephalus" and "Forge of Vulcan" about 1517 by Giovanni Antonio Bazzi aka Sodoma (1477/1549)

The paintings were retouched by Carlo Maratta (1625/1713) and restored in the years 1974/76

Tuesday, September 8, 2020

DORIA PAMPHILJ VILLA

VILLA DORIA PAMPHILJ

Via Aurelia Antica 183

The largest public park in Rome, with 184 hectares (208 acres) of surface and 6.5 km (4 miles) of perimeter

It was completely open to the public in 1971

Original building: VILLA VECCHIA (old villa) or CASINO DELLA FAMIGLIA (mansion of the family

1630 for Pamphilio Pamphilj brother of Pope Innocent X Pamphilj (1644/55), built on top of the Acqua Paola aqueduct

Renovated in the years 1749/51 by Francesco Nicoletti (?/1776)

GARDEN OF THE CEDARS

In front of the Villa Vecchia. In the first half of the eighteenth century the following artists took part in the decoration: Gabriele Valvassori (1683/1761), Paolo Ameli (1739/49) and Francesco Nicoletti

GREENHOUSES OF THE NINETEENTH CENTURY

1846/47 in neo-Gothic style, designed by Giovanni Guj, and modified later by Andrea Busiri Vici (1818/1911)

They represent one of the finest examples of nineteenth century greenhouses still in existence. The three buildings originally were supposed to be respectively a cold, a temperate and a warm greenhouse, meant to be used for cultivation of exotic fruits and, in particular, of pineapple plants

1896/1902 Edoardo Collamarini (1863/1928) still owned by the Doria Pamphili family in eclectic neo-medieval style with remarkable mosaics

"Executed with great quality materials, it has a medieval-style air with dashes of Byzantine and Romanesque-Gothic styles, all in absolute contrast with the surroundings of the seventeenth-century villa by Algardi. The work has, however, points of interest and it is demonstrative of the Italian architectural eclectic climate that went beyond its historical limits. Frescoes, mosaics and glazed cartons were prepared and executed by the painter from Trieste P. Bortoluzzi, known since 1898 as Pieretto Bianco: the engineer Paraccini directed the works" (Giuseppe Miano - Dizionario Biografico degli Italiani Treccani)

Architectures by Andrea Busiri Vici (1818/1911) for Filippo Andrea V Pamphilj:

ARCO DEI QUATTRO VENTI (Arch of the Four Winds) 1857/59

HOUSE OF THE GUARDIAN 1881

MONUMENTAL TOMB TO THE FALLEN FRENCH 1851

Andrea Busiri Vici also designed a ROUND CHAPEL used as a family tomb and later as a tank of water to control the fountains of the park

The Arch of the Four Winds was built using the ruins of the former Villa Corsini also known as the Casino dei Quattro Venti (Four Winds Casino) which was decorated inside with paintings by Giuseppe Passeri (1654/1714)

On June 3, 1849 it was destroyed during the resistance of the partisans who protected the ephemeral Roman Republic against the French

36,000 French soldiers with 75 guns besieged Rome defended by 19,000 volunteer fighters followers of Garibaldi of which 938 were killed

On the other side of the large Via Leone XIII there is the latest sector of the park with the CASALE DI GIOVIO (Giovio’s Country House) built over a Roman funerary temple

ROMAN NECROPOLIS

Two columbaria dating back to the time of Augustus (27 BC/14 AD) and one dating back to the time of Hadrian (117/138). The frescoes are now at National Roman Museum in Palazzo Massimo

There is also a tomb of the first century BC in tuff with a fake door in peperino stone

Casino delle Allegrezze o Casino del Bel Respiro

Mansion of Joyfulness or Mansion of the Nice Breath

1644/48 project by Alessandro Algardi (1598/1654) executed by the Bolognese Giovanni Francesco Grimaldi (1606/80) for Camillo Pamphili nephew of Pope Innocent X Pamphilj

It was renovated in 1984 to be a representative office for the Presidency of the Council of Ministers

