Saturday, November 7, 2020

CASAL PALOCCO

Altitude 1 m below the sea level. 31,000 inhabitants

It was built in the years 1958/65 and the buildings were designed by great architects such as Adalberto Libera (1903/63), Ugo Luccichenti (1898/1976), Mario Paniconi (1904/73), Giulio Pediconi (1906/99) and Giuseppe Vaccaro (1896/1970)

The idea of ​​a neighborhood with houses for wealthy families near the EUR district dated to the fascist period

It is known as QUARTIERE VERDE (Green District) for the ideal ratio of green areas and residential and commercial areas

CASAL BERNOCCHI

District east of Acilia and west of Vitinia, part of the Municipality of Rome

It was founded in 1960 under the name Villaggio INA Casa (Village of the INA Building Society) named after the building complex built at the time

The current name is derived from a farmhouse belonging to the Bernocchi counts

S. Pier Damiani

St. Peter Damian

1970 Attilio Spaccarelli  (1890/1975)

It was consecrated only in 2002 due to problems of stability due to infiltrations of water

S. Pio da Pietrelcina

St. Pio of Pietrelcina

2007/10 Alessandro Anselmi, Valentino Anselmi and Valerio Palmieri part of the study SAA & A (Architecture Studio Anselmi & Associates)

Padre Pio was canonized by John Paul II on June 16th 2002

The total area of ​​the impressive structure is 2,995 m² (32,200 square feet), of which 800 m² (8,600 square feet) are allocated to the liturgical hall and the remaining areas are outdoor spaces and other premises used for the various activities of the parish

"The façade, with its large glazed entrance, has a tripartite division determined by the roof, counterpart of the back façade, where the only curve is a single curvilinear sign. This simultaneous conception of ‘one and three’ gives the plan a strong religious characterization. In this regard, the architect remembers 'personally, during the competition, in a conceptual drawing representing the covered area I wrote in the margins of the paper, in order to explain it: the relationship between the manifold and the one" (Davide Rota - archinfo.it)

CARPINETO ROMANO

Altitude 550 m (1,800 feet). 5,000 inhabitants

Agricultural town known for numerous beautiful portals with ornaments and of good wishes

It is mentioned in the sources for the first time in 1077

Here Pope Leo XIII Pecci (1878/1903) was born

S. Maria del Popolo

St. Mary of the People

End of the fifteenth century for Sixtus IV della Rovere (1471/84) as a votive offering against the plague

Inside there is a candle always lit up, fueled with local olive oil since 1657, the year of the last plague

S. Pietro Apostolo

St. Peter the Apostle

Built for Cardinal Pietro Aldobrandini

Here used to be kept the painting "St. Francis of Assisi in Meditation" by Michelangelo Merisi aka Caravaggio (1571/1610), now in the Galleria Nazionale d’Arte Antica at Palazzo Barberini in Rome

S. Agostino

St. Augustine

Twelfth century, with an attached convent

Restored at the behest of Pope Leo XIII to whom the organ with silver reeds was donated by the Swiss diocese of St. Gallen

Monte Semprevisa

Semprevisa Mountain

1,536 m (5,000 feet) high

It is the highest peak of the MONTI LEPINI (Lepini Mountains)

CAPRANICA PRENESTINA

Altitude 915 m (3,000 feet). 400 inhabitants

Maybe founded in the year 730 by refugees from the territory of Preneste

It was a feud of the Colonna family and of other families

Parrocchiale della Maddalena

Parish Church of Mary Magdalen

1520 for Cardinal Giuliano Capranica by an unknown architect, maybe, according to some, Donato Bramante (1444/1514)

Beautiful dome

Palazzo Barberini

Barberini Palace

Built between the fourteenth and the sixteenth century. Formerly Palazzo Capranica

It is located on pre-existing medieval building with an intact external structure dating back to the sixteenth century

It is the seat of the municipality and, in the last two floors, of the MUSEO CIVICO NATURALISTICO DEI MONTI PRENESTINI (Civic Museum of Fauna and Flora of the Prenestini Mountains), an educational museum with multimedia systems presenting the different ecosystems of the area

CAPENA

Altitude 160 m (525 feet). 6,400 inhabitants

Formerly Leprignano, town surrounded by a territory cultivated mainly with grapes, divided into two sections, a new one and a medieval one

Outside the town hall there are some "Marble stones with inscriptions" found in the vicinity

In the small church of S. MARIA DELLE GRAZIE there is a "Madonna" painted in the sixteenth century

S. Michele

St. Michael

On the main altar "Triptych with Saviour and Sts. Peter and Paul" by Antonio del Massaro aka Antonio da Viterbo or Pastura (about 1450/1516)

Ancient Capena

3 km (1.8 miles) northeast of the town in the area known as Civitucola

It was one of three cities (the other two were Lucus Feroniae and Sepernas) of the Confederation of the Capenati, Italic population akin to Latin although of Sabine origin and linked to the Etruscans of Veii until the fourth century BC, when it was subjected to Rome

There is only evidence of constructions on the hill, but there is a very extensive necropolis with three sectors:

Le Saliere (Salt Mines), graves with pits of the eighth or seventh century BC

Le Macchie (The Bushes) where the "Plate with the Elephant" of the third century BC was found, now in the Etruscan Museum at Villa Giulia

S. Martino (St. Martin) with tombs dating back from the seventh to the third century BC

On the nearby COLLE DEL CASTELLACCIO there are ruins of an ancient Roman temple dedicated to Augustus

CANALE MONTERANO

378 m (1,240 feet), 3,900 ab.

