Showing posts with label Jacopo Barozzi. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Jacopo Barozzi. Show all posts

Monday, March 26, 2018

St. ANDREW ON VIA FLAMINIA

1552/53 Jacopo Barozzi aka Vignola (1507/73) for Julius III Ciocchi del Monte (1550/55)
It is also known as S. ANDREA DEL VIGNOLA (St. Andrew by Vignola) the only case in Rome and perhaps in the world of a church who took the name of its architect
“He was perhaps the best known and most representative architect of the late Renaissance. Central figure in the mannerist phase architecture, Vignola was characterized by his innovative and modular way of composing the masses through the application of architectural orders. (...) Simple is the church of St. Andrew (...), the first with a pseudo-central plan due to the use of the ellipse instead of the circle” (Enciclopedia Treccani)
“There is no doubt that Vignola's artistic activity represents a strong reaction against Michelangelo's whims as a sculptor and architect, as well as his followers'. Instead of emphasizing unilaterally the sculptural effect of single elements, Vignola emphasizes again the rhythm and uniformity of the whole. The value of Vignola's work consists in refusing any personal arbitrary idea in favor of the general final result where the main feature is the proportionality of the surfaces. It is obvious that here are shown the same tendencies present in the Roman style of painting lead by the Zuccari's, which was opposing the arbitrary sculptural style of Michelangelo followed on by the Tuscan painters” (Hermann Voss)
Julius III wanted to build it as thanksgiving in memory of his escape on November 30, the day of St. Andrew, during the sack of Rome in 1527 from Palace of the Chancellery, where, still a cardinal, the Landsknechts held him captive
He offered his guards heavily drugged wine and fled with the help of Prospero Colonna
The popes never gave the church a pastoral function. It never had a convent or other ecclesiastical institution, it had no relic or miraculous icon to attract pilgrims and it was in an area that was virtually uninhabited until modern times
It was abandoned in the eighteenth century
Restored 1805 by Giuseppe Valadier (1762/1839) who appreciated the austere style of the church close to his neo-classicism. It inspired his church of S. Maria Porto della Salute in Fiumicino
It was restored again in 1826 and 1828
It is the church of the Coptic community of Rome, the Christians from Egypt
“The Coptic rite is one of the oldest of Christianity, says Father Filippo, pastor of the Coptic Catholic community in Rome. During the Mass, sung entirely in Arabic the life of Jesus is celebrated, from birth, symbolized by the bread, to the resurrection, represented by the chalice emerging from its container, progressively freed from the sheets that cover it representing the shroud of Christ. The faithful always receive communion with both bread and wine” (Sandra Fratticci - www.piuculture.it)
BELL TOWER 1852
INTERIOR
Frescoes “Stories of St. Andrew” by Girolamo Siciolante da Sermoneta (1521/80) and Pellegrino Tibaldi (1527/96), both pupils of Perin del Vaga
MAIN ALTAR
“S. Andrew thanks God for the privilege of the crucifixion” by Girolamo Siciolante da Sermoneta

Thursday, March 24, 2016

BORGHESE PALACE

PALAZZO BORGHESE

Begun in 1560 by Jacopo Barozzi aka Vignola (1507/73) for the Della Genga family
In 1586 it was bought by Cardinal Pietro Deza who employed Martino Longhi the Elder (1534/91) to continue the construction
Completed in the years 1605/14 by Flaminio Ponzio (1560/1613) for Cardinal Camillo Borghese who became Pope Paul V (1605/21). Carlo Maderno (1556/1629) also worked on the project
“Inside the Palazzo Borghese, the arrangement of the doors, which allow in the side facing the Piazza Borghese, to see a succession of nine consecutive environments and at the far end, framed in the escape of doors, a particular image of the garden is evidence of an attentiveness to illusive optical values, which reveals the orientation of Ponzio toward a Baroque trend” (Paolo Portoghesi)
It is known as the clavicembalo (harpsicord) for its shape and it is one of the largest palaces of Rome
In the famous FAƇADE TOWARDS THE RIVER TIBER 1612/14 by Flaminio Ponzio, corresponding to the “keyboard” of the great harpsichord, there is a PORTAL built in the years 1671/75 by Carlo Rainaldi (1611/91)
In the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries this palace was considered one of the four wonders of the city along with the Palazzo Farnese, the Caetani stairs in Palazzo Ruspoli and the gate of Palazzo Sciarra
It is in part the office of the Spanish Embassy and of the Hunting Club
Designed by Martino Longhi the Elder with two rows of arches supported by “Ninety-six wonderful columns in pairs” and “Ancient statues” including some that adorned the stage of the Theatre of Pompey
NYMPHAEUM
“Bath of Venus” and fountains by Giovanni Paolo Schor (1615/74) and Carlo Rainaldi
ROOM OF THE FOUR PARTS OF THE WORLD
Superb paintings representing the “Four Continents” by Ludovico Stern (1709/77), his masterpiece
Ludovico Stern (son of Ignazio Stern) served with almost no interruption from 1748 to 1777 for the Prince Paolo Borghese Aldobrandini
“He worked for patrons of the utmost importance and became the most popular painter of altarpieces. Of high rank, although limited in number, was also the decorative cycles for noble residences, culminating in his masterpiece, the four paintings in Palazzo Borghese. His mature style, finally, presents characteristics of refinement of color, essentiality of stroke and simplicity of composition that place him along a line in Roman art of late eighteenth century leading up to Giuseppe Cades, Antonio Cavallucci and Domenico Corvi” (Francesco Petrucci - www.news-art.it)
IN THE OTHER ROOMS
Frescoes by the Roman Ciro Ferri (1634/89), by Giovanni Francesco Grimaldi (1606/80) from Bologna, by Domenico Corvi (1721/1803) from Viterbo and by the Venetian Paolo Piazza (1557/1621)
Fresco in the ground floor “Birth of Venus” by Gaetano Lapis (1706/76)
The huge collection of paintings was transferred in 1891 to the Casino Borghese
Part of the building (about 1,000 square meters) was owned by the entrepreneur Vittorio Cecchi Gori from whom it was confiscated in 2009 following the bankruptcy of the football team Fiorentina of which he was president