Round Hall

Stuccos by Alessandro Algardi

Hercules Room

Frescoes by Giovanni Francesco Grimaldi

The original design of the Casino was by Francesco Borromini (1599/1667) and it is now kept in the Vatican Library, but it was not chosen because Camillo Pamphilj didn’t like it

The project would have beeen inspired by scholarly astronomical references, relevant also to the celebration of the new pontiff, with a statue of Innocent X inside, whose foot would have been lit by the sun once a year, on the same day and the same hour in which he had been elected pope

The project by Algardi also included two wings for the main building but they were never built, even when, two hundred years later, Andrea Busiri Vici himself was asked for a project for the two wings

Fountains

FOUNTAIN OF THE SNAIL AND FOUNTAIN OF THE LILY FLOWER

Works of the great artist from Bologna Alessandro Algardi (1598/1654)

The original sculpture of the Fountain of the Snail was by Gian Lorenzo Bernini (1598/1680) and it is now housed in the Galleria Doria Pamphili

"Francesco Bettini, commissioned at the end of the eighteenth century to modernize the complex, moved the Fontana del Giglio in line with the underlying 'waterway', enriched the channel with waterfalls and jets, and modified and enlarged the perimeter of the lake. The monument has been fully restored and put back into operation in the spring of 2004" (Official website of the Sovrintendenza Capitolina ai Beni Culturali, Capitoline Superintendent to Cultural Heritage - www.sovraintendenzaroma.it)

1646 by Alessandro Algardi. On the south side of the Secret Garden. There are mythological images related to the theme by Virgil of the Winning Love

Mid-nineteenth century by Andrea Busiri Vici (1818/1911) at the center of the Garden of the Theater

Busiri Vici reused ancient materials and placed a cherub in the center which was stolen in 1971, immediately after the public opening of the villa

NYMPHAEUM OF THE FAUN or NYMPHAEUM OF THE MERMEN

Mid-seventeenth century by Alessandro Algardi and Giovanni Francesco Grimaldi (1606/80) in the Garden of the Theater

It was remodeled in the nineteenth century by Andrea Busiri Vici who eliminated the pond in front and made the two basins on the ground, placing the statue of the faun on the central base

FOUNTAIN OF THE RIVER TIBER

Mid-seventeenth century by Alessandro Algardi and Giovanni Francesco Grimaldi in the square in front of the Villa Vecchia

In the mid-eighteenth century Gabriele Valvassori (1683/1761) inserted it in the perimeter of the Garden of the Cedars and added the front steps. It was restored in the year 2000

FOUNTAIN OF THE RINGDOVE

Mid-seventeenth century, by Alessandro Algardi and Giovanni Francesco Grimaldi near the Garden of the Cedars. Transformed in the nineteenth century

VASCELLO VILLA

 VILLA DEL VASCELLO

Via di S. Pancrazio 8 – Almost completely destroyed

So called for the bizarre shape but its real name since 1749 was Villa Giraud

1663/65 Plautilla Bricci (1616/about 1701) and his brother Basilio Bricci (1621/92) for Elpidio Benedetti

Probable advice of Pietro Berrettini aka Pietro da Cortona (1597/1669) for the destroyed semicircular loggia and Gian Lorenzo Bernini (1598/1680) for the "Cliff" still partly visible towards Porta S. Pancrazio

There were distorting mirrors and water gimmicks even inside the rooms, creating an extravagant and visionary masterpiece

Inside there were paintings now lost by Pietro Da Cortona, Tommaso Laureti and Plautilla Bricci herself

The villa was almost completely destroyed on June 1849 when it ended up being the stronghold of the extreme defense of the, by then extinguished, Roman Republic

It was here that Goffredo Mameli was mortally wounded

36,000 French soldiers with 75 guns besieged Rome defended by 19,000 volunteer fighters partisans of which 938 were killed

What remained of the house was bought by the Doria Pamphili family

Now, along with the adjoining VILLA DEL BEL RESPIRO (Villa of the Nice Breath), it is the seat of the Italian Freemasonry

PIGNETO VILLA

VILLA DEL PIGNETO

Via Ugo De Carolis/Via Mario Fascetti - Balduina - Destroyed

About 1630/36 by Pietro Berrettini aka Pietro da Cortona (1597/1669) for Cardinal Giulio Sacchetti or the Marquis Marcello Sacchetti. The dating is approximate