Agricultural town founded in the late 1500s

It was a feud of the Orsini family first and later a feud of the Altieri family

It was known simply as Monte Virginio or Canale

The town changed its name to Canale Monterano only in 1873

Chiesa di S. Maria Assunta

Church of the Assumption of the Virgin Mary

1677/79 Mattia De Rossi (1637/95) maybe designed by Gian Lorenzo Bernini (1598/1680)

Monterano

Already depopulated for malaria during the eighteenth century and finally abandoned in 1799 for the bombing of the French troops

The survivors moved to the nearby Canale Monterano

There are still some extremely evocative ruins of the abandoned village:

DUCAL PALACE, LION FOUNTAIN (now the fountain is in the Piazza del Comune in Canale Monterano and the Lion, symbol of the city, is in the town hall) and CHURCH AND CONVENT OF St. BONAVENTURE with OCTAGONAL FOUNTAIN opposite:

Everything was built in the years 1677/79 by Mattia De Rossi and Carlo Fontana (1634/1714) from a design by Gian Lorenzo Bernini for Prince Gaspare Altieri in the period when the uncle of his wife Laura, Clement X Altieri (1670/76 ) was the pope

Remains of an aqueduct of the seventeenth century

The Lion Fountain next to the castle was a big part of the scenery created by the genius of Bernini with the large waterfall coming down on fake rocks and the lion with his paw in the middle going along with the flow of water

The floor of the church of St. Bonaventure is the only original floor of a church built by Bernini

It has been the setting for many films including Ben Hur and the Italian movies Brancaleone alle Crociate and Il Marchese del Grillo

It is the center of the MONTERANO NATURE RESERVE established in 1988 which protects 1,100 hectares (2,718 acres) of forests, river valleys and pastures

CAMPAGNANO DI ROMA

Altitude 285 m (930 feet). 9,500 inhabitants

The origins of the town date back to the ninth century

Agricultural center since the Middle Ages (grapes and artichokes) and food manufacturing industries

The town has a modern section, a medieval center with towers and portals and a section built in the seventeenth century

In late April here the Festival of Artichokes and of the Bacchanal is held

Parrocchiale di S. Giovanni

Parish of St. John

1515 over an older church with materials from another early Christian church destroyed nearby

Modified in 1659 and in the nineteenth century

CEILING

1971 with some ancient sections

4th CHAPEL ON THE RIGHT

Altar frontal of the Renaissance period

5th CHAPEL ON THE RIGHT

Wooden statue of "Our Lady of the Angels" of the seventeenth century

Frescoes "Presentation in the Temple" and "Birth of Mary" by Federico Zuccari (about 1542/1609) and Taddeo Zuccari (1529/66)

PRESBYTERY

Frescoes "Stories of St. John" by the Zuccaris and polychrome wooden ceiling 1582 maybe by Jacopo Del Duca (about 1520/1604)

TO THE LEFT OF PRESBYTERY

"Altar frontal" with five bas-reliefs from Renaissance baptismal fonts and “Aedicula” with coat of arms of the Orsini family

4th and 3rd CHAPEL ON THE LEFT

Early Romanesque altar frontals (eighth and ninth centuries)

AT THE END OF THE LEFT NAVE

Next to the entrance "St. John Beheaded" maybe by Giulio Pippi aka Giulio Romano (1499/1546)

Santuario della Madonna del Sorbo

Sanctuary of the Madonna del Sorbo

5 km (3.1 miles) southeast of Campagnano di Roma

Known since 996. Built on a rocky outcrop

The monastery is in ruins. The church was restored in the seventeenth century for Cardinal Flavio Chigi and again recently

Canvas on board of the eleventh century

Valle di Baccano

Baccano Valley

5 km (3.1 miles) southwest of Campagnano di Roma

One of the biggest basins that were formerly craters in the volcanic district of the Monti Sabatini

The valley was originally filled up for almost 13 square kilometers (3200 acres) by a lake partially drained in 1838 by the Chigi family and completely drained (it was still 8 km² - 2000 acres) only in 1920

Notorious for malaria and for the bandits who used to frequently rob the house with stables to change horses on the Via Cassia which had been built on the site of the Roman village Baccanae

BRACCIANO

Altitude 280 m (920 feet). 15,000 inhabitants

Inhabited since the time of the Etruscans, it is the most important city in the area of the Monti Sabatini

Lake Bracciano

With an area of ​​57 square kilometers (22 square miles) it is the second largest lake of the Lazio region after that of Bolsena and one of the largest in Italy

It is of volcanic origin and it has a circular perimeter of about 32 km (20 miles)

The water level is 165 m (541 feet) above sea level and its depth is equally 165 m

The water is sweet and it is a remarkable water reserve for the city of Rome

S. Stefano

Church of St. Stephan

Mentioned in the sources for the first time in 1427. It was rebuilt in 1638

FAÇADE mid-eighteenth century

1st CHAPEL ON THE RIGHT

"S. Jehoshaphat in the desert" maybe by Francesco Trevisani (1656/1746)

2nd CHAPEL ON THE RIGHT

"Triptych of the Saviour" 1315

3rd CHAPEL ON THE RIGHT

"St. Sebastian" (protector from plague and patron of Bracciano) by Giacinto Gimignani (1606/81)

MAIN ALTAR

"Martyrdom of St. Stephen" by Jean-Baptiste Wicar (1762/1834)

LEFT TRANSEPT

"Saints with Sixtus V and his family" maybe by Domenico Zampieri aka Domenichino (1581/1641)

1st CHAPEL ON THE LEFT

"Baptism of Jesus" by an unknown pupil of Carlo Maratta and "S. Irene of Tomar" by an unknown pupil of Guercino

S. Maria Novella

Church of S. Maria Novella

Late Baroque style with annexed Augustinian CLOISTER

Inside there are various paintings by Tadeusz Kuntze aka Taddeo il Polacco (1732/93) and pupils

S. Liberato

Church of S. Liberato

IX century

Since 1374 it was home to a small monastic community

Since the fifteenth century it was owned by the Augustinians and it is currently owned by the Odescalchi family

“At the side of the building there are rooms which were used in the past as cells. Based on the analysis of the walls and the marble finds, the building is the result of alterations performed throughout the centuries. We can distinguish at least five architectural interventions between XI and XVI centuries. During the first intervention, a rectangular room was built on some remains from the Roman times, which cannot be identified anymore. Seemingly, the room was built on a crypt without apse, which could be accessed through a door, supposedly under the present entrance” (Official web site of S. Liberato – www.sanliberato.it)