It was also known as VILLA SACCHETTI

It was decorated with frescoes depicting "Stories of David" by Pietro da Cortona himself

Since the eighteenth century it fell into disrepair and it was abandoned in 1747 by the Sacchetti family

"Even if small in size and inspired by various sources, the building was a milestone in the development of the concept of the Baroque style villa. The magnificent line, the grand staircases built with terraces, in order to emphasize the central dominant element and especially the projecting and rejecting curves that bind together stairs, terrace and building - everything was taken up and further developed by the following generations of architects" (Rudolf Wittkower)

Montesquieu, in his book Italian Journey, justified the abandonment with "the bad air coming from a valley below"

Probably the cause of the destruction was due to an aquifer under the building and the lack of money to continue the necessary restoration

In the early nineteenth century the villa was reduced to ruins covered with abundant vegetation

In 1859 the Sacchetti family sold the property to Alessandro Torlonia who finally demolished what was left of the main building

Today the ruins are still visible, partly underground and partly covered by a thick natural vegetation

SETTE BASSI VILLA

VILLA DEI SETTE BASSI

Via Tuscolana 1245

On the ancient Via Latina (the current Via Tuscolana), on the right after Cinecittà, one of the largest private suburban complexes that, together with the Villa dei Quintili, took, in the eighteenth century, the name of Roma Vecchia (Old Rome)

The name probably comes from Septimius Bassus a Praefectus Urbi owner of the villa at the time of Septimius Severus (193/211)

The villa was definitely inhabited until the fifth century

Three distinct groups of buildings around a garden (327 x 95 m - 1073 x 312 feet):

1) EAST OF THE GARDEN 134/139 preceded by a rustic villa of the late Republican period, made up of a peristyle with columns and ambulatory

2) WEST OF THE GARDEN immediately after 140, a group of relatively large rooms was added

3) NORTH OF THE GARDEN 140/150 extremely strong substructures were built to bridge the difference in height of 5.20 m (17 feet) with the second area where two cryptoporticos and other service areas were built

The eastern part of this area consists of baths, a large living room and a smaller room. On the lower terrace the racecourse for horses was built

Around this complex of buildings there are remains of other facilities including a large room with a cross vault, a cistern that was connected by a private tunnel with the Aqua Claudia aqueduct and a substantial building made out of bricks, maybe a small temple in antis

In addition there is a LARGE BUILDING in the direction of the Osteria del Curato which may have been the winter pavilion

VILLA OF THE GORDIANS

 VILLA DEI GORDIANI

Via Prenestina/Largo Preneste

At the third mile of Via Prenestina, belonging to the ephemeral GORDIAN DINASTY of emperors

Gordian I was emperor for a month on the year 238 (the year of the six emperors, the other three, besides the Gordians, being Maximinus Thrax, Pupienus and Balbinus) together with his son Gordian II

Gordian III (238/244), grandson of Gordian I, became emperor at age 13, the youngest sole emperor in the history of the Roman empire, and reigned for six years

Ruins on both sides of the street:

On the right

Cistern, tombs and other remains

On the left

Another cistern, republican villa, octagonal hall close to a spa complex

Further east LARGE ROUND MAUSOLEUM known as Tor de' Schiavi dating back to the period of Constantine. The name derives from the Schiavi family who owned the land in the sixteenth century

Slightly later the nearby FUNERARY BASILICA was built, shaped as a circus (hippodrome) of 67 x 33 m (220 x 109 feet) with nearby COLUMBARIA of the first century AD

Nearby CATACOMBS were discovered

CHIGI VILLA

VILLA CHIGI

Via di Villa Chigi/Piazza Vescovio

1763/65 Tommaso Bianchi first and Pietro Camporese il Vecchio (1726/81) later for Cardinal Flavio Chigi, who bought land on the Monte delle Gioie (Mount of Joys)

1765/1769 valuable and well-preserved decoration of the interior by Filippo Cataldi and Gioacchino Paver, with frescoes of views by Francesco Nubale and Giacomo Rubini