GARDENS OF S. LIBERATO

Botanical garden of about 7 hectares (17 acres) with species from all over the world designed since 1964 by the English landscape architect Russell Page (1906/85)

Castello Orsini Odescalchi

Orsini Odescalchi Castle

Pentagonal layout

It is mentioned in the sources for the first time in 1234 as Rocca dei Prefetti di Vico (Fortress of the Prefects of Vico)

Reconstruction in about 1470/85 initiated by Napoleone Orsini and completed by his son Gentile Virginio Orsini

In 1494 here Charles VIII was a guest

In 1497 the castle was assaulted by the papal troops who occupied it in 1501

It became property of the Orsini family again in 1560 at the behest of Pope Pius IV Medici (1560/65), and here, in that same year, the wedding between Paolo Giordano Orsini and Isabella de' Medici was celebrated

On that occasion there were works directed by Jacopo Del Duca (about 1520/1604) pupil of Michelangelo

The nineteenth-century legend has it that Isabella was strangled sixteen years later by her husband for infidelity

Paolo Giordano Orsini would have found out that she had had many lovers invariably killed after having had sex with them by throwing them in a secret trap door of the castle

The letters between the couple, however, would seem to document that not only Isabella was in the castle only for very short periods, but also that she died of natural causes and that the couple loved each other very much. Other documents seem to prove the legendary story

In 1584 here Marcantonio Colonna was a guest

In 1696 the castle passed to the Odescalchi family

In 1803 it passed to the Torlonia family, then in 1848 back to the Odescalchis who still own it today

It was restored in the years 1894/99 by Raffaele Ojetti (1845/1924)

Ground Floor

ROOM 1

Room of the Pope

Pope Sixtus IV della Rovere (1471/84) stayed in this room during the plague of Rome of 1481

In the vault frescoes "Horoscope of the spouses and emblems of the Orsini and Medici families" and "Stories of the life of Alexander the Great" 1559/60 by Taddeo Zuccari (1529/66) helped by his brother Federico Zuccari (about 1542/1609)

ROOM 3

Room of Humbert I

The king of Italy Humbert I (1878/1900) slept in this room in the year 1900

Wooden ceiling painted in the years 1491/1500 by Antonio Aquili aka Antoniazzo Romano (about 1435-40/1508) and assistants

ROOM 5

Room "Of Pisanello"

"Frieze with scenes of hunting and recreation" painted by unknown artists of the school of Antonio Pisano aka Pisanello (about 1390/about 1455)

Collection of seventeenth-century ceramics and portraits of members of the Odescalchi family

ROOM 6

Room of the hunting trophies or Room the Caesars

Frescos "Gentile Virginio Orsini" and "Orsini meets Piero de' Medici" 1491 by Antonio Aquili aka Antoniazzo Romano and assistants

Busts of Roman emperors sculpted in the seventeenth century

ROOM 7

Room of the Orsini

Busts of "Paolo Giordano Orsini II" and "Isabella de 'Medici" by Gian Lorenzo Bernini (1598/1680)

"Paolo Orsini was a versatile talent: poet, musicologist, designer. It was also a caricaturist, whose technique he learned directly from his teacher Annibale Carracci. He was a friend of Bernini, who painted a portrait of him, which for anti-rhetorical representation, for the immediacy and profound wit that animate it, it is considered one of the most successful work in the art of portraiture of all times" (Cesare D'Onofrio)

ROOM 9

Red Room also known as Isabella’s Room

Wooden ceiling painted both by Antonio Aquili aka Antoniazzo Romano (about 1435-40/1508) and Taddeo Zuccari (1529/66) 1559/60 with "Scenes from the story of Cupid and Psyche"

"All these decorations with their quiet grace, placed in the vaults with stuccos and neat grotesque decorations, fill the room without making it look over-decorated, contrary to what happens with paintings on ceilings by Vasari. (...) The lazy natural movements of the figures shows an artist in full possession of all the means of decorative profane painting " (Hermann Voss)

Second Floor

ROOM 12

Room of Hercules

Frieze "Labors of Hercules" painted in the fifteenth century and ARMOURY

ROOM 13

Weapons Room

It was obtained by halving the height of the Room of the Caesars

Armours of the fifteenth and sixteenth century

ROOM 15

Sicilian Room

Sicilian iron bed of the fifteenth century

ROOM 16

Etruscan Room

Objects from Caere Vetus (Cerveteri) and Alsium (Palo)

PATH OF GUARD

Panorama on the six towers

The courtyard leads to the furnished kitchens 

BOVILLAE

Ancient city on a territory corresponding now to the district of FRATTOCCHIE part of the city of Marino

According to tradition, it was a colony of Alba Longa, after the destruction of which it inherited its functions regarding religious cults that continued here

Tiberius (14/37) established the cult of the Gens Iulia in a SACRARIUM, and maybe he even introduced games in honor of Augustus for which the THEATER and the CIRCUS were built

All it remains of the circus are only some traces of the carceres (starting gates). Archaeologists figured it measured 337.50 x 68.60 m (1,108 x 225 feet)

ARTENA

Altitude 420 m (1,400 feet). 12,000 inhabitants

The name dates back to 1873

Since 1151 the town was called Montefortino and the name was changed because it was linked to its reputation as a city of bandits

It was feud of the families Tuscolani, Colonna, Orsini and Borghese since 1614 with the Cardinal Scipione Borghese Caffarelli (1577/1633)

For the particular shape of the town it is considered to be the largest pedestrian area in Europe

Palazzo Borghese

Borghese Palace

1615/18 designed by Jan Van Santen aka Giovanni Vasanzio (1550/1621) for the Cardinal Scipione Borghese with PORTAL maybe by Martino Longhi il Giovane (1602/60)

Frescoes by Paul Brill (1554/1626)

On the same square of the palazzo there is the PALAZZETTO DEL GOVERNATORE (small palace of the governor) also by Jan Van Santen aka Giovanni Vasanzio, used in the past as a courthouse and also as a prison

Museo Civico Archeologico

Archaeological Museum

The museum building was originally the GRANAIO BORGHESE, the Borghese barn. Besides being a museum it now houses the headquarters of the City Council and it is used for cultural events

Objects found in the territory of Artena dating back from the Neolithic period until the ninth century AD

Collegiata di S. Croce

Collegiate Church of the Holy Cross

Built in the twelfth century. It was rebuilt in 1661 for Cardinal Scipione Borghese with two short bell towers on either side of the façade

Site of the ancient city of Fortinum

Archaeological area of ​​about 30 hectares (74 acres) dating back to 500 BC at PIANO DELLA CIVITA (630 m - 2000 feet), 1.5 km from Artena

A town (oppidum) of the Volsci people hypothetically called Fortinum for a population called Fortineii that lived in this territory

Walls of 2.5 km (1.5 miles)

ÀRSOLI

Altitude 470 m (1,550 feet). 1,500 inhabitants

It was built after the destruction of the town of Carsioli in 776

It was donated to the monastery of Subiaco

Since the thirteenth century it belonged to the Passamonti family, since 1536 to the Zambeccari family and since 1574 to the Massimo family

Here the ancient Fiera di S. Bartolomeo (Fair of St. Bartholomew) is held

CHURCH OF St. LAWRENCE dating back to the sixteenth century and rebuilt in the eighteenth century

CHURCH OF St. ROCH with frescoes of the sixteenth century

Castello Massimo

Massimo Castle

XI century, Castle-Monastery of the Benedictine order

Transformed in the late sixteenth century by the Massimo family

Furniture of the sixteenth century

Large room frescoed in 1573, maybe by Federico Zuccari (about 1542/1609)

Large room frescoed in 1749 by Marco Benefial (1684/1764)

Collection of weapons

PHARMACY of the sixteenth century

CHAPEL with decoration in Cosmatesque style (XII or XIII century)

GARDEN IN ITALIAN STYLE AND BEAUTIFUL PARK with an imposing "Statue of the Goddess Rome" from the Baths of Constantine, later moved to the Villa Peretti Montalto by Sixtus V Peretti (1585/90) and moved back to Àrsoli when the Termini train station was built

SS. Salvatore

Church of the Holy Saviour

Ancient foundation and reconstruction after 1574 by Giacomo Della Porta (1533/1602)

2nd CHAPEL ON THE RIGHT

Mexican painting "Our Lady of Guadalupe" 1790

3rd CHAPEL ON THE RIGHT

A copy of the "Holy Shroud"

MAIN ALTAR

"Transfiguration" maybe by Domenico Zampieri aka Domenichino (1581/1641)

On the sides paintings by an unknown artist of the XVIII or XIX century

ARICCIA

Altitude 412 m (1,351 feet). 18,000 inhabitants

Ancient Aricia, Latin city which took part in the struggles of the Latins against Rome and later became a city federated with Rome (municipio)

In the year 87 BC it was sacked by Marius and reinforced by Sulla

Its fame came from the Sanctuary of Diana Aricina or Nemorense which used to stand on the shore of Lake Nemi

In 1661 the Ariccia feud was bought by the Chigi family

Ariccia’s Bridge

1847/54 Ireneo Aleandri (1795/1885)

It was destroyed by the Germans in 1944, it was reconstructed after World War II and it collapsed in 1967

Since 1997 there are safety nets to prevent the recurrence of suicide attempts

Substructure of the Appian Way

198 x 11,56 m (650 x 38 feet)

It was built so that the road wouldn’t have been too steep dealing with the overhang of the hill

Maybe it was built at the behest of the Gracchi brothers who, according to Plutarch, restored the Via Appia

Small Republican Temple

60 m (197 feet) from the ancient Appian Way that passed through the lower part of the ancient settlement

There are remains of the walls of the cella built in large square blocks of peperino stone

“Villa of Vitellius (69 AD)”

Area of ​​about 5 hectares (12.3 acres) near Mount Gentile, northeast of the town

Structures for the most part built in reticulated work (opus reticulatum) attributed to Emperor Vitellius according to Tacitus

Remains of a nymphaeum and cisterns known as Muracce

Locanda Martorelli

Martorelli Inn

Old hotel of the Grand Tour of Italy, frequented by artists and writers from 1820 until 1880

Frescoes "Myth of Diana" by Tadeusz Kuntze aka Taddeo il Polacco (1732/93)

Piazza della Repubblica

Republic Square

1662/65 Gian Lorenzo Bernini (1598/1680)

Two symmetrical fountains

Santuario di S. Maria di Galloro

Shrine of St. Mary of Galloro

1624, expanded in 1661

FAÇADE by Gian Lorenzo Bernini

MAIN ALTAR

Maybe by Gian Lorenzo Bernini with "Madonna with Child" on peperino stone (well cemented tufa typical of the Lazio region) found in the woods in 1621

Above one of the altars "St. Thomas of Villanova" 1663 by Giacinto Gimignani (1606/81)

1st CHAPEL ON THE RIGHT

"S. Francis de Sales" by Guillaume Courtois aka il Borgognone (1628/79)

Every December 8th the Processione della Signorina (Procession of the Young Lady) takes place to commemorate the end of the plague in 1656. So-called because the procession is led by a young girl

The image of the Virgin Mary is carried in procession to the house of a citizen of Ariccia who will keep the sacred image for six months

S. Maria dell’Assunzione

St. Mary of the Assumption

1662/65 Gian Lorenzo Bernini (1598/1680) for the Chigi family, consecrated in the presence of Pope Alexander VII Chigi (1655/67)

The two semicircles were originally the House of the Minister and the House of the Governor

DOME

Stucco decoration "Cherubs and Angels" holding suspended garlands, designed by Bernini, made by Pietro Paolo Naldini (1619/91)

"The simple structure depended on an attempt to create an imaginary Pantheon of the venerable republican period. Bernini believed that the old building was originally an example of heroic simplicity and grandeur. In the area of ​​the dome, with a combination of coffered ceiling and ribs, there is a realistic decoration similar to that of Castelgandolfo. What do these credible figures mean? The church is dedicated to the Virgin Mary and, according to legend, jubilant Angels would have scattered flowers on the day of her Assumption. As the jubilant angels, higher beings who live in an area inaccessible to the faithful, are treated with extreme realism, they evoke true life in full. So when entering the church, the pious man participates in the mystery taking place. As at Castelgandolfo, the consecration of the church results in a dramatic-historical interpretation; the whole church is subject, and dominated, by this particular event and the entire interior has become a stage" (Rudolf Wittkower)

The altarpieces were all executed in the years 1662/65

1st CHAPEL ON THE RIGHT

"St. Roch among the lepers" by Alessandro Mattia da Farnese (1631/?)

2nd CHAPEL ON THE RIGHT

"Holy Trinity with St. Augustine" by Bernardino Mei (1612/76)

3rd CHAPEL ON THE RIGHT

"St. Francis de Sales tramples heresy" by Emilio Taruffi (1633/96)

In front of the altar "Baptismal font" fourth century AD

MAIN ALTAR

Designed by G.B. Contini (1641/1723)

Large fresco representing with an illusionistic effect of breaching the landscape behind the church: "Assumption" about 1666 by Guillaume Courtois aka il Borgognone (1628/79)

Under the altar "Urn of the seventeenth-century" with relics of the martyr St. Deodatus

3rd CHAPEL ON THE LEFT

"Death of St. Thomas of Villanova" by Raffaele Vanni (1587/1673) from Siena

2nd CHAPEL ON THE LEFT

"Holy Family" by Ludovico Gimignani (1643/97)

1st CHAPEL ON THE LEFT "St. Anthony of Egypt" by Giacinto Gimignani (1606/81)

Palazzo Chigi

Built in the second half of the sixteenth century as a castle for the Savelli family

Renovated in the years 1664/72 by Gian Lorenzo Bernini (1598/1680) with his pupil Carlo Fontana (1634/1714) by Alessandro VII Chigi (1655/67)

Sold by the Chigi family to the Municipality of Ariccia in 1988 and opened to the public in 1999

It is a museum and a center of many cultural activities such as exhibitions, concerts, and conferences

It preserves the original furnishings of the seventeenth century with valuable paintings

Among the films shot here "The Leopard" by Luchino Visconti in 1962 and "L’Avaro" with Alberto Sordi

Ground floor

Private apartment of the Cardinal Flavio Chigi

NINE ROOMS that preserve the original furniture of the seventeenth century and paintings from the Chigi Collection including:

"Four allegories of the senses" by Pier Francesco Mola (1612/66)

"Portrait of Clement IX Rospigliosi (1667/69)" and "Portrait of Cardinal Sigismondo Chigi" by G.B. Gaulli aka Baciccio (1639/1709)

"Pindar and Pan" by Salvator Rosa (1615/73)

Piano Nobile

Main section of the building

Twenty rooms with original furnishings of the 1600s, 1700s and 1800s and very rare LEATHER PRINTED WALLPAPER of Spanish origin of the seventeenth century that cover the entire area of ​​the floor and which constitute a unique example in the world

SUMMER DINING ROOM

Tempera decorations with illusionistic landscape, alluding to an aviary, about 1857 by Annibale Angelini (1812/84)

"Chigi Vase" maybe dating back to the Hellenistic period, most probably an eclectic-classicist work of the Augustan period, found in 1780 in the area Tor Paterno Castel Porziano, restored in 1785 by Bartolomeo Cavaceppi

PHARMACY AND CABINET OF PORTRAITS

Furniture designed in 1670 by Carlo Fontana (1634/1714) and made by Antonio Chicari

MARIO DE’ FIORI’S ROOM

Leather upholstery under a design patented in Amsterdam

"Four Seasons" by Mario Nuzzi aka Mario de’ Fiori (1603/73) by Carlo Maratta (1625/1713) ("Summer"), Giacinto Brandi (1621/91) ("Autumn"), Bernardino Mei (1612/76 ) ("Winter"), Filippo Lauri (1623/94) ("Spring")

Furthermore, "Portrait of Mario de’ Fiori painting" by Giovanni Maria Morandi (1622/1717)

MAIN ROOM

It used to be an opera theater in the seventeenth century

In the upper part "Eight large preparatory paintings with angels" by Giuseppe Cesari aka Cavalier d'Arpino (1568/1640) for the mosaics in the ribs of the dome of St. Peter's Basilica

"Blessed Giovanni Chigi" by G.B. Gaulli aka Baciccio (1639/1709)

In the adjacent CHAPEL

Sanguine (drawing with red chalk) on the wall "St. Joseph with the Child" 1663 signed by Gian Lorenzo Bernini (1598/1680)

ARIOSTO’S ROOM

Frescoes with "Scenes of Orlando Furioso" by Giuseppe Cades (1750/99)

Among the works from the Chigi Collection:

"Terracotta bust of Alexander VII" by Melchiorre Caffà (1636/67)

"Two marble busts of Alexander VII" by Giuseppe Mazzuoli (1644/1725)

"Portrait of Cardinal Flavio I Chigi" by Jacob Ferdinand Voet (about 1639/89)

Second floor

It is divided into two sections, the second of which houses temporary exhibitions

In the first section MUSEO DEL BAROCCO (Museum of Baroque Art) with collection of 48 paintings donated by the art historian Maurizio Fagiolo as the initial core of the museum, later expanded with the Lemme Collection of 128 paintings, the Laschena Collection of 14 paintings, the Ferrari Collection and other donations

Among the masterpieces:

"Drunkenness of Noah" and "Lot and his daughters" by Giacinto Brandi (1621/91)

"Portrait of Cardinal Rinaldo d'Este" about 1659 by Gian Lorenzo Bernini (1598/1680)

"Portrait of Pope Innocent X Pamphilj (1644/55)" (maybe) and "Flagellation of Christ" by Pietro Berrettini aka Pietro da Cortona (1597/1669)

"Three portraits of Cardinal Francesco Albizzi" by Giovanni Maria Morandi (1622/1717)

"Adoration of the Shepherds" by Andrea Pozzo (1642/1709)

"Self-Portrait" about 1665, "Virgin Mary in Prayer" and "Fortitude and Charity" sketch for a pendentive in St. Agnes in Agone by G.B. Gaulli aka Baciccio (1639/1709)

"Taking of Christ in the Garden" about 1597 by Giuseppe Cesari aka Cavalier d'Arpino

"St. Charles Borromeo in prayer" by Andrea Commodi (1560/1638), the first master of Pietro da Cortona

"S. Lucy" by G.B. Salvi aka Sassoferrato (1609/85)

"Dream of St. Joseph" about 1653/55 by Andrea Sacchi (1599/1661)

"St. Yves lawyer of the poor" and "Peace and Justice" with a tender Sapphic touch by Ciro Ferri (1634/89)

"Venus wipes his forehead with Adonis" by Giacinto Gimignani (1606/81)

"Mary and Joseph found Jesus disputing with the doctors in the Temple" by Ludovico Gimignani (1643/97)

In the collection there are also paintings by Lazzaro Baldi (about 1624/1703), Mattia Preti (1613/99) and Domenico Fetti (1589/1623)

Among Gaulli’s pupils there are works of the two main ones:

Giovanni Odazzi (1663/1731) and Ludovico Mazzanti (1686/1775)

Carlo Maratta and his followers, popular throughout all of the eighteenth century:

Carlo Maratta (1625/1713), the founder, with "Baptism of the Centurion Cornelius" for the Basilica of St. Peter and "Self-Portrait"

There are also paintings by Giuseppe Chiari (1654/1727), Giuseppe Passeri (1654/1714) and Agostino Masucci (1691/1758)

Painting styles of the eighteenth century and evolution of Roman painting in the period between Baroque and Neoclassicism:

"Miracle of the Blessed Ludovica Albertoni" by Benedetto Luti (1666/1724)

"St. Bartholomew" by Pompeo Batoni (1708/87)

Also works by Placido Costanzi (1702/59), Marco Benefial (1684/1764), Francesco Trevisani (1656/1746), Sebastiano Conca (1680/1764), Domenico Corvi (1721/1803), Corrado Giaquinto (1703/66), Giuseppe Cades (1750/99), Pier Leone Ghezzi (1674/1755), Laurent Pécheux (1729/1821), Antonio Cavallucci (1752/95) and Francesco Manno (1752/1831)

French or Flemish artists who stayed in Rome:

Jean Lemaire, Jan Miel (1599/1663) and Jacques Stella

"Killing of Archimedes" and "Hagar and Ishmael" with the appearance of the angel by Guillaume Courtois aka Borgognone (1628/79)

"What moves us in this painting is the fusion of the characters with the landscape, the importance given to the sky and the landscape, the pre-romantic color, the touch fluid and dense at the same time and the magnificent appearance of the angel" (Arnauld Brejon de Lavergnée)

ARDEA

Altitude 37 m (120 feet). 30,000 inhabitants

Capital of the Rutuli since the end of the seventh century BC. Their king, Turno, would have opposed the landing of Aeneas in Lavinium on the nearby coast

It was already dependent on Rome in 509 BC and in 442 or 434 BC it became a Roman colony. There are remains of a TEMPIO dating back to this period

Two plateaus:

CIVITAVECCHIA with the remains of a temple and a church that looked out on a hole

CASALÀZZARA with remains of fortifications, originally embankments with moats and later walls in tufa blocks. Acropolis with a temple and another temple building in front of the church of St. Peter

Collection friends of Manzù

465 pieces: jewelry, sculptures, medals, engravings and theatrical sketches donated by Giacomo Manzù (1908/91) who lived in Ardea from 1964 until 1991 the year of his death

In the garden there is his monumental tomb

S. Marina

1191 for Cencio Savelli, the future Pope Honorius III (1216/27)

It was built in the place where, according to legend, would have been the entrance to the cave where S. Marina lived as a hermit, after the monks discovered she was a woman and expelled her from the convent where she lived

Entrance with columns supported by lions and with architrave decorated with bas-relief

The interior was originally frescoed

Behind the MAIN ALTAR there are remains of a nymphaeum carved into the stone dating back to the second century AD

ARCH OF MALBORGHETTO

On the 19th km of the Via Flaminia

Arch with four entrances on a rectangular plan 15 x 12 m (49 x 39 feet), 17.50 m (57 feet) high, covered with a groin vault

It was transformed into a farmhouse after the marble was stripped down and the arches were closed with walls

The name comes from a village destroyed and infamous haunt of bandits near the church of St. Nicholas built inside the arch (maybe in the twelfth century) and then destroyed in 1485 by the troops of the Orsini family

It is likely that the arch would correspond to the praetorium (headquarter) of the camp of Constantine (306/337) the night before the battle against Maxentius on the year 312

According to the ancient writer Lactantius, tutor of the son of Constantine Crispo, in his book De persecutorum of the year 314, and also according to Eusebius, it was here that Constantine had the vision of the Crismón: two large overlapping letters, X and P, even if, according to Lactantius, it was a Latin cross with a P on top

The two letters correspond, respectively, to the Greek letter χ (chi), and ρ (rho). These two letters are the initials of the word Χριστός (Khristos), the name of Jesus, which in Greek means "anointed" and it is the translation of the Hebrew word "Messiah"

Antiquarium

It was opened on the year 2000 with materials from various archaeological sites along the Via Flaminia

Etruscan remains from Volusia and Prima Porta, sculptures and architectural elements of the tombs of Tor di Quinto and Grottarossa, Roman pottery from the kilns at La Celsa

On the first floor pottery and objects of everyday life from the Middle Ages through the eighteenth century

ANZIO

Altitude 3 m (10 feet). About 40,000 inhabitants

The oldest seaside resort of the Lazio region with the port of 18,500 m² (4.5 acres), with more than 1,000 m (3,300 feet) of docks

It was inhabited since the Iron Age

It developed as a Volscian fortified town with the name of Antium

It became a Roman colony in 338 BC. It was a favorite holiday resort spot for many Romans, including Cicero and Nero

Here was the Temple of Fortuna Anziate that rivaled the Temple of Fortune Prenestina

From the sixth century the decline begun and eventually it was completely depopulated

It flourished again in 1698 thanks to the new port built for Innocent XII Pignatelli (1691/1700) with many technical difficulties

It developed in the late nineteenth century after the railway connection with Rome was built

During the Second World War the landing of the Americans took place at Anzio on 22 January 1944, followed by the bridgehead for four months

Nero's Villa

Terraces, cryptoporticos and a semicircular terrace

Restored by Hadrian (117/138)

Here were found: "Apollo Belvedere" copy from the original by Leochares now in the Vatican Museums, the "Borghese Gladiator" now in the Louvre in Paris, and the "Maiden of Anzio" now at the National Archaeological Museum of Palazzo Massimo in Rome

In the area there is the PROMONTORIO DELL’ARCO MUTO (Promontory of the Dumb Arch) where maybe the Temple of Fortuna Anziate used to stand

Villa Adele

Beginning of the seventeenth cdentury for Monsignor Bartolomeo Cesi

Later it belonged to the Pamphilj and Borghese families

It is now owned by the municipality that established here, among other things, the MUSEO CIVICO ARCHEOLOGICO (Municipal Archaeological Museum), the MUSEO DELLO SBARCO (Museum of the Landing of Anzio) and the Town Library

Villa Albani

About 1726 maybe by Alessandro Specchi (1668/1729) for Cardinal Alessandro Albani

It was bought in 1852 by Pius IX Mastai-Ferretti (1846/78)

Since 1870 the Italian government began here a major humanitarian initiative to help poor, scrofulous and rickety children with the Opera degli Ospizi Marini (Institution of the Sea Hospice)

Now there is a central for analysis of ASL, the National Health Agency

Paradiso sul Mare

Paradise on the Sea

1919/24 Cesare Bazzani (1873/1939) for Giuseppe Polli and for the leisure of the rich visitors to the city

It is a jewel of Art Nouveau style, known as Liberty style in Italian

It is now owned by the municipality and it is used as a school for tourism

Here were shot the movie "Amarcord" by Federico Fellini and the very popular Italian movie "Polvere di Stelle" with Alberto Sordi and Monica Vitti

Villa Borghese

1660 for the Card. Costaguti with Italian garden, the garden of orange trees and forest

It is surrounded by the Regional Nature Reserve Villa Borghese in Nettuno

English Cemetery

Here rest in peace 1,056 soldiers fallen during the Second World War of which 1,053 British, one Canadian, one New Zealander and one South African

ANTÌCOLI CORRADO

Altitude 508 m (1,670 feet). 920 inhabitants

The village is mentioned in the sources for the first time in 832. It belonged in the tenth century to the Abbey of S. Cosimato and later to the Abbey of Subiaco

In the thirteenth century it belonged to the Count Conrad of Antioch who added "Corrado" to the name of the city

It is famous for the beauty of women and it was a favorite destination of artists since 1875 including Adolfo De Carolis (1874/1928), Giulio Aristide Sartorio (1860/1932), Ferruccio Ferrazzi (1891/1978), Angelo Zanelli (1879/1942), Luigi Pirandello, his son the painter Fausto Pirandello (1899/1975) and the Austrian Oskar Kokoschka (1886/1980)

It was especially popular during the period between the two world wars but even today there are more than 50 artists' studios

Piazza delle Ville

Fountain "Noah's Ark" by Arturo Martini (1889/1947)

To the left small CHURCH OF St. PETER of the eleventh century

Mosaic floor and original frescoes of the thirteenth, sixteenth and seventeenth century, including those in the first chapel on the left, the CHAPEL OF Sts. COSMAS AND DAMIAN, by two anonymous peasant painters inspired by the now disappeared frescoes of Piero della Francesca in the Stanza della Segnatura in the Vatican and in the Chapel of Sts. Michael and Peter in Chains in the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore

Municipal Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art

In the PALAZZETTO BRANCACCIO, the small palace of the Brancaccio family

It opened in 1935 and it was reorganized in 1985 on two floors

It was donated by Prince Marcantonio Brancaccio and completed in 2001

More than 200 paintings, sculptures and drawings by artists active here: Giuseppe Capogrossi (1900/72), Arturo Martini (1889/1947), Fausto Pirandello (1899/1975), the Spanish poet and also painter Rafael Alberti (1902/99), Ercole Drei (1886/1973), Adolfo De Carolis (1874/1928), Felice Carena (1879/1966), Consalvo Carelli (1818/1900), Aligi Sassu (1912/2000), Emilio Greco (1913/95), Emilio Vedova (1919/2006), Emanuele Cavalli (1904/81), Ivan Meštrović (1883/1962) and others

ANGUILLARA SABAZIA

Altitude 185 m (610 feet). 17,000 inhabitants

The origin of the name is uncertain: maybe Anguillara derives from the Villa Angularia which was built for the noble Roman lady Rutilia Polla on a rocky corner of the coast and Sabazia (added in the nineteenth century) derives from the Latin name of the lake, Sabatinus

It used to be a fief of the Anguillara family who lost it in 1488 when it passed to the Orsini family

The entrance to the village is through a SIXTEENTH CENTURY DOOR about 5 m (16 feet) thick

Orsini Castle

Fifteenth century. It includes the MUSEO STORICO DELLA CIVILTÀ CONTADINA E DELLA CULTURA POPOLARE (historical museum of rural and popular culture) "Augusto Montori" opened in 1992:

Three rooms with hundreds of tools for agriculture, herding, fishing and domestic objects from the early 1900s

Baronial Palace

First half of the sixteenth century, formerly Palazzo Orsini, now Town Hall

"Frescoes" dating back to the years 1535/49 including a rare representation of Naples before it was enlarged and perhaps the only representation of the "Battle of the Schooner" that led to the conquest of Tunis in which the commissioner of the painting, Gentil Virginio Orsini, fought alongside Carlo V

Collegiata dell’Assunta

Collegiate Church of the Assumption of the Virgin Mary

Eighteenth century. At the end of the right nave "Virgin Mary of the Large Fortress" fourteenth century and repainted in later periods

MAIN ALTAR "Assumption of Mary" by Girolamo Muziano (1532/92)

Neolithic Village

In "The Marmot" district in the nineties the oldest Neolithic village (introduction of agriculture, use of clay and ceramics) in Europe (5750/5260 BC) was found on the bottom of the lake

This village is about 1,000 years older than any other Neolithic village ever found

Even a canoe was found dating back to nearly 8,000 years ago, now on display at the Pigorini Museum in Rome

Chiesa di S. Francesco

Church of St. Francis

Outside Anguillara, near the train station

Fifteenth century. Frescoes dating back to the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, including a "Madonna and Child with Two Angels"

Plant of the Acqua Claudia

Outside Anguillara

Mediomineral water indicated for gastrointestinal and metabolic diseases

Nearby there are remains of Roman buildings of the imperial period, including a grand ROMAN VILLA of the second half of the first century BC. The façade of the villa was a broad semicircular exedra decorated with fountains

“Muracci” or Walls of St. Stephen

On the way to the Crocicchie train station

Grandiose ruins of a Roman Villa with brick structures of the second century BC adapted in the eighth century, or even before, as the church and convent of St. Stephen, later suppressed by Pius V Ghislieri (1566/72)

Air Force Museum of Vigna di Valle

Opened in 1977

Three hangars of 11,000 m² (2.7 acres) with original aircraft and prototypes from the period of the first flights to the present day

ALLUMIERE

Altitude 522 m (1,710 feet). 4,200 inhabitants

It owes its origin and its name to the mines of alum (used for tanning leather and color fabrics) discovered in 1462 by Giovanni di Castro

In the sixteenth century the exploitation and trade of alum was given to Agostino Chigi (1466/1520) who built the village of Monte Roncone which later became Allumiere, workers' dwellings (interesting precursor of social housing) and an aqueduct

Agostino Chigi had about 20,000 people working for him and used Porto Ercole as his own private harbor for about 100 ships that would export alum throughout all of Europe

It was not only the largest mine but also one of the largest pre-industrial and commercial companies in Europe

At the time of Pope St. Pius V Ghislieri (1566/72) the mines financed the war against the Turks. They are still in efficiency albeit with reduced activity

Palace of the Apostolic Chamber

Built at the end of the sixteenth century for Gregory XIII Boncompagni (1572/85)

It hosted some popes

On the first floor there is the MUSEO CIVICO (Civic Museum) with 4,000 pieces of which 1,500 exhibited, with three sections: archaeological (Villanovan biconical vases, Etruscan tombs kits and items from the Villa Fontanaccia), naturalistic and mineralogical

Hermitage of Our Lady of Grace

Near the Parco della Rimembranza (Memorial Park) below the summit of Monte Le Grazie (616 meters - 2,000 feet) the highest elevation of the MONTI DELLA TOLFA

At the altitude of 359 m (1,168 feet) is the CHURCH OF THE TRINITY, hermitage where, according to tradition, St. Augustine would have dictated his rule

Sanctuary of Cibona

1647 Domenico Castelli (1582/1657). Outside Allumiere. It retains a much venerated image of the Virgin Mary

Roman Villa of the Fontanaccia

Near Monte Tolfaccia (580 m), southeast of Allumiere

Terraced villa dating back to the end of the first century BC set on a former villa of the second century BC

ALBANO LAZIALE

Altitude 400 m (1,310 feet). 35,000 inhabitants

In the territory of the ancient city Alba Longa

The area of the VILLA OF DOMITIAN (81/96), which had as its center in Castel Gandolfo (Alba Longa), included the area of Albano Laziale as well

Septimius Severus (197/211) built the Castra Albana, camps for the troops of the faithful Second Parthian Legion who had made a decisive contribution to the achievement of power for the Libyan emperor

Sepulcher built as a tower

Coming from Rome, just before Albano Laziale on the left, there are the remains of a grandiose tomb built with four floors plus maybe a spire, for a total height of about 45 m (147 feet), perhaps the Tomb of Pompey

Villa known as Villa of Pompey

In the VILLA COMUNALE OF ALBANO LAZIALE formerly Villa Doria Pamphili, dug in the years 1923/24 and largely buried again

Complex with a terrace of about 340 x 260 m (1,115 x 787 feet) mistakenly attributed to Pompey

Pretoria Gate

Entrance of the Castra Albana, 438 x 240 m (1,437 x 788 feet), discovered after the bombing in 1944 during World War II

There are numerous sections of the walls left built with large blocks of peperino stone about 1 m (3 feet) thick

S. Maria della Rotonda

Built reusing the previously existing structures of maybe a nympheum of the Albanum (villa) of Domitian which had become, at the beginning of the third century AD, the baths of the Castra Albana

Floor mosaics with "Sea monsters"

Large cistern

Grandiose Roman underground water deposit of about 10,000 m³ (2,600,000 gallons), 48 x 32 m (157 x 105 feet) divided into five aisles where the aqueducts of Cento Bocche (one-hundred mouths) and Malaffitto used to converge

Amphitheater

Severian period (193/235). To the north of the Castra Albana

Half of it is still preserved with main axis of 113 m (370 feet) and arena 67,50 x 45 m (215 x 148 feet)

Cellomaio Baths

Built by Caracalla (211/217) south of the Castra Albana beyond the Via Appia on a slope. They were named after the neighborhood called Cellomaio

Known in medieval times as the Palace of Ascanio

One of the best preserved room of the baths is now the church of S. Pietro which faces the Appian Way

“Tomb of the Horatii and Curiatii”

Majestic tomb slab with truncated cones in the upper part, built at the end of the Republican period

It is a one-off building in its kind. The connection with the Horatii and Curiatii, the male triplets from Rome and the male triplets from Alba Longa who fought each other in a duel in the seventh century BC, is legendary and not based on evidence

Catacomb of St. Senator

In front of the Tomb of the Horatii and Curiatii. It is evidence of the importance of the Church of Albano since antiquity

Frescoes dating back to the fifth, sixth and ninth centuries