Since the late seventies onwards, the City of Rome has expropriated the park. The building of Villa Chigi and the adjoining Italian garden remained privately owned, separated from the public part of the park by a fence

The main building has been entrusted by the owners on loan to Mondo X, a charitable institution assisting former drug addicts

The park of about 5 hectares (12.3 acres) was renovated in 2003 by the municipality according to the original planning of the spaces devised in 1776

CHAPEL

Dedicated to the Virgin Mary with frescoes by Antonio Bicchierai (1688/1766)

CELIMONTANA VILLA

 VILLA CELIMONTANA

Via della Navicella 12

1572/86 for Ciriaco Mattei. It is also known as Villa Mattei

In 1851 it passed to Princess Marianne of Orange-Nassau, daughter of King William I of the Netherlands, and in 1856, it was bought by Princess Laura Bauffremont

In 1869 it was bought by the German baron Richard Hoffmann who erected the AEDICULA-SMALL TEMPLE in neo-Gothic style, leaning against the wall surrounding the villa

It is a park of about 110,000 square meters (27 acres), made public in 1928 after the seizure of the villa by the Italian state after the First World War: the owner was German and therefore an enemy

In ancient times here the BARRACKS OF THE FIFTH COHORT OF THE FIRE BRIGADE was located with remnants dating back to the Trajan period (98/118) seen in 1820, 1931 and 1958

Two inscriptions inside the villa confirm the identification

The PORTAL was moved here in 1931 from Villa Massimo at the Lateran

"Ciriaco Mattei, with great magnanimity, had allowed the opening of his garden to the Roman people, at least once a year, on the occasion of the pilgrimage to the Seven Churches founded by St. Philip Blacks: the faithful in fact, at the halfway mark, had the possibility of relax for a while in the so called 'circus' of Villa Mattei and consume a meal offered by the Filippini fathers, which consisted of a loaf of bread, wine, an egg, two slices of salami, a piece of cheese and two apples each. The preparation of the villa in that circumstance required a large organization, catering for up to 3530 people. Following a strict division by rank and social status, in the semicircular 'theater' cardinals and prelates took place, in the 'sheep pen' nobles and qualified persons and on the 'lawn' and on the paths everyone else" (Official website of the Sovrintendenza Capitolina ai Beni Culturali, Capitoline Superintendent to Cultural Heritage - www.sovraintendenzaroma.it)

Casino

Main Building of the Villa

1586 Jacopo Del Duca (about 1520/1604)

Renovated in the nineteenth century

Since 1926 is the seat of the Società Geografica Italiana (Italian Geographic Society) with a library of over 250,000 volumes about geography, the largest Italian library on the subject

HALL OF THE MOSAIC

Embedded in the floor there is an ancient mosaic from the Roman period

In the vault "Spring receiving the vase with flowers from Apollo among figures representing the seasons" about 1620 by Andrea Lilio (about 1555/1632)

Obelisco di Villa Celimontana

Obelisk of the Celimontana Villa

About 1250 BC, built for Pharaoh Ramses II (1297/1213 BC)

When it was brought to Rome maybe was placed in the Temple of Isis on the Capitoline Hill

The upper part is original and it is 2.68 m (8.8 feet) high

With the lower part, the base and the globe it reaches 12.23 m (40 feet)

It had been raised on the Capitoline Hill in late 1100s or early 1200s on a pedestal with four lions apparently sculpted in the Middle Ages between Palazzo Senatorio (Palace of the Senate) and St. Mary in Capitolio that occupied the present transept of S. Maria in Aracoeli

It became a symbol of the City and of the Senate of the renewed Roman Republic

The Roman Senate gave it in 1582 to Ciriaco Mattei, who placed it in his villa on the Celium Hill known as Villa Celimontana

In 1820 the villa became property of Emanuele Godoi who had the obelisk moved to another section of the park, where it currently is

While it was almost suspended and placed on the pedestal, the ropes that held it broke and a worker, who was sweeping the pebbles off the basement, had an arm and a hand crushed under the obelisk and their remains are still there. Apparently the poor worker went mad and was compensated with a house and a